We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT VILLAGE SETTING”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

The Red Lion Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dorking
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“PERFECT VILLAGE SETTING”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I walked in the area with a friend and we were undecided about whether to eat or not afterwards. It was such a beautiful sunny afternoon we opted to sit outside the pub and have a light bite, it was perfect. For a start the landlady was incredibly friendly and we felt very much as if nothing was too much trouble. The menu is extensive and this did worry me, I worry about frozen microwave food; however everything was fresh and well prepared. I ordered a salad with duck and was pleased to note the duck had been correctly cooked and was very tender and soft. The naughty side order of chips were extremely good, very hot and crunchy. It is not a top high end dining experience, it's exactly what you need from a village pub. Good, fresh, well prepared, simple and reasonable food. Very much a pub I will revisit, especially now I know they keep a well stocked bar for my husband to test some local bitters. Don't be fooled by earlier reviews, they sound as if they are looking for a gastro pub and this isn't one of those; I am a little sick of presentation over content and it was refreshing to be somewhere a little more "real".

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Magglington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    97
    27
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Country Pub”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great country pub which we often visit. Good selection of wines and ales, varied menus where everyone should be able to find something they like, all reasonably priced. Have had lunch and evening meals here with friends and also business lunches and have always been satisfied with the service and quality of the food. Plenty of room outside in the garden, which is obviously great for the summer months should you chose to eat outside. Warm friendly staff who always make you feel welcome and that you do actually matter to them. To sum up I would say good pub grub at reasonable prices in a welcoming, friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jog624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely country pub”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We just love this pub
Great staff polite friendly very welcoming, Debbie the owner is a gem very attentive & always looks after you & your guests.
The menu has something for all tastes & the food is lovely also a very good portion, you can tell it is all home cooked on the premises also if you love desserts this is the place to go.
Dogs are welcome in the bar dining area ...great to have a traditional Sunday lunch after a long walk
The garden is lovely in the summer
Real log fires in the winter
highly recommend a visit sooner rather than later!
They also have an area that you could have a private function in as well....may have to hint to my hubby about "my forth coming 50th" and just to add service charge is not automatically added like a lot of restaurants.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Atmospheric traditional village lunch”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

6 of us visited on a saturday lunch, early Sept 2013. Very busy, worth booking as they give priority to food orders for those who have booked.Good for children- rather than the normal chicken nuggets and chips a children's menu usually offers, here they do half portions of the whole menu.The welcome at the bar was very warm and friendly and helpful over meal choice, the waitress service was fine on the food front but we did find it quicker going to the bar to order more drinks.
Food was good, but wouldnt come here for instance, for my birthday if you wanted something a little more special. All in all, good honest fayre in a friendly warm relaxed atmosphere in a lovely village and would go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank randmfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GIVE IT A TRY”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

From the time we arrived it felt exactly as a good pub/restaurant should be. Warm friendly welcome and obvious that your custom was more than welcome, especially from the owner and the bar manager. Superb selection of ales for the afficianado and a very worthy and interesting wine list at reasonable prices (would recommend ROARING MEG pinot from New Zealand.

Food is as you would expect from this type of village pub, varied with a fair selection of old favorites and always a good number of specials. Perhaps vegetables and side salads could do with a little more imagination and variety, but even so still prepared well.

Desserts are excellent and freshly prepared by a local lady... well worth trying.

Service is always speedy with very little waiting time.. ...you get the impression that even if you were a fairly large party the staff would cope .

All in all an enjoyable experience and will definitely return.


By the way if you were on your own there is a chap by the name of Trevor who can talk the hind legs off a donkey...very amiable chap !!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank FOXY7401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion Inn also viewed

Shere, Guildford
Guildford, Surrey
 

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing