We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Rockland
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
Cortland, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I usually stay at hotels within one of the major (Marriott or Hilton) chains, but took a chance on the BW in Rockland for a trip with friends. Though I was a little wary at first, this hotel turned out to be fantastic! It looked and smelled clean, was easy to get to (as well as in and out of), very inexpensive, and most importantly for me (a finicky sleeper)- the in-room fan/air system provided a very nice and very consistent hum. Strange to put this in a review, right? Well for someone who generally has trouble sleeping in hotels due to the varying functionality of air/heat systems- this is one of my FIRST considerations. Needless to say, I was quite impressed and would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devesh K, General Manager at Best Western Rockland, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Jillian,

Thank you so much for your input in regards to our Hotel. As you mentioned you stay in Marriotts or Hiltons but this time took a chance to stay at Best Western..And I am glad you did!! because your review makes my staff & me feel proud that one you were impressed with the Cleanliness/Accomodations & secondly it gives you a change in thought that it's not always about the Brand, Compared to the bigger brands we could provide Excellent value Too.. Thank You so Much Again & we look forward to seeing you soon again..

Devesh Karani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    174
    54
    17
    5
See reviews for
192
93
48
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was very happy with the service and the room. However, the loud fan in the bathroom should be disconnected and the large towel rack in the small vanity area should be replaced with smaller towel rod.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank AnnieLiz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Booked this as part of flight, hotel and car package for 8 nights holiday in Boston/New England. Very good value. Good sized, well-appointed rooms with more than adequate (not 4- star luxury) free breakfast available from 6.30am to late morning and 24 hr free coffee. We asked for fridge for our room which was delivered promptly. Used useful hotel safe facility at front desk for storing valuables. Plentiful free parking. Has good off licence (owner's wine recommendations are sound!), excellent sports diner, basic pizza take-away with tables for eating-in, and cheap cafe just over the road (watch the traffic when crossing!). There is excellent if more pricey Italian restaurant next door. Pizza place will let you bring in a bottle of wine from off licence if you eat in there. Need to allow 1 hour to get into central Boston by driving to Braintree (10 mins) to get the frequent trains in (35 mins) which are very cheap with a weekly or daily pass. Car park at Braintree tends to get full but you can park for free in the mall 300 yards away by turning right out of the station. Alternative of driving all the way into Boston not recommended due to heavy rush hour traffic. Lots of shops at the Derby Mall 10 mins away by car. A good location for exploring as just off Interstate, and especially convenient for Cape Cod and Rhode Island - we also drove for day trips to to Salem and the Berkshires.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Ile, MI
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have stayed a number of times at this motel. It is not fancy, but the rooms are adequately sized, the staff is competent, and the breakfast buffet is no worse than average. (Actually, the coffee is not bad!) If that sounds as though I'm damning with faint praise, that's not my intent. We know that we can count on a clean room, a comfortable bed, and we've never encountered any rowdiness from other rooms. My wife and I don't require a fancy hotel, and this is exactly the sort of place that we look for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-GI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devesh K, General Manager at Best Western Rockland, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

I want to thank you for the repeated business you have been giving us & are Comfortable with what we are. I am glad that with the competition around us you have chosen our Hotel. I will promise you one thing that we have & are looking to make continuous improvements to our Hotel & I am sure you will see more Value down the road.

Thank You,

Devesh Karani
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Best Western in Rockland Ma. Nice, clean rooms. Complimentary breakfast was good. Matt, the overnight front desk rep, was very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping staff kept the room clean. Traffic to Boston can be very busy. Its only 19 miles, however, plan an extra half hour or 45 mins on the road. For great dinner, Not Your Average Joe's is just down the road on the same side as the hotel.

Room Tip: We usually get a room with 2 queen beds. If one wants to nap, the other can move about the room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeKay122365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devesh K, General Manager at Best Western Rockland, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

I wanted to thank you for your business & I am to hear that you Enjoyed your stay with us. Matt was really happy on being recognized for the service he provided.

Thank You for your kind words & I hope to see you really soon again.

Devesh Karani.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockland
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Rockland
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Rockland
124 reviews
8.1 mi away
Nantasket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Boston/Braintree
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brockton (Boston)
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston Braintree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Rockland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rockland

Property: Best Western Rockland
Address: 909 Hingham St, Rockland, MA 02370 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Rockland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rockland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Rockland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Rockland is perfectly located between historic Boston and Cape Cod on Route 3, ideal for business & leisure travelers, a home away from home. Now Under New Ownership & Management. Newly Renovated Lobby, Public Areas, Fitness Center with Brand New Equipment & Serving Hot/Continental Breakfast, Flat Screen TVs. Our Hotel is minutes from the Braintree Red Line Subway Station, The Hanover Mall & Derby Street Mall are within 3 miles. Area attractions nearby include the New England Aquarium, Fenway Park, the Freedom Trail, JFK Library, Museum of Science and Faneuil Hall Marketplace, one of America's most famous shopping and dining experiences, Harbor Cruises & Whale Watching, Boston Plymouth Plantation, Boston National Historical Park, South Shore Plaza In Braintree, Wrentham Factory Shopping Outlet, Birth Place & Home of John Adams in Quincy. For that avid golfer, there are many golf clubs in the area such as Rockland Golf course, Pembroke Country Club and Scituate Country Club to name a few. Several malls, shops, restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the immediate vicinity. A perfect way to start your day is with our complimentary full hot breakfast with a choice of hot items, eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including hot waffle flavors! Our hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like access to copy and fax services. Our Mayflower Meeting room accommodates up to 60 people ideal for meetings & conferences. We are in close proximity to Assinippi Industrial Park and Hingham Corporate Center. All spacious guest rooms include irons, ironing boards, hair dryers, coffee makers and cable television. Microwaves and refrigerators are in some rooms. We are 100% Smoke Free & are in a continuous effort to be so. Harvard, Cambridge MIT, Stonehill College, Bridgewater State College, Milton Academy, are major educational area attractions. For an unforgettable adventure, book a stay at the BEST WESTERN Rockland today. General Hotel Information: Check-In: 3PM (15:00) Check-Out: 11AM (11:00) Hotel Ratings: AAA-2 Diamond Pet Policy: Pets not accepted. More> Guest Rooms: null Cable satellite television with HBO® AM/FM alarm clock Coffee/tea maker Microwave available More Area Information: 3.00 mile(s) from Derby Street Mall 7.00 mile(s) from John Adams Birthplace, President's birthplace and home 9.00 mile(s) from Nantasket Beach 11.00 mile(s) from South Shore Plaza, shopping mall 12.00 mile(s) from JFK Library, portrays life, leadership and legacy of President Kennedy More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Rockland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rockland Hotel Rockland
Rockland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing