We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Desolate, dirty, dated, depressing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Provincetown
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Desolate, dirty, dated, depressing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Sorry to say, this place is really bad. Damp, musty, old rooms, old beds, deserted old unused rooms in the main lobby. The pool area is very nice, the views are very pretty. The hotel is at the west end of Commercial St, so it's off the beaten path, and quiet. If you're just looking for a place to crash, and if you don't care about not feeling pampered in any way whatsoever, and you're just looking for a nice pool in good location, this could work for you.

Room Tip: All rooms are extremely dated and musty, if you want a good view, ask for breakwater or cape-tip roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    162
    75
    50
    45
See reviews for
112
202
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Charles, IL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This review will be the same as every other review. There is not much more to say other than what has been said time and time again. The location can't be beat, but the hotel is suffering. I thought we had booked one of the updated rooms overlooking the beach. The room location was perfect with a porch overlooking the beach and a sidewalk leading to the beach and pool. We were in room 8.

The staff was friendly. The meals we ate in the bar area were good.

The hotel does smell musty as everyone else has stated. The beds were the worst I have slept on at a hotel. Before even sitting on the beds you could see how far the mattresses dipped in the middle. We thought it was funny until we tried to sleep. I spent the whole first night awake debating checking out to spend our second night elsewhere. Ultimately it wasn't worth the hassle. The bedspreads are the cheesy polyester type of the past, not the more modern duvets that get frequently washed.

We had a leak in our bathroom ceiling. The ceiling was bubbled and when the person above showered water dripped and hit the side of the sink. It was pretty nasty getting hit with someone else's shower water while brushing my teeth. It also splashed our toilet due to the proximity of the sink to the toilet. I let the front desk know on the way out. I did not get an "I'm sorry.", just an "Oh, the bubble is back? Thanks for letting us know."

Thought the bathroom appeared recently updated it was not clean. Lots of dust and hair on the bathroom door, toothpaste on the wall--kind of yucky.

We would not come back, but it was fine for what we needed it for. We only stayed two nights, there is no way we would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncocacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The continental breakfast included was a huge homemade feast without heavy meats but a make your own waffle center - oodles of juices, bagels toaster, coffees even a giant urn filled with luscious oatmeal with brown sugar raisins etc for picky vegans like me! Great guests and inn is right on the ocean- perfect for my $85!!!!!!
Would go back for sure!!!
Like a Vermont inn really!!

Room Tip: I stayed on the street side which was just as quiet as ever- to open windows maybe get second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewOrleansDoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
208 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel is older and needs some work but is located at the tip of Cape Cod. It's location is serene. The town can get a little wild, its not really a place for families. My wife and I had a great time at several bars but my 13 year old son felt out of place. The beaches were great.

Room Tip: As for a room that has been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanfromIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We made an early reservation for what would be our first trip to Provincetown. We decided to splurge and booked the Captains Suite A. We made the reservation by phone and the person taking the reservation was exceedingly courteous and helpful. We arrived on Friday for our four night visit and had about a 2 minute check in process. We walked over to our room (150) and walked in to a nicely sized apartment with a view that is worth millions. The property is definitely dated and little money has been invested for maintenance or upgrades. With that said the staff was consistently nice and any request was met with a definitive "yes." Our unit was huge (except the bathroom, we have a sailboat and the head is bigger than the bathroom in our room). The kitchen was fully stocked so we went to the Saturday farmers market and bought fresh vegetables, seafood and sausage. The Stop and Shop is a relatively close bike ride and fully stocked with whatever you might need. Our room was perched on the edge of the Moors and the breakwater that people take to walk out to the closest lighthouse. Sitting in our living room was like being on the water. We couldn't imagine staying in a different property or room if we make it back. The pool is large and open to the public. Grill for lunch was excellent and again, the staff was great. We had a stray dog park itself on our front porch and the front desk was most helpful in locating the owners who were out kayaking. Bed was comfortable, carpet was dirty enough to turn our socks black after a few hours of walking around in sock feet. So, paid alot for the room worth every penny due to location, view and generally agreeable staff experience. It is about a good mile into the center of town but we biked in and just locked our bikes up at the Boatslip motel. Lastly, the Innis at the entrance to the National Sea Shore so you've got PTown in one direction and the beautiful shore a quick bike ride in the opposite direction. If you're a Ritz Carlton you won't like the Inn. If you value space, view and your basic necessities met with a relaxed staff you'll love the Inn as we did.

Room Tip: had trepidations but had a great visit. Regular rooms appear to be small but our suite as huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluechaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went to Provincetown Inn the weekend before Memorial Day. We booked a room on the tip with great views and access to breakwater and small beach on the other side. The location is fantastic and it is a short walk into town for great dining. The room had a king size bed that was comfortable and clean with a remodeled bath. It was adequate but not high end. I really enjoy swimming but the outdoor pool was not open yet but looked very nice. I wish it had an indoor pool. The price was good and I would go there again.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with the view you desire. We got a waterview on the tip and it was nice to si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LSonnens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a great family vacation. The motel is only 15 min walk from the city and is right on the beach. We asked Becky, the front desk clerk, where the best place to eat was and she gave us info on a few places and was so helpful with directions. We loved the view from our room, we stayed on the side of the motel where we could see the sunset. We hope to be able to visit again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
2.4 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#4 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.8 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#3 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#13 of 14 in Provincetown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center

Property: Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
Address: 1 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1909
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincetown Inn Hotel Provincetown
Provincetown Inn Resort And Conference Center
Provincetown Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing