We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best experieces I've had for a vacation!”
Review of Emerson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emerson Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“One of the best experieces I've had for a vacation!”
Reviewed August 30, 2010

From the start of the stay until the end, the people working at the hotel did everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I had forgotten our bike lock and the hotel went to the trouble to store our bikes in a secure room. The new bath and nicely appointed room was really top shelf. And the Restaurant was superb! The direct ocean front property and pool as so quite and pleasant. All the staff were happy, helpful and made you feel like extended family. Service was impeccable. Overall this I would rate this as 5 stars!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDOuellette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    108
    39
    23
    16
See reviews for
58
184
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2010

My wife and I spent 3 days at the Inn prior to being joined by my sister-in-law, niece, niece's husband and kids (2yrs and 4 yrs). With the family we spent a week in an adjacent cottage. It was perfect for 5 adults and 2 kids. Our reservations were flawless thanks to Carol Earle our reservations were flawless. Even staggered arrivals, livery from Logan airport and moving from the Inn to the cottage were handled easily and professionally. We mentioned enjoying grilling out. Behold a new grill at the cottage. We mentioned a birthday. Voila! Pancakes shaped like Dinosaurs for the kids. I forgot to put the top up on the convertible one night. It rained briefly. The next morning, Housekeeping noticed the wet seats and put a stack of towels on the car fender. The service is wonderful. We feel cared for during our visits. It is very relaxing when anything that pops up, any special need or any help you need becomes an opportunity for the staff to extend their wonderful hospitality. The breakfasts that are included are the best we've ever experienced. They are consistently creative and the highest quality. The Inn itself is georgeous. Most evenings there is a live piano player in the Salon. It is all reminiscient of the Great Gatsby era. Just Wonderful. Great area of new England to explore. Lots to see and do. Great swimming pool for just relaxing. We honeymooned in Rockport some years ago and continue to return year after year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeAnnQuests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

The Emerson is an older property and along with "older" there will always be things that we find not quite up to our daily living standards. The room we stayed in had an ocean view, comfortable bed, small bathroom and only one window opened in the bedroom. (not large enough to cool off the room) There was an air-conditioner in the other window of the room, however, it was noisy and made it a bit difficult to sleep. Breakfast was okay, however, not great. I expected a bit more, I guess after the last B & B I stayed in just a couple of weeks earlier.

Our biggest shock, which really doesn't have anything to do with the hotel was the liquor laws. After coming back from dinner, we were in the grand lobby listening to the pianist. We asked the waitress that was serving the outside dining guests if we could have a drink. Here response flawed us-she asked if we had dined in the dining room and we honestly answered no. She said that she was unable to serve us unless we ordered an entree or two appetizers. We were so shocked by this and my husband go upset about the whole situation. (he is not a heavy drinker, but you know how it is when someone tells you that you can't do something!) The manager came over and apologized to us, the hostess apologized, etc. Beware! You cannot go anywhere in Rockport and just have a drink!!!!! I wish I knew this before I went. The second night we were there, we went to Gloucester for dinner and brought our own drinks outside on the porch. I'm not sure that this is allowed, but we took a chance and did it anyway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Everything about the Emerson Inn is comfortable, relaxed and inviting. The hot breakfast varied each day and the food was delicious. The rooms, with the exception of those on the 4th floor, have been tastefully redecorated. Therein lies the problem. I booked a queen suite on the 4th (top floor), expecting to walk into an updated, attractive space. While the bathroom had been redone, the 2 bedrooms did not resemble those shown on the hotel's website. From old, used looking linens to out-dated and unattractive paint colors (deep red), to lamps from the 50s, nothing matched or had been refreshed stylistically in many years. (This is the only suite I saw on the 4th but I assume the others were similar.) So while I heartedly recommend the Emerson Inn for the friendly service and beautiful location, I also suggest you stay off the 4th floor, no matter how good the deal.
In defense of the inn, the staff was very accommodating when it came to assigning us an upgraded and attractive room. Kudos to them!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We found the servive to be outstanding. The staff wanted all of us to have a good time. The amenities were very nice. The children and adults enjoyed the pool. The rooms are very clean and comfortable though not too large. Great beds. There is no elevator which did not present a problem for us. The restaurant has good food however could improve on service. Also we didn't think they offered good value. a bit pricey for what we received.
There are many good restaurants within a few miles. The town of Rockport is an artist colony and is very enjoyable to walk through. Beautiful vista from the Inn and the town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billindresano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We envisioned a small, elegant and romantic wedding by the sea. The Emerson turned out to be the perfect venue for this. From our ceremony overlooking the ocean to the cocktail hour on the veranda and the following first rate dinner, everything exceeded our expectations. They did a wonderful job of looking after all the details for us. The entire event went off without a hitch so we and our guests could really enjoy the occasion. We have memories for a lifetime in part due to this fantastic location, the outstanding service, and the friendly and helpful people.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsbirnstengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We spent the Fourth of July weekend and enjoyed the friendliness, wonderful cuisine and peerless location of the Emerson which overlooks the Atlantic in picturesque Rockport, Mass. The rooms are clean and air conditioned, and bathrooms, while small, are newly refurbished and spotless. In the evening, the mood is enhanced by piano music in the common room where guests relax after dinner in the beautiful dining room on screened veranda. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
2.0 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
515 reviews
5.3 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
191 reviews
5.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
5.0 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
2.0 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Inn

Property: Emerson Inn
Address: 1 Cathedral Ave, Rockport, MA 01966-1102
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerson Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerson Inn is a historic oceanfront hotel nestled on Pigeon Cove in beautiful Rockport, Massachusetts. Renovated & rejuvenated in 2016, the property has been refreshed to perfectly blend the historic charm of the hotel and modern amenities travelers seek today, including private baths, flat-screen HD televisions, complimentary WiFi across the property, and new comfortable beds and linens. Featuring stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean, the Emerson Inn is perfect for romantic getaways, family vacations, or business travelers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Emerson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerson Inn By The Sea Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing