We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teen Challenge New England Marriage Retreat”
Review of Emerson Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emerson Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The staff and service was excellent, the accomidations very good. Tha food was assume! It was a great time for all.

Room Tip: Ocean front view rooms spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 343 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed for one night in November, had a very tiny room and the windos fogged up so we couldn't see the ocean at all, couldn't hear it since they had storm windows in. The breakfast was the worst, they advertse a "continental" breakfast in the offseason but it was the worst I have ever seen in a hotel, just breads and coffee that ran dry, one staff member running to help everyone, ran out of fruit, ran out of yogurt, nothing left but granola, had to ask for water several times. And they charge your credit card when you hold the reservatin for the full amount but were very slow at reimbursing it since we had a gift card. Finally, Rockport might be lovely in the season, but offseason, no place open for dinner but seafood dives, had to go way back to Gloucester to eat in a tavern/pub. Will not stay again and would not recommend it!

Room Tip: The king with a view was small but had a nice view if you could see out the steamy sotrm windows. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123KRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We came to Rockport this past weekend to see friends and celebrate out 19th Anniversary. Emerson Inn by the Sea is beautiful. The view from our room was breath taking. I was able to take pictures of a beautiful sunrise which will remind us of our 19th anniversay at the inn and in Rockport. All the people from the Inn were very pleasant and helpful. The Inn has a very homelike feel. I would recomend this in to everyone no matter what season you visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deblauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We recently stayed for one night at the Emerson Inn, and have to say that we were somewhat disappointed in our accommodations. We were able to look at 4 different king rooms, and then we picked what we thought was the nicest. We just feel there was no thought given to the decor of the room. When looking online, we saw some nicely decorated rooms, but we weren't shown anything like what we saw on our computer. In our room the rug was very worn (looked like indoor-outdoor carpet), curtains were old and drab. We were in room 205, which is right above the back porch, so we could hear everything going on outside.

On the positive side, the main room downstairs and dining area were decorated very nicely. The view, of course, was out of this world, with a lawn area you could walk on and sit in chairs looking at the water. Our room and bathroom were clean. Breakfast was o.k. The pancakes were hard, so we got other things on the buffet. They offer afternoon coffee with cookies, which was nice.

We know this inn is old, and that is part of it's charm. However, the rooms we saw looked like no one cared about how they look. This inn has so much potential. I hope the owners decide to redecorate and update some of the rooms because this could be a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mimiwoo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

we visited for the first time this past weekend. what a beautiful location and inn. the people were very friendly, the rooms lovely, and the breakfasts yummy!!!! be sure to visit!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleonardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

This was a perfect New England Inn. A very grand parlor, huge porch with rocking chairs, cozy rooms, and an amazing breakfast included. It was a little further from the center of town than we would have liked, but that should not deter you. And the pianist, on a rainy Septemer night, that says it all.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhspittsburghpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Finally found hotel, 3 mls from rockport. Told we'd been upgraded to room102 on ground floor. Looked nice but next to offices so when phone started ringing at 22.45 we were stuffed, no chance of a lie in as no curtains just blinds and staff parked outside window. Well intentioned owners but rescued by good staff! Don't try the Atlantic walk, it can't be done!! Positive - a great homecooked breakfast

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevetherover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
2.0 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
550 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
1.4 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
253 reviews
5.0 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
418 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eagle House Motel
Eagle House Motel
#6 of 6 in Rockport
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Inn

Address: 1 Cathedral Ave, Rockport, MA 01966-1102
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range: $167 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerson Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emerson Inn is a historic oceanfront hotel nestled on Pigeon Cove in beautiful Rockport, Massachusetts. Renovated & rejuvenated in 2016, the property has been refreshed to perfectly blend the historic charm of the hotel and modern amenities travelers seek today, including private baths, flat-screen HD televisions, complimentary WiFi across the property, and new comfortable beds and linens. Featuring stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean, the Emerson Inn is perfect for romantic getaways, family vacations, or business travelers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Emerson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerson Inn By The Sea Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing