We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enormous disappointment”
Review of Emerson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emerson Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2006

Depressing!!! The room that we had was tiny, the furniture shabby, bathroom in need of an update topped off with a view of a crowded neighborhood. The sound of surf was replaced by barking dogs and loud radios. Breakfast was a combination of cold cereal, cold scones, hard bagels and weak coffee; however the view from the dining room is wonderful. It is an insult to charge what they did and offer such an inferior accomodation. I would never return.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NewEnglander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 343 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, DC
15
Reviewed March 26, 2006

the rooms are really tiny and a bit worn out considering the price and the "luxury" image that the Inn tries to project. It's a decent basic B&B, but nothing in need of a little more TLC and a little less hype. Breakfast was kind of weak. There is a lovely ocean view, but the Inn is not right on the water, and there is a parking lot and another building/house between the Inn and the water. Reservations staff were confused and refused to offer specifics about room locations.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Rhode Island
12
Reviewed September 6, 2005

Went for a couple of days "to get away", and there is no better place to go to relax! What could be better than to be by the ocean, in a swimming pool, sitting in a rocker on the great porch, eating outstanding food, sleeping in a very confortable bed, watching the sun rise and set over the ocean... I hated to leave. The staff were very friendly and more than willing to accommodate our wishes. The food is absolutely worth the trip (even if you are not staying overnight). The Inn was very clean and the rooms were very nicely decorated. We would (and have) highly recommended the Emerson to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2005

It was a lovely hotel, but I wouldn't reccommend blowing $340 a night on the world's-tiniest-room on the fourth floor just because it has a sliding glass door with a railing and two rocking chairs behind it (aka 'balcony').

It was far from town and without a beach. Great water views, but don't let them tell you this is a waterfront. The rocks of Rockport are in their glory here, and you can walk out on them if you are careful enough.

The restaurant (food) was great but the breakfast service was not great. I mean, how many times do you need to say "yes, thank you, I would like some cream for my coffee" and sit for 10 minutes stewing in your pre-caffinated morning slump because the waitress kept forgetting. And this is both mornings.

I thought only in the Carribean did they not take coffee seriously!

The one bright star of the restaurant was our waiter, Jeff. Cute as a button - still in high school but he was so friendly and professional you'd think he'd been doing this for years. He put up with us until we were the last customers there at 11pm, all charm.

Stayed: August 2005
5  Thank JanetAnnRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2005

I have been staying at the Emerson Inn for almost 20 years, since the Wemyss owned and ran the Inn. Unfortunately, out latest experience was nothing like what the Inn used to be. What was once a quant experience with movie nights, a ping pong table, and an uncanny capability to entertain both the very young and the very old together felt remarkably...cheap. There are now tvs in every room, no movie room. The game room is now a "corporate retreat meeting room." MOST IMPORTANTLY, while appearing like a quant old time inn, they have entremely loud wedding parties both Saturday and Sunday. These groups take over the Inn and we were scoffed at for even being there at the same time. We also could not get a space in the parking lot and when we asked about spaces, we were essentially told, too bad, find a space on the street.

The great thing about the old Inn was it's charm. The guests were all friendly, meeting in the great room, getting to know one and another and enjoying a few calm summer days at the sea. If you are going to bother spending that much money, you might as get a hotel near town, not 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MTraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Rhode Island
14
Reviewed April 25, 2005

Our first visit will definitely not be our last! We ventured to the Inn
for a quiet New Year's holiday and were not disappointed. The food
at the dining room was both delicious and presented well. Although
Rockport was a "dry" town, the waitstaff were well versed in how to
present and pour any liquor brought to the table by the patrons, and the
service was both pleasant and helpful for those of us who had never been
to that area of the state. We very much enjoyed the peace and quiet of the
Inn, and had plenty of opportunity to enjoy livlier entertainment and revelry
in town, if desired. The piano music on New Year's Eve was a lovely touch,
as was the endless supply of coffee, tea, etc in the lobby at all hours.
Being able to wander the shoreline in relative solitude was just the antidote
for those of us who had endured a very hectic and sorrowful year. We look
forward to next New Year's, for we will surely be back to enjoy the ambiance and hospitality with lighter hearts this year.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
16
Reviewed April 19, 2005

Have stayed at many fine inns and they are not deserving of a three star rating from triple A. They lack the basics which includes a cold/dark lobby for an unwelcoming feeling when you enter and the staff lacks in hospitality. (how about some soft music and turn on the lights!) The front desk clerk didn't even know the area to provide directions to Bearskin Neck, which is the largest tourist destination for Rockport with views of Motif #1. A difficult stairwell to carry your luggage to the front desk and absolutely no one to help you carry things in or the availability of carts. Plus more stairs without an elevator to the guest rooms. At night, the lobby is not well lit.

The office closes at 7:30 and the phone system does not allow for outside toll calls or incoming calls after the office closes. The clerk reluctantly opened the door so that we could purchase a phone card while closing up. Afterwards, the building is vacant of staff and we needed the help of a maintenance person for the window and were left stranded. For a large inn, we felt unsafe.

The poorest service I have ever seen. At breakfast the next morning they supplied the "complimentary copy" of the Boston Globe from the previous day! Nothing worse than yesterdays news and will never return.

  • Stayed: April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
2 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
551 reviews
5 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
1.4 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
254 reviews
5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
418 reviews
12.2 mi away
Blue - Inn on the Beach
Blue - Inn on the Beach
#1 of 1 in Plum Island
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Inn

Address: 1 Cathedral Ave, Rockport, MA 01966-1102
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range: $158 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerson Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerson Inn is a historic oceanfront hotel nestled on Pigeon Cove in beautiful Rockport, Massachusetts. Renovated & rejuvenated in 2016, the property has been refreshed to perfectly blend the historic charm of the hotel and modern amenities travelers seek today, including private baths, flat-screen HD televisions, complimentary WiFi across the property, and new comfortable beds and linens. Featuring stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean, the Emerson Inn is perfect for romantic getaways, family vacations, or business travelers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Emerson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerson Inn By The Sea Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing