We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous”
Review of Beach Knoll Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach Knoll Inn
Ranked #20 of 25 Rockport B&B and Inns
nyc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This was our first experience here and it will not be our last!! The Inn was extremely comfortable and clean!! The view from our room was breathtaking and the cool nights were great for sleeping. The location is superb for the beach and walking into town. What makes the place is the kindness and attention to detail shown by the owners Terry and Diane. On the 4th of July, Terry had a bottle of wine for all the guests wishing all a Happy 4th and happy it was!! We enjoyed watching the parade from the patio, the lighting of the bonfire and of course listening to the music provided by the band! All in all, this area is friendly and lovely. Thanks to the folks of the Beach Knoll Inn for making our stay so memorable!! As a matter of fact, we are going back next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astronyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
13
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We just recently stayed at the Beach Knoll Inn and had a wonderful time in Rockport Mass. The owner of the Beach Knoll Inn was so wonderful. Our room had a wonderful view and a great little sitting area outside. There are 7 apartments and we stayed in the small efficiency. Anything we needed we just had to ask and we got it right away. The pictures on the website are truly the views that you get from your room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morristl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Our family loves the Beach Knoll Inn! We have stayed at the inn several times over the last 14 years. It is hard to believe that this is the first time we have written any comments about it. It is nice to know that in this busy world we can still slow down and enjoy the pleasures a family run inn can offer.

Each visit we are warmly welcomed by the Beach Knoll's owners, Diane & Terry, in their beautiful, antique filled lobby. They are always more than willing to help us with anything we need to settle our family in which can be challenging with a family of five!

We have had the pleasure of staying in several of their rooms and have loved having a kitchen in our room each visit. It is relaxing to eat in for some of our meals when our troops are tired! The inn itself is quite historic, with several different size rooms. All have always been very well maintained and comfortable. Thankfully, AC's make the warmer nights very comfortable after we spend a long day in the sun. Our favorite room/apartment is overlooking Back Beach. The whole family enjoys watching the lobstermen collecting traps in the bay but we enjoyed a special treat the last visit... a very large schooner came in to moor overnight!

Our kids are most thrilled that the Beach Knoll is so close to the beach. We all enjoy the outdoor seating along the front of the Inn after a long walk in town or an afternoon in the sand. Restaurants (many kid-friendly!) are spread out all around the town and the Goldens always happily point out a new favorite to try! Since downtown is easily toured on foot, our children easily walk with us to the restaurants and shops. Our family looks forward to returning to the Beach Knoll. Diane & Terry can expect us back year after year!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourbecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivoryton, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We have vacationed in Rockport every year for the past thirty years and the Beach Knoll Inn is always first choice. Friendliest Innkeepers in town, always helpful. The rooms are very cute and always clean and the Inn is in a great location with beautiful water views in most rooms. Back Beach is just across the street and is much less crowded in the summer than Front Beach (which is a very short walk down the road maybe 100yds). Back Beach is a great beach for snorkeling, diving and kayaking so do yourself a favor and bring your gear. Shops and eateries are all within easy walking distance. Beach Knoll Inns beautiful location and friendly hosts have kept us coming back year after year!!
The Perry Family, CT

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chet6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

If you haven't been to Rockport, you don't know what you're missing - this place is amazing, and this quaint colonial-era inn is the perfect location to experience it. located across the street from back beach, it has the quiet charm of a seaside village, yet it is only a few minutes walk to Bearskin Neck, where the smell of lobsters boiling fills the air; a place where artists put color to canvas, their galleries lining the cove. And of course, there is the famous "Motif No.1", one of the most painted structures in the American art world. The Beach Knoll and Rockport offers all you could ask for in a Cape Ann getaway. We stayed there this October and the cozy comforts the Inn, and the welcoming and gracious innkeepers, made for a perfect retreat after a day hiking through the treasures of the autumn-painted state park of Halibut Point. The colors illuminating all the way to the scenic overlook, where the steely Atlantic crashes of the the granite cliffs. In between sight-seeing and beach-combing, we visited the lobster pool cove-side for some steamers and chowder. A beautiful little spot that still retains the BYOB policy from the days when Rockport was still a dry town. We opted for a bottle of white, and watched the sun throw long shadows on the rocks from their backyard picnic tables, just inches from the ocean. This was our second visit in a matter of months, where Summer was hot, vibrant, salty and exciting, when we kayaked along the coast and took our three year old to splash in the subtle waves at Front Beach, and I'm not sure what season made me smile more; but I would love to come back again in the fall. Oh, and if you stay, ask your hosts about the history of the inn - there are fascinating stories of smugglers and hidden passageways tucked away in the walls. I give this place a 12 on a scale of 1 to 10, and we look forward to our next visit. Thanks!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamshann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2010

The Inn was exactly what I wanted for our vacation.....a room with a perfect view of the ocean; a bright, cheery room; private entrance; the nicest innkeepers ever!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twisp WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Our week-long stay at Beach Knoll Inn was perfect. Terry was greatly helpful when we arrived in a downpour and Diane makes dynamite spiced nuts as a parting gift. The views from our apartment on the second floor were terrific. Lying on the bed you looked past your feet to the ocean stippled with lobster pots. On Sunday the bandstand band music filled the room. We ate breakfast at the back porch table serenaded by mockingbirds and saved a ton of money having our own kitchen. Bill loved his walk each morning to get the paper at the Rockport Market. I would highly recommend the place (and have already).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBHottell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockport hotels
0.4 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
515 reviews
1.3 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
200 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quarterdeck Inn by the Sea
0.4 mi away
The Tuck Inn B&B
The Tuck Inn B&B
#5 of 25 in Rockport
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Knoll Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Knoll Inn

Property: Beach Knoll Inn
Address: 30 Beach St, Rockport, MA 01966-1341
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Knoll Inn, Apartments & Cottage; The Beach Knoll Inn is an historic 1740 Colonial Home with 7 ocean view rooms, apartments, and cottage. The "Ideal" location, approximately 40 yards from Back Beach, 1-2 blocks to Main Street, and overlooking Sandy Bay. All accommodations have either full or limited kitchen facilities and in-room coffee is provided. Additional larger 2-3 bedroom apartments are available nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Knoll Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing