We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much like a Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rockport Inn and Suites
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too much like a Holiday Inn”
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We reserved a king "suite" which meant a king with a sofa bed. Room had a musty smell when we checked in but got better when we ran the AC 24/7. Pool area is nice and enclosed and appeared to be clean. Pool towels were loaded with so much fabric softener they barely held water. Room linens were not great either--sheets were pilled and not comfortable.
Location is OK--we asked upon check in if we should drive or park the car to visit Rockport. It would have been a pretty good walk in the 90 degree heat. However, parking is EXTREMELY scarce in Rockport so think hard on that option.
Free continental breakfast is OK. My husband is trying to do low carbs and the only thing in that category were hard boiled eggs. They will make you waffles (nice lady asking) but cooked eggs would be a nice option.
If visiting the area again and for the same amount of money, I would opt for a B&B closer in town or stay in Gloucester if I wanted a more unique motel experience..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bstanley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockportinnsuites, General Manager at Rockport Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
We always appreciate guests taking time to share their feedback. The room description "King Suite" is an error with some of the internet booking services. Thank you for informing us, we are working to correct this with the concerned parties. Rockport has had an abnormally hot and humid summer here, running the A/C will quickly cool down the room and address your concern. Our facility is new from top to bottom and we strive to keep it as clean and welcoming as possible for our guests. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    191
    62
    18
    6
See reviews for
195
200
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Upon, Ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We were very excited to attempt to book our vacation at the Rockport inn after several years of absence.
We attempted to book with Expedia, but several false promises and comittments turned into complete frustration at their lack of integrity, so we cancelled.
As the old saying goes "they promise you one thing, but sfter you book the trip they renege and try to talk you into something less than they promised.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaTomB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockportinnsuites, General Manager at Rockport Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Many of our guests choose to reserve with an online service, and as such the initial transaction is beyond our control. Had we been given the opportunity to book your room directly with the hotel and you had visited our property, I can assure you that your experience would have been entirely different. We would appreciate the opportunity to host your next visit to Rockport. Please feel free contact me directly and I would be delighted to assist you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Large clean rooms with very comfortable beds. Nice pool pool and jacuzzi. The continental breakfast was good with fresh made waffles. Thanks Dotty and Beth. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGallandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockportinnsuites, General Manager at Rockport Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Thank you for the feedback. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay. Our breakfast hostesses Dottie and Beth will ensure you start your day with a warm smile, hot cup of coffee, made to order waffle, and plenty of other breakfast selections. Please come back to see us for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This was a typical hotel environment, definitely wouldn't call it an inn. It was located close to Glocester and served the purpose of staying overnight in the area. Fresh waffles in the morning was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nica4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockportinnsuites, General Manager at Rockport Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
We always appreciate guests taking time to give us feedback. Breakfast is always complimentary and our hostesses Dottie and Beth always make sure you are greeted with a warm smile, great service, fresh coffee and a hot waffle made to order. We would be delighted to have you back in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Our family just returned from a great stay @ The Rockport Inn. The hotel is very close to the town center and many area attractions. The Inn was very clean, well maintained and the staff great. Our One Bedroom Suite was very large and surpassed all our expectations. There is a nice indoor pool and tennis courts on site. The free breakfast was supurb with Dottie and Beth cooking up made to order waffles for the kids. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradhpyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockportinnsuites, General Manager at Rockport Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our suites are very popular, providing a well-appointed living area, large master bedroom, skylights, cathedral ceilings, 2 large HDTV's, and more. Thanks you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming your back for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Nice clean spacious room, great location and best of all an EXCEPTIONALLY freindly staff!! Stayed with 15 yr old son 80 yr old mom and small pet---you would be hard pressed to find nicer staff from housecleaning, front desk, and of course awesome Dottie on the waffle machine serving up a yummy breakfast!!! Dottie-take care of that arm-you work tooooo hard..... 10 thumbs up!!!! lol.....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flygirl8524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockportinnsuites, General Manager at Rockport Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2010
We appreciate your great feedback. Our staff works hard every day to provide great hospitality and exceptional service. Our breakfast hostess Dottie starts your day with a warm smile, great service and a breakfast with plentiful selections including our famous homemade waffles. Thanks again for the comments. We look forward to seeing you for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2010

A nice location to come and go and an easy walk to the shore. We enjoyed the morning breakfast, including the fresh made waffels and of course the "Waffel Ladies", Dottie & Beth. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famousbarrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockportinnsuites, General Manager at Rockport Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Thanks for sharing your experience at our property. We are conveniently located just outside of Rockport village and guests can walk to the beach, restaurants and attractions. We are also the closest property to the Trolley Shuttle which will transport you roundtrip. Thanks for the great feedback. Please come see us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
3.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
391 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
3.4 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
334 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.5 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#3 of 24 in Rockport
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockport Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockport Inn and Suites

Property: Rockport Inn and Suites
Address: 183 Main St, Rockport, MA 01966-2026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rockport Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Rockport Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockport Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing