We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility by the sea”
Review of The Seaward

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Seaward
Reviewed August 24, 2007

If you just want a peaceful tranquil vacation spot try the Seaward Inn. We rented a cottage with an ocean view. It was clean, had a queen sized bed and air conditioning if needed. Breakfast is included in the price and it too was relaxing. Your only two miles or so from the center of Rockport and all its shops and activities. Check the Inn Keepers Letter to see what specials are there we took the Whale Watch one and were very happy with the trip. The Inn has bikes you can borrow and its a great place to sit back and read by the sea. All of the staff and the Owner are so pleasent and accomidating. Go once and you have to come back again. Oh and if you like to paint or into photography they have special get togethers in the fall.
Loved It.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BandaidBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 87 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2007

We first contacted them by email through their website and they followed up with a phone call and we booked.
The location is wonderful. It is on the ocean, the road is quiet and off the well-traveled roads of Rockport.
The room was frankly a disappointment. We didn't realize we were going to be in an outbuilding that looked like a 1965 motel. The room, while a good size, and containing a king-sized bed, was very dated and dark with wood paneling So much for an ocean view. We faced the back on the ground level with nothing to see.
When we tried to get into the main Inn at 10:00 p.m. to at least sit in the parlor, have a cup of tea, and read, we were unable to enter. Although a sign states that your room key will open the door, that isn't true apparently if you're not in the main house. No one told us this upon registering.
Breakfast was delightful, cordial, and scenic.
We would consider staying there again, but not for the price we paid in the room we stayed - 159.00 plus tax.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2007

We stayed over a weekend in October when the town had a festival going on. The inn has the most amazing view of open Atlantic....we could actually see a mountain in Maine from our room!! The inn is quiet and gracious, as is the hostess. Everything is there to make the stay enjoyable, without the fluff of a fancier place. The food was good, the dining room had a great view. It is a short stroll to the beach or to town; but there is not the craziness of a downtown location. This beats having to drive 6 hours to the Maine coast!! You must try it!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CapeAnnMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2007

The Seaward Inn in Rockport is the best value in town. It is in a very nice residential location directly on the ocean with most rooms having a ocean view..The main building has nine rooms, we stayed in a front room on the lst floor facing the ocean. It was a large room with a king size bed, nicely furnished including a small fridge. The room was very, very clean. As one reviewer said, one would not consider the property to be an "upscale" fancy place, but it sure did the trick for us, especially since I am not particularly fond of small inn' or B & Bs..The staff was very friendly and helpful, we had a choice from at leat 15 full breakfast options, and the place is quiet. Since we were still in off season, the price of $99 night with full breakfast was clearly the best value in all of rockport. Trust me, I checked other places out before we setttled in at the Seaward. There are 2-3 other cottages on the property that also look good and offer partial or full views of the ocean. The grounds are also inviting, with lawn chairs and a small porch overlooking the ocean. It is just one mile from downtown rockport and I saw several bics which I am sure could be borrowed for the trip if one did not want to drive or walk to town. By the way, don't expect to go to rockport for the food, there are only 6 restaurants in town, and they are all overpriced, and the food is average at best. But the Seaward Inn is a place I would definitely stay in, if I were to return to that area.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank leop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2006

Just got home from the Seaward Inn and I wanted to share our experience with everyone. Hubby and I needed a break from the kids so decided to make a phone call to see if we could take a trip to Rockport. On very short notice we were offered an oceanview cabin room with king bed, fireplace & breakfast for $125 a night. I was very excited to find this little gem. The room was dated, but it was to be expected for the age of the inn. Here are some of the positives we encountered:

King bed had nice, crisp sheets
Shower had AMAZING water pressure - but they forgot to take the water heater off "vacation" setting...so hubby got all the hot water before we realized it. No biggie!
Waterview was beautiful and from what we noticed driving around...it was one of very few inns that could offer it. That in itself was worth it.
The staff was very attentive and courteous (which I love)
Breakfast was served in a wonderful waterview sunporch. The food was great and plentiful.

Here are some of the negatives we encountered:
Rug in room was stained in a numerous places, but we didn't have a reason to lay on the floor, so no big deal.
Glass door on fireplace was missing/broken - it was humid and 80 - so no reason to light a fire - No biggie again
Connecting room in cabin had fridge - ours didn't, but we had the view...give and take!

Other than those minimal issues, this place is clean and charming. We will come back again without hesitatiion!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoringToAdoringDecor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hartford, Connecticut
15
Reviewed June 11, 2006

My family and I have been vacationing in Rockport for years, and during that time we have stayed in a few of the town's many inns. The last eight years, however, we have stayed at the Seaward Inn, which is located on Marmion Way, a quiet, residential road that curves along the coast. The Seaward Inn has an unparalleled location when it comes to proximity to ocean, beach and downtown. In fact, the ocean is literally across the road from the Inn. Additionally, a small, family beach that is used almost exclusively by the neighborhood residents is no more than a five-minute walk from the Inn. Most of the walk is along a public foot path that traverses a cliff behind a number of beautiful homes and provides a spectacular view of the Atlantic and of downtown Rockport. Finally, although it is approximately 1.5 miles each way, one can also walk from the inn to the downtown through a very nice neighborhood and, if one desires, across the Headlands, a rocky promontory that overlooks Rockport Harbor.

The Seaward Inn reflects the town's ambience, which is quiet and lowkey. The Inn's accommodations offer a number of different configurations, including rooms in the main house as well as rooms -- some with balconies that overlook the Atlantic Ocean -- in the outer buildings and even complete cabins. Rockport is awash in inns, and like many of them, the Seaward might be considered somewhat rustic by those accustomed to five-star resorts. The cabins and the rooms in the outer building have a knotty pine decor, and the interior design is not cutting edge, but, really, who cares? All of the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, there are plenty of towels, hot water, and bathroom amenities, the nights are quiet, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful without being intrusive.

The price of the room includes an excellent breakfast in the main building, in a dining area that overlooks the ocean. The Seaward also boasts one of the more sophisticated dinner menus in Rockport, although we generally eat downtown simply because we like to stroll around the shops and the many art galleries.

We do not hesitate to recommend the Seaward Inn to anyone who is considering traveling to Rockport. Again, we have been staying there for years, and our sixteen-year-old son enjoys it even more than we do. We would not stay anywhere else when we are in town.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2005

Overpriced, cramped room, shoddy interior, needs updating. Breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockport
1.9 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#3 of 6 in Rockport
343 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
550 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
1.5 mi away
Yankee Clipper Inn
Yankee Clipper Inn
#8 of 24 in Rockport
243 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eagle House Motel
Eagle House Motel
#6 of 6 in Rockport
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seaward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seaward

Address: 42 Marmion Way, Rockport, MA 01966-1819 (Formerly Seaward Inn)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rockport
Price Range: $194 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Seaward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaward, nestled on the outmost edge of Cape Ann, is a pristine, seaside vacation rental property with fabulous ocean views. Guests can choose from Spruce Cottage, Lover's Cove (king bedded apartment), or Gully Point (suite with deck). Each has a private bathroom, Direct TV, free wireless internet, air conditioning, a refrigerator, microwave, cook top, coffee maker, hairdryers and plenty of free parking. There is also an outdoor gas grille for your convenience and pleasure. The Seaward offers a refreshing, seaside alternative to vacationing in Rockport with these four unique choices of accommodations. Guests who visit The Seaward comment on the restful atmosphere, while still being close to a wealth of attractions including gorgeous nature preserves, great shopping, boating, whale watching, museums, and sandy beaches. We also offer bicycles to enjoy the winding rocky coastal roads and pathways with stunning vistas and breathtaking sunrises and sunsets. The Seaward is located on Marmion Way, known for its lovely homes, gardens and ocean views. Here you can relax to the soothing sound of waves lapping the rocky shore and distant fog horn while watching the lobster and sailboats pass by. We are a short & scenic mile to downtown Rockport which can be accessed along an ocean path. Along the way you will pass Old Garden Beach; a good spot for a dip, and "headlands" for an outstanding view of Rockport Harbor. Spruce Cottage - enjoy two bedrooms - a queen sized bed in one room and 2 twin beds in another. The kitchen offers a stove, sink, small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Although most folks prefer to relax on the front lawn, the cozy living room includes a kitchen table, fireplace couch and flatscreen TV. Gully Point - Enjoy a deck with ocean views and rocking chairs. Gully Point offers accommodations for up to 4 people comfortably. One bedroom has a queen sized bed, while the rather spacious living room has accommodations for two more on a comfortable (full size) sleeper couch. Loblolly Cove - has a similar set up as Gully Point and can adjoin it to accommodate up to 8 people. Enjoy a deck with ocean views. On it's own Loblolly Cove offers accommodations for up to 5 people. One bedroom has a queen sized bed, while the living room has a twin day bed and pull our (full) couch. Lovers Cove has ocean views, a king sized bed, newly conditioned hardwood floors and a small private courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Seaward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaward Hotel Rockport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing