We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming and immaculate”

Gilbert's Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gilbert's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Rehoboth B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We stayed on 9/26/08 and 9/27/08 had a completely different experience than the 9/15/08 reviewer from Mississauga. It appears that they were inexperienced with the casual intimacy of a bed & breakfast; a 24-hour chain hotel might have been a better match for their expectations. Gilbert's is a lovely place that is warm, welcoming, and IMMACULATE. While our room had a private bath, we viewed all of the rooms including the rooms with a shared bath and the shared bath itself. Everything was in fine condition. This is not a Hampton Inn that was built last week with a plastic-encased bathroom. That would seem rather odd in this beautiful old house. Decor is neat and simple with Shaker elements. We loved all the hooks in the bathroom--very handy. Jeanne and Don were warm and hospitable without being intrusive. They did not impose their schedule on us nor did we feel like we had a "curfew". They were very thoughtful in leaving notes. It gave us a convenient form of communicating when we or they weren't around. Breakfasts were plentiful and delicious, and were served at an agreed-upon time. And yes, they shared breakfast with us and the other guests. We felt like we were having a meal with old friends. It was a lovely way to start each day. The house is also in a beautiful setting, surrounded by woods.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted_and_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2008

Our stay in at Gilbert's began on the road on the way to the B&B. We had a flat tire, and no one driving by would stop to help us. When we finally got to Gilbert's (6:00 p.m.), the hostess wasn't there but left us a note. In the note, she invited us to use the pool, which was filled with leaves and rotted cement siding and a vacuum hose left floating in the water. It was hours before the host came 'home'. Our rooms were dingy and crowded in their loft. Notes were left on the night table reminding us to leave a tip for housekeeping. Shared bathroom had rust in tub, and no complementary toilettries. For morning breakfast, though we didn't know it, we were expected to join all the other guests for one breakfast. Since we were late coming down (didn't know we had to be there for a specific time), the meagre french toast and sausages were reheated for us in the microwave. Our daughter who is vegetarian had no options provided for her. The icing on the cake was the host herself sitting down to join us for breakfast. Never have I had such a frustrating experience, and would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EnjoyLife47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
715
Reviewed August 12, 2004

With a hostess who was so eager to help us feel so welcome, we left this charming place spoiled, satisfied and eager to return. Breakfasts were delicious.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beagletrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frits W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gilbert's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilbert's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 30 Spring St, Rehoboth, MA 02769-2408
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Rehoboth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Rehoboth
Price Range: $125 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gilbert's Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gilbert's B&B, built in 1835, is located on an award-winning tree farm. Centrally located to many attractions in Rhode Island and southeastern Massachusetts, Gilbert's B&B offers a hearty, home-cooked breakfasts and a quiet place to rest after a day's activities. Owners Jeanne and Don are eager to assist guests with information on where to eat other meals and places to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gilbert's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing