We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful as always” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peg Leg Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peg Leg Inn
Ranked #21 of 25 Rockport B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wonderful as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

We stayed at the Peg Leg for 2 nights for the second year in a row. We have stayed at two other hotels on the main street which were fine but the Peg Leg is our favorite.Room 4 is just off the second floor balcony which offers a great view of the ocean and though the balcony is shared it is not a negative since it is huge.It is not worth paying extra for the third floor since the second already has a great view. The beach is 10 steps away across the street.Though not a fancy place at all (old fashioned decor,no A/C) it matches the atmosphere of Rockport which is one of the loveliest towns.The breakfast included is a nice continental spread,adequate to start your day.Next,drive 4 hours East to Tanglewood in Lenox,Mass. and you will have experienced a most memorable vacation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank october2006Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    3
    5
    11
See reviews for
9
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

We called the Peg Leg Inn to book a room in July. The owner offered us a discount because we have gone there for many years. Upon recieving the verification we noted that the price quoted was quite different from the verification amount. We called the owner directly. He was very drunk and obnoxious. We politely tried to advise him that we would be cancelling and did not want to pay the $35.00 cnacellation fee because of the misquote. In his obnoxious manner he showed zero class or professionalism. We then sent a certified letter verifying the phone conservation. He recieved and signed for the letter more than 2 weeks prior to our booking date. When our credit card bill arrived he had billed us for an entire nights room cost which was $160.00 above the cancellation fee.
This attempt to bill us is blatantly dishonest. The fraudulent billing is now in the hands of our attorney and credit card company. My recommendation is to STAY AWAY from this Inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DiamondDogs101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

We had a spacious, sunny suite with beautiful ocean and garden views. The Inn is in a great location, right by a small beach and a very short walk to town. The owner was helpful and pleasant. Only two issues: 1) there was no shampoo in the room, let alone conditioner or a hair dryer, so if you're planning on washing your hair while you are there, come prepared! 2) The big decks overlooking the ocean are wonderful, but you will be sharing them with other guests. This wouldn't be a problem except the guests in the rooms near to us were heavy smokers, and since they spent a lot of time out on the deck, we had to keep our windows closed all the time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

The rooms in front of the inn facing the ocean are beautiful! You can sleep to the sounds of the surf in a clean and pretty room. Had a wonderful time and wished we could stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ariscris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

Stayed at the inn with my sister who was visiting. Our room was big and clean. I read reviews after booking and was nervous when reading some of the bad reviews. Not sure if the owner was there, our stay was great. The view from the deck is lovely, and the inn is a short walk to the shops and restaurants, but quiet at night. Breakfast was good, but if you like a hearty breakfast try the restaurant next door as they serve a continental style. The small restaurant next door is wonderful, and well priced. There is also a lovely park between the inn and restaurant, it was a great place to enjoy my morning coffee and take a break from the heat and sun. The beach is across the street, with a less visited and quieter one a short walk away.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

Our stay was excellent! We had a room facing the ocean, which was across the street. We got one of the cheaper rooms, so our bathroom (our key opened it) was in the hallway. I thought I'd hate this but it wasn't bad at all. We had a deck area to ourselves right outside our window and since we were on the second floor we had privacy, so we left our shades up and windows open. Hearing the waves and feeling the sea air as we slept gave us the best sleep!

We enjoyed the free breakfast and the location for all other entertainment was suberb. The beach is clean, and although small, there are many beach areas in Rockport. We found the staff of the inn (especially the room cleaners) to be friendly and helpful.

We did have a couple of strange moments with a man who came out of nowhere when we were locking our room to go out. He came dangerously close to us and appeared drunk/stoned. We stepped aside to let him go down the stairs (he was kind of scary) and he said he wasn't going anywhere until we proved we were suppose to be there by locking the door (?) Under his breath he said he worked there but we found out later he was the owner. He needs a 12-step program.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kiki77Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

Whenever i go to Trip Advisor, and I do often, I discount those reviews that are very personally negative because I find that most hoteiers try to be friendly if you are friendly to them and if you don't expect something that you didn't buy.

I did that this weekend and went to the Peg Leg Inn (not to be confused with the Peg Leg Motel just a few yards closer to Main Street).. I'm glad I did.

The place is excellent for what it is, a clean, comfortable, large room overlooking Beach Street and Front Beach in Rockport, a few minutes walk to Bearskin Neck. Michael, the owner, was hospitable and I heard several guests thanking him during the day, for one thing or another. Continental breakfast was fine, again for what it purported to be. It is not fancy and frankly, wouldn't expect to be.

Glad I went and am planning to go back because it's a great romantic getaway and a nice place to stay.

By the way, the rooms on the second floor are wonderful. The one on the left (facing from the beach) has a wonderful big shower with places to sit and wash away the sand from your day at the beach. Don't know if they all do. But the best part is that there is a big wide-open shaded porch in the afternoon (sun in the morning) and it's a nice to sit, read and watch the ocean without breaking the bank.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mitchly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockport hotels
0.2 mi away
Lantana House
Lantana House
#9 of 25 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eagle House Beachside
Eagle House Beachside
#6 of 6 in Rockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach & King Street Inn
Beach & King Street Inn
#3 of 4 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Linden Tree Inn
Linden Tree Inn
#13 of 25 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peg Leg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peg Leg Inn

Property: Peg Leg Inn
Address: 1 King St, Rockport, MA 01966-1317
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Peg Leg Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing