We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting fire and new friends”
Review of The Tuck Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tuck Inn B&B
Ranked #5 of 25 Rockport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redlands, CA
Level Contributor
169 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Inviting fire and new friends”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Only a few short blocks from the wharf, Bearskin Neck, and the center of town is this warm and welcoming B & B with its equally warm and welcoming hosts, Jan and Scott. The house was built sometime in the late 1700's and has a large, yet cozy public room to which all guests are invited. After a day of touring Cape Ann, including Halibut State Park and Gloucester, we retreated to the sitting room to sit by the fire where we were made welcome by returning guests who have made this their "come-to" place when they want to de-stress from the modern world. It was so much fun sitting around laughing and chatting in this homey atmosphere. Additionally, the annual festival in town provided music galore, local foods, artsy stuff for sale, and all of the nostalgic small town flavor one loves. Jan's touring tips and Scott's amazing pastries rounded out the inn's charm. If you're going north of Boston, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
120
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billerica, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

From my wife: I first must apologize to Mr and Mrs Wood for the late review. My husband and I had a wonderful vacation in August staying at the Tuck Inn. The room was just perfect in every aspect and we slept so well. Each day we were greeted with a smile, good morning , fresh delicious baked goods made from scratch by Scott and fresh fruit prepared by Liz. They both have such a good heart and sincerely wanted to make sure we were having a good time. We went swimming each day, walked around town and ate at some really good places recommended by Scott and Liz.
I had the honor of helping Scott in his kitchen at 4 am peeling apples and discussing recipes. Even though I was late for work ( his day starts at 3 am, wait maybe even 2 am!) I love to bake and this made my day! We can't wait to make a return visit to the Tuck in. A real gem of a place that feels like home. Thank you very much Scott and Liz for making our vacation so special. :0) Kristine and Dale

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalew75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

My wife and I have been going to the Tuck Inn at least annually (sometimes multiple times a year) over the past 10 years. It's no accident that we return to The Tuck Inn year after year. Scott and Liz always welcome their guests with open arms and treat their guests like family - whether they be "regulars" or first-time visitors. It's hard to write how good Scott's breakfasts are other than say they are simply delicious. The baked goods are made fresh daily and the variety is simply wonderful. As for Rockport, it's still a quaint little town on Cape Ann that has not been spoiled by national fast food chains and the hustle and bustle of larger towns. Still, there is plenty to see and do in Rockport, nearby Gloucester and many other locations within an easy day's drive. There is a reason so many people return to the Tuck Inn year after year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterAConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

From the moment we arrived at the Inn we were afforded the utmost kindness and hospitality, we were a little late arriving as our flight into Boston didnt land until 6ish, but Liz made us a lovely pot of tea and gave us some of Scotts home made apricot bread. Our room, the peach room, was gorgeous and cosy, we slept like logs, the bed was so comfy. We awoke to the aroma of Scott's baking, he gets up about 3 to make the breakfast feast, and we were not disappointed with what was on offer. Scott and Liz are so helpful and more than happy to give advice on the area that they know so much about.
Rockport is gorgeous and the Inn is really close to all the shops and restaurants.

We would highly recommend the Tuck Inn and Rockport, we didnt want to leave!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heathergrahamsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

The owner’s warmth is what made our stay memorable. Not to mention our room which was very comfortable, clean and extremely quiet. A bonus: the pool which was very appreciated after our long motorcycle drive at 90+F degrees. And unforgettable, the maple and walnut scones hot from the oven: Only one of the few items in a tasty breakfast. Liz and Scott even put a few extras in a small brown bag for our coffee break later that day. Talk about making someone feel at home. Definitely a place to visit again and recommend to all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

I'm so glad that I returned to Rockport this year and I wasn't dissapointed. This bed and breakfast was the highlight of my trip. I was welcomed with open arms by the lovely staff and didn't want to leave to fly home. Margy the innkeeper was wonderful and really went out of her way to make my stay a time to remember. The bed and breakfast itself was beautiful and the swimming pool was a lovely treat. Breakfast in the morning was to die for, cake, home made breads and stewed rhubarb, my favourite. I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helsangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Kent, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

I have lost count how many times my husband and I have visited Rockport and The Tuck Inn. Friends ask why we go back year after year, but when you know Liz and Scott that question wouldn't be asked again. Scott does the baking for breakfast, watch out, the lbs do go on, but well worth it. We are going back again this year, as my husband has just had a brief spell in hospital, it will be as we say in England, just what the doctor ordered.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickersgills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockport hotels
0.6 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.7 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Seafarer Inn
The Seafarer Inn
#1 of 25 in Rockport
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Addison Choate Inn
Addison Choate Inn
#6 of 25 in Rockport
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seven South Street Inn
Seven South Street Inn
#2 of 25 in Rockport
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuck Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuck Inn B&B

Property: The Tuck Inn B&B
Address: 17 High St, Rockport, MA 01966-1644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tuck Inn B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cozy 1790 Colonial Inn is located in a quiet residential section of Rockport - just one block from the village center. We are recognized for hospitable & friendly service, decorative & comfortable accommodations, and our signature breakfasts: an extraordinary Home-Baked Buffet! AAA rated: 3 Diamonds! Selected: 2002 Editor's Pick by Yankee Magazines' Travel Guide to New England! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Tuck Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tuck Inn Bed And Breakfast
The Tuck Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing