We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bayside eatery” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salmon Inn

Salmon Inn
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
222 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Bayside eatery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

On the bay, this is a casual restaurant with a small but active bar/pub on the side.

It's rated # 1, because there aren't any others in the area!!

Varied menu, very casual and slow service, but as my wife pointed out to me, where or what else is there to go/do after dinner. ...just go with the flow.

Local oysters were full and firm texture but without the briny taste, so thus a little bland; expensive at €9 for half dozen. Mussels were the highlight of the evening, tasty choices of preparation and reasonably priced at €9 for a large bowl, and fried potatoes/chips.
Baked lobster was delicious but ridiculously expensive at €25 for a half lobster.

Wines were €5 per glass, so best to get a bottle for better variety and quality selection. Chocolate fudge cake was rich and smothered with sauce, not worth the calories.

Total cost for 2 was €78.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    28
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic View and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Multiple visits during an extended stay in Donegal Town. I recommend the mussels, you won't be disappointed with the ample portion, the local oysters, and the traditional Irish fish cakes. What a pleasant place to enjoy the sunset over Mullinasole Bay. Very friendly owner and staff, both a neighborhood bar and an excellent restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
135 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“4 DINNERS IN 2 WEEKS, KEPT COMING BACK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great food at reasonable prices in a very friendly restaurant. We spent 2 weeks in Donegal Town and ate here 4 times. It’s a very comfortable place with mostly locals and has a popular bar as well as a dining room. I highly recommend the Lamb Stew or the Chicken Shitznel – both well priced, delicious, and very filling with the sides of salads or chips. The lobster special (1/2 half a big local lobster with sides) or the daily fish specials (my husband had the stuffed sole) are a great splurge and not over priced at all. The food was great, but just as special were the attention and friendliness of the owner and the servers, we got to know them by name and had some interesting, helpful talks about the Donegal area. It’s a local place where there are dog walkers and children playing outside on the waterfront (even jumping off the pier nearby). I should add that the sunset is fantastic from the front of the Salmon Inn. This was recommended to us by the owner of a nearby farm and was a very special find – we will be back next year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“100% the best place to eat in Donegal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

What can I say about the Salmon Inn? Well at first it doesn't look like much from the outside, but trust me there is a reason why this place is a local treasure. Definitely book a table if visiting the area as it can be really busy especially at weekends and we had to be turned away one night as it was full.

Such a stunning setting where you are guaranteed to see a magical sunset. The food is all locally sourced and absolutely gourmet. Our party of four enjoyed excellent quality seafood and friendly and attentive service. After dinner nip into the side-bar/snug where you might be lucky enough to catch a session in full swing. We will most definitely be returning again and again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank redwineIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Night out at Salmon Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

6 of us had a great Night out in Salmon inn.
Good Menu and Choice of Specials available.
Mussells,Hake and Crab salad excellent .
Staff very friendly , attentive and good fun to talk to.and Dining area Old Style
and intersting with a fabulous view .
Would go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mccaffrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salmon Inn also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to Salmon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing