We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Across the country treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly's Roast Beef

Kelly's Roast Beef
Ranked #1 of 108 Restaurants in Revere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
La Mesa, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Across the country treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Grew up in Massachussetts... and it is a family tradition to go to Kelly's... Not for the roast beef, although it is REALLY, REALLY good... Not for the lobster (pronounce "lob stah" if you know what you are doing) roll... but for the honest to goodness Fried Clams. I am presently sitting in Sunny San Diego... could do anything I want right now... go to the beach, go hiking, biking, travel through the state parks, go to SeaWorld or the San Diego Zoo.... but here I am, at my desk, thinking about Fried Clams... and not the one's you get from other restaurants... you know... the mostly batter with little strips of "neck".... nope... I am thinking about Clam Bellies... big, tender and fried to perfection. Listen, I know you don't know me.... I know that you don't care at all about what I think.... I am not offended... it is just the way the world works... but if you listen to anything that I say, go celebrate being a East Coaster, get into your car and get some of the Fried Clams... do it for me. You can tell your friends and family that "you didn't want to go, but some poor displaced guy from Mass asked you to go and treat yourself, because he couldn't...".... if they hassle you, tell them I am terminal with a horribly complicated disease that just came out in the latest edition of the Medical Journal... and this is my last dying wish... tell them that a service member who is deployed overseas is unable to enjoy and that you are doing it for them... as a patriotic American who supports the troops... tell them what ever they need to hear to let you go... or you could invite them... and then you wouldn't get any flack... That's a plan... go and invite your friends.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MDD86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    61
    10
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfasts, too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Didn't go to Kelly's for either the famed roast beef OR famed lobster roll...went several times for breakfast while staying in the area. Kelly's breakfast sandwiches are the best you'll ever have and apparently they serve them all day. Unexpectedly, also, excellent coffee. Low prices, credit cards accepted. Only outdoor seating at this location: about half dozen tables, with a large sheltered beach pavilion as well, across the road, facing Revere Beach and Atlantic Ocean. Great local atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Torontotraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Based on the other reviews I've read, it appears we should have tried the roast beef. Instead we had the shrimp basket and it was average at best. It seemed to take quite awhile to prepare for a fast food place. The location across from the beach is nice though and allows for a leisurely walk before or after. The prices are reasonable. Based on the other superb options Boston offers (ex. Italian Express Pizzeria), I would only recommend Kelly's if you want a quicker stop and your primary aim is to be near the beach (or, you take the advice of others and try the roast beef). Otherwise, I'd go elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrowinGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Not what you think?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you are expecting a restaurant, think again. Kelly's is a beachfront takeaway serving the most sublime beef rolls I have ever tasted. Cooked rare as it should be, the meat is so tender it melts as you eat it. Service is quick and the prices very reasonable ($19.40 for 2 rolls and 2 cokes Sept12).
There are plenty of beach side seats and tables opposite but the parking is limited to 15 mins near to Kellys. Lots of other items if you don't want the beef but believe me you really do.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Roast Beef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Love this place, the sandwiches are hug and the beef is tender and rare. Other friends love the rest of the menu, I wouldn't have anything BUT roast beef at Kelly's.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SunJamaica6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kelly's Roast Beef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing