We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big disappointment!”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rockland
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Had just stayed at the Holiday Inn across the street. At almost the same price, this hotel was at least two notches down. The room AC was off on a 90+ degree day and the halls reeked of smoke, making the arrival very unpleasant. But my main complaint is that ALL the outside lights were off, including the parking lot and entry doorways, creating what I considered to be a very unsecure and unsafe environment. I don't know if this was the result of a temporary problem or a cost cutting measure, but if the former there was no notice given at checkin.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon080158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 127 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2009

First time staying at a Comfort Suites in many years. Chose the "Presidential Suite" for $199 which was a good choice. Quiet even if at front of building. Breakfast ws typical continental, but had hot coffee, bananas, and eggs, so good enough for me. Checked in at 11:00 p.m. and front desk was accomodating. Amenities at the hotel were breakfast and 1 free computer. Comfortable sitting area/lobby.

Considering we checked in last minute, satisfied with this hotel.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
3  Thank PAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Stayed for a long weekend while attending family affair. Clean, quiet room, good breakfast setup, but the bed was terrible and uncomfortable. Two people sleeping rolled into the middle. Would have slept on the floor if there had been an extra blanket.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texascheyenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

Knowledgeable staff that know the area well. Got the jacuzzi sweet with a queen bed. Extremely clean and comfortable, no disturbances through out the night. Plenty of restaurants from fast food to Italian cuisine. Would stay again and recommend for business or leisure stay for Boston and/or Cape Cod. Couple of golf courses near by and fishing charters about 20 minute drive.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank massresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2009

We stayed here for one night, the hotel was perfectly clean, every thing was in good working order. Breakfast was the usual continental style.
The staff at this hotel were fabulous, extremely helpful and kind.
A great value.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ACK_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

In the past, I have had out-of-town relatives stay at the Comfort Inn Rockland and have stayed there myself when my a/c broke down and NEVER had any previous problem w/ the hotel until recently. I stayed there in August, 2008 and encountered bed bugs. I went to bed and was itchy and felt pin pricks all over my body. When I turned the lights on, I did not see anything. The next day, I had red marks all over my body and was itchy. I notified the hotel that day. I spoke w/ a girl who was sympathetic and said the hotel had encountered a problem w/ bedbugs as recent as May 2008 but the problem had been resolved. When I called back to speak w/ the GM, I was told that I had received false information. The hotel had received no other complaints of bed bugs. Furthermore, a canine unit specially trained to route out bed bugs had just inspected my room coinicidentally and the inspection came back clean. I was told these types of complaints are not subject to the 100% Comfort and Clean Guarantee. My complaint, according to the GM, would be forwarded to their insurance carrier for appropriate action. To avoid this type of aggravation and apathy from management, I would stay elsewhere in the area. I have stayed in motels, hotels, hostels across the U.S. and Europe and have only encountered bed bugs this one time.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AMY05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

This hotel has not been reviewed for a long while; so I thought it was worth it to post a review after staying one night. I was in this area to attend a friends family affair and just wanted a close (not to have to fight RT3 or 128 traffic) location for an evening and early morning committment in Rockland center.

As of this review the hotel is going through some cosmetic renovations on the interior, on the first floor the paint smell was pretty strong, but I believed they were placing guests (this was during the week) on the 2nd and 3rd floors to eliminate getting affixiated from the smell.

The hotel staff was accomodating and polite. The breakfast was typical Comfort Inn make your own waffles, cereal, and bagels/muffins to toast etc; with juice and coffee. Adequate for eats if you have no time or just to have something in your stomach as you head out early....no other hot items or yogurt and fruit as others have in this type of basic "included" breakfast.

The hotel itself obviously has been going through updates - since the carpeting is new throughout and also in the rooms. Rooms were basic and spacious, very clean. Bathroom on the smaller size, but very clean and updated. Beds standardly comfortable, plenty of pillows, heating/AC worked fine (although both that unit and the TV "hummed" when on - but not annoyingly so...)

There is adequate closet space (not enclosed); a room safe and a good size dresser. My queen bed room also had a sitting/sofa area which was nice - like I said room were fairly spacious.

Ample free parking and there is a Dunkin Donuts across the street as well as a plaza next to the hotel with a convenience store. If you go up one exit North there is a nice shopping plaza with restaurants, Barnes and Noble and many upscale stores to shop (in Hingham).

This location is quick to the highway (Rt3). Rockland itself is no "destination" but I can see where some people wishing to cut costs would stay here and be fairly close to Plymouth, Ma or Boston without paying "tourist" or "city" prices. Braintree T Station or Quincy Adams T are both less than 10 miles away to get into Boston.

Decent, clean, affordable accomodation for business, quick stays, or cost cutting persons who don't mind driving or using local transportation to get to toursity/city areas.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kasey363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockland
0.1 mi away
Best Western Rockland
Best Western Rockland
#1 of 3 in Rockland
525 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Rockland
7.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Nantasket Beach Resort
8.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Boston Braintree
15.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kingston Plymouth Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 850 Hingham St, Rockland, MA 02370-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Rockland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rockland
Price Range: $120 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Rockland
Comfort Inn Rockland
Rockland Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing