We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it is heavenly beautiful! the most relaxing experience ever...”
Review of Emerson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Emerson Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We have enjoyed every minute with it, and will definitely revisit this lovely place!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hlihli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 343 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2010

My wife and I spent a perfect three day weekend at the Emerson Inn. Our room was beautiful with a huge four poster bed and ocean views. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The grand parlor on the first floor is a great place to relax as is the large porch facing the ocean. The Inn has all the charm and elegance of a historic hotel and also has all the modern amenities like wireless internet in room TVs and a business center. I highly recommend the Emerson. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We just had the most magnificent experience at the Inn's restaurant for my husband's birthday. It was a function but you would never think of that when you see the varied and interesting menu. The meals are prepared with such interesting combinations of ingredients that each person, adult and child, finished their entire meal to the accompaniment of comments about how delicious the food is. Salads, entrees and desserts, the only items we had, reflected a special touch by the chef. The staff was delightful and flexible to work with and attended even small details. The location is just back from a wide expanse of sea with a garden in front. Many photographers stopped along an access road to take pictures then drive away. Wide windows let diners enjoy the view. The interior is old New England with large print wallpaper, ionic columns and large pieces of nice furniture. One thing that may sound funny is that the restrooms are classy, roomy and spotless-something that I don't always find in what appears to be a good restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleganceseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Beautiful, clean and comfortable. A perfect place to visit with family.
Helpful, excellent service with a smile.
Highly recomend The Emerson Inn By The Sea

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tilly12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We were married at the Inn in September 2009. We had a small wedding, about 35 people so it was intimate and cozy. The wait staff were very attentive, Melissa, our coordinator was excellent, the food was superb and the views beautiful. We were supposed to have the wedding outside but it rained. Initially I was a little disappointed but having our ceramony on the grand staircase worked out great. Although we didn't stay directly at the Inn, we did rent one of their two cottages next door. It was perfect for our extended family, tastefully decorated and convenient. Most of the guests met us there afterwards for a BBQ to end the evening. We still hear from our guests saying how "magical" the day was for them...and it was for us too.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank czusuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Positives:
+ Great location. The hotel is located right along the coastline and has some amazing views.
+ The hotel exterior and interior are beautiful.
+ The hotel is about 2 miles from the town center where there is an abundance of shops. One thing to keep in mind is that many of them (I'd estimate half) close for the winter season. You'll want to drive into town. There is ample parking (at least off season).
+ Lots of nice sitting areas.
+ Very historic setting.
+ Friendly staff.
+ Nice touches such as champagne and chocolate covered strawberries left in your room.
+ Bathrooms appear to be relatively updated.

Negatives:
- The rooms are a tad small. You get a sitting chair, bed, and small tv. I'd say it was probably an 8x8 or 9x9 room. This is to be expected though with such an old place.
- The walls are pretty thin. You can hear everything through them (and can conversely be heard through them).
- I wasn't a fan of the dinner too much. Though to be fair I am a very picky eater.

Overall: I would definitely stay there again. The location and views are outstanding as is the inn itself.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxpainedge99xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We spent the night of Dec. 26th (off season) at the Emerson by the Sea in Pigeon Cove, Ma. The Inn was impeccably clean, well decorated for the holiday and furnishings, food fabulous, we had the Pub food and drinks. I cannot say enough good about the Inn, they also upgraded us because there were not many guests, so we had an oceanview room for the price of a "no view" room. I love nothing more than to watch the ocean in any season. I highly recommend this as a get away any time of year!

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank SMSNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
2 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
556 reviews
5.3 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
268 reviews
5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
5.4 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
181 reviews
17.4 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Inn

Address: 1 Cathedral Ave, Rockport, MA 01966-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range: $139 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerson Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerson Inn is a historic oceanfront hotel nestled on Pigeon Cove in beautiful Rockport, Massachusetts. Renovated & rejuvenated in 2016, the property has been refreshed to perfectly blend the historic charm of the hotel and modern amenities travelers seek today, including private baths, flat-screen HD televisions, complimentary WiFi across the property, and new comfortable beds and linens. Featuring stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean, the Emerson Inn is perfect for romantic getaways, family vacations, or business travelers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Emerson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerson Inn By The Sea Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing