We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice in Cape Ann”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tuck Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tuck Inn B&B
Ranked #5 of 25 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good choice in Cape Ann”
Reviewed September 22, 2007

My family spent a week at the Tuck Inn. Liz and Scott were friendly, accommodating and dedicated to making sure their guests have a good time. They were especially helpful in recommending local eateries, shopping, beaches and historical sites as well as how to use the nearby public transit system, which came in handy for our trips to Boston.

The inn is very well located, a five minute walk to Bearskin Neck with its many quaint shops and restaurants. You can easily spend a day there. Our two-room suite (Room 9 - The Eagle's Nest) was spotless and maid service was above average. Directly adjacent to the room was a large, beautifully furnished private outdoor deck. The bathroom was very small (as advertised) and had no window, exhaust fan or lock. If you are a large person, be aware that the shower is about 2 ft X 2 ft. There are supermarkets nearby but our room did not have a fridge (although you can use the inn's). The two room air conditioners worked very well.

Regarding breakfast: There are varieties of fresh baked breads, muffins and cakes, rhubarb, fresh fruit, granola, yogurt, boxed cereals, coffee, tea and juices. They do not offer anything in the way of eggs, pancakes, French toast, waffles, breakfast meats, bagels, etc. Their literature said this was due to licensing restrictions.

If you intend to go to Boston from here, it's a twelve minute walk to the train station and an hour and ten minute train ride to North Station. You can drive from the inn to Salem in about thirty minutes. Both places offer plenty to do. If you like the beach, Good Harbor in Gloucester (a short drive) is spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverDaddy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
118
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Oh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2007

Same as everyone else is saying…The Tuck Inn was a great place to stay! We were there in early May so unfortunately it was a bit rainy and cold, but the Tuck Inn definitely gave us a warm welcome. It was a perfect location to walk into town (or walk back for an afternoon nap) and the breakfast was the best! We would definitely stay again.

One small word of caution- if you are arriving after 9pm, be sure to call ahead. Luckily, we remembered to do this and it was no problem at all, but we would have hated to wake up Liz and Scott since they were great innkeepers.

  • Liked — Location, Breakfast, Hosts
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraandBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2007

We were so pleased with our recent stay at Tuck Inn. Every now and then you happen across a very special B&B that has a warmth and character the others don't. Tuck Inn is certainly one of those special places, due in large part to the friendly and helpful owners, Liz and Scott.

It was our first time in Rockport, but we found the B&B without any trouble. There is parking provided, which is important because street parking is very difficult to find in Rockport. Scott greeted us at the door and checked us in. He also chatted with us about the area and helpfully wrote down several dining and sightseeing recommendations. We could see that he really enjoyed interacting with guests and making sure they got the most from their stay in Rockport. Our room, The Cathedral Room, was very large and beautifully decorated. We felt comfortable and at home there and slept very well. We were also pleased to discover that the B&B provided cable TV in our room and free high speed internet downstairs.

In the morning we were treated to a delicious breakfast at the inn. We had planned to lounge in bed all morning, but the smell of the muffins wafting up through the ceiling convinced us otherwise. Absolutely delicious! We also really enjoyed chatting with Liz over breakfast. She's such a warm and friendly lady who made the breakfast room fun and got guests talking to one another. It started off our morning on such a nice note.

One of the best things about Tuck Inn is its location. From here, you can walk just about everywhere in Rockport. It's so convenient, especially given summer congestion on the roads. We followed the map that Scott gave us and had some great walks around town admiring the scenery. If we ever return to Rockport we would absolutely stay at Tuck Inn again. This place is an absolute gem and we can't recommend it enough!

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms, great location, friendly & helpful owners
  • Disliked — No complaints whatsoever
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Erin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2007

My husband and I had the pleasure to spend 2 nights at the Tuck Inn Bed and Breakfast recently and couldn't have been more pleased. The accommodations were excellent and the hosts were very helpful - Scott and Liz made us feel right at home.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NancyD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

Judy and i just completed our four time at the Tuck Inn. We originally found it on the internet when we were looking for places to stay in Rockport. What originally sold us was its closeness to the town and also the pool. (Very few B&B's have pools.) What keeps us coming back is Liz and Scott two of the nicest people you could meet. The Tuck Inn is great. We always get the same room with a small porch to eat lunch on. I bring my bike to tour with and leave it on the porch. The Inn is close to town but very quite. Rockport is a beautiful town and very peacful. Scott and Liz are terrific people. . The breakfast are awesome with a variety of fresh baked goods. In closing, we will keep coming back to Rockport and the Tuck Inn for a very long time.

  • Liked — Friendliness of innkeepers
  • Disliked — weight gain from the fresh baked goods....
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

The Tuck-Inn is located with a few blocks of all shops, restaurants, and the water. Liz and Scott make you feel like family. All the positive reviews about them and their inn were right. We can't say anything negative about our stay. We really felt at home, but without the chores. I would definitely stay again. Very clean and well kept. The warmness of the innkeepers takes the cake. So glad we chose the Tuck Inn.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Musty smell in room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2007

My family and I just returned from a Memorial Day stay with Liz and Scott Wood at the Tuck Inn. This was our first experience at a B&B and we were a little apprehensive. However, you will be hard pressed to find two more friendly and passionate innkeepers and people than Liz and Scott Wood. They made us feel as though we were staying with family. The rooms were clean and well appointed and the breakfast was divine. The inn is a 2 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of downtown Rockport which affords you the best of both worlds. You're close enough to the action, but far enough away to maintain your peace and quiet. We will be sure to make this our home away from home while in Rockport, MA. Needless to say, we HIGHLY recommend The Tuck Inn.

  • Liked — The owners, Liz and Scott Wood
  • Disliked — Going home
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mrfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockport hotels
0.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.0 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seven South Street Inn
Seven South Street Inn
#2 of 25 in Rockport
272 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yankee Clipper Inn
Yankee Clipper Inn
#8 of 25 in Rockport
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eagle House Motel
Eagle House Motel
#5 of 6 in Rockport
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuck Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuck Inn B&B

Property: The Tuck Inn B&B
Address: 17 High St, Rockport, MA 01966-1644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tuck Inn B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cozy 1790 Colonial Inn is located in a quiet residential section of Rockport - just one block from the village center. We are recognized for hospitable & friendly service, decorative & comfortable accommodations, and our signature breakfasts: an extraordinary Home-Baked Buffet! AAA rated: 3 Diamonds! Selected: 2002 Editor's Pick by Yankee Magazines' Travel Guide to New England! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Tuck Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tuck Hotel Rockport
The Tuck Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing