We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, family friendly hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Provincetown
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean, family friendly hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at the Harbor Hotel for 3 nights in July- it was our first visit to Provincetown. The hotel is nice- the rooms look pretty much as advertised and are clean with comfortable beds. There is a cute pool area and bar which we didn't use but looked like it was being enjoyed by many families. We brought our bikes to get into town which was nice- there are plenty of places to park and lock up bikes in Provincetown. There is also a shuttle that takes guests from the hotel to the center of town every half hour but it seemed kind of inconsistent. We did eat breakfast at the hotel one morning- the food was what you would expect and the service was just ok but since we weren't in a hurry it wasn't a big deal. Depending on the tide and time of day, there is a little bit of ocean front sandy area to enjoy across the road from the hotel- we sat on the beach for a couple hours during the afternoon and had a nice breeze coming in off the ocean. If I could, I would give Harbor Hotel a 3.5 out of 5 rating- somewhere between 'average' and 'very good'.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
It was a pleasure to be the ones to provide you with your first Provincetown experience! We’re glad that our accommodations met your expectations and that our location added convenience to your stay. Walking the beach and taking a bike ride are wonderful ways to explore our area and take in the sights of the Cape Cod National Seashore. Hopefully you’ll have an opportunity to return and take advantage of our pool area! Thank you for commenting on your stay at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    243
    142
    49
    41
See reviews for
210
274
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Second time staying here; but first time in-season. Nice, clean property and location for the money (and an outdoor pool!). Service in restaurant needs improvement; but there are plenty of other places in the area. Public bus transportation stop directly outside the hotel is a nice plus if you are coming in from the ferry. Nightly bond fire with the water view is a nice added attraction (BYOM-bring your own marshmallows).

Room Tip: "Deluxe" first floor with an outside private patio provides easy access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBE29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Welcoming your family back to the Harbor Hotel Provincetown was a true pleasure. We’re glad that our accommodations and facility met your expectations. Your comments have been shared with our dining staff in order to make improvements. Your review is greatly appreciated and we hope you’ll return to us again soon!

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I was so excited when they renovated this place however, it lacks service, cleanliness and it seems after the million dollar plus renovation they just don't care anymore. the grounds are always littered with garbage, the staff never know what is going on, the rug in our room was gross,( thought they got rid of those), the maid left our sliding door open after she cleaned, the mat in the bathtub was so stained I had to wear my shoes to shower, they eliminated breakfast which many people were unaware of, they stopped having bikes you can borrow and the pool which is open to the public is crowded and people were announcing how they were bleeding and then jumped back in.
there are 3 fire pits which are beautiful unless 1 is not lit in which case it smells of propane I alerted front desk they sent someone out they said oh?? really that is hazardous to our health and clearly we could not enjoy it. I gave this place yet another chance but this is it. I honestly could go on and on this MOTEL which has one asset and that is Keith he is friendly knowledgeable and the only person who knows what customer service is!!! We come here at least 2 times a year but we will never return here....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sstravels19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We’re very disappointed to learn that one of our frequent visitors had experiences such as this. The conditions you’re describing are very out of character for us and we’ve alerted our housekeeping department to ensure that our high standards are being met. . I can assure you that while the third fire-pit was down, it was completely shut off to all propane as this would have created an unsafe environment for our guests. We truly wish that your last experience was up to par; please know that we are working very hard to improve our facility and we hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future. We’re sure that we won’t let you down again. Thank you for sharing your concerns with us.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

It saddens me to have to write this review, as my fiancé and I actually got engaged at the restaurant here. this was the place of our first date and where we spent most of our nights last year enjoying live music and great people and atmosphere. However, this year things seem to be a lot different. we had come in approximately three weeks ago for dinner. Keith, the regular bartender (who is amazing), was working on setting up for a wedding which was happening the next day, so he was not on the bar. I got a menu from the bartender, sat at a table, and waited twenty minutes trying to get someone's attention to take our order. sadly, there were only twenty-nine customers in the restaurant, and five servers on the floor, plus a manager. Yet to have my order taken I had to flag down Keith, who was not working service that evening, since no one else seemed to be paying any attention to customers. We have also been quite disappointed in the lack of live bands this year. The Grab Brothers band is a local favorite, and I know a lot of locals who used to frequent this location as they tend to draw a crowd. it was bothersome to hear that the restaurant manager was not hiring them to play this year. The new restaurant manager (Darrell?) is very off-putting to customers. He has a tendency to stand and hover over you while you are trying to eat, which makes the dining experience very unpleasant. He also made a point to tell me (at his own accord,) in GREAT detail about the previous restaurant manager, and why he is no longer with the company, which I feel is not business that the customers should know. it is bad press for someone (especially a member of management) to be badmouthing former employees, whether or not they had ever met them. I (and My fiancé) feel like the changes that have come to the restaurant are certainly on the negative side, and that the local clientele will reflect this. We always feel as if someone is watching us while we try to enjoy dinner. (which by the way is great, Michael Santos is an excellent chef!) Other than that, Keith and Armand are wonderful always, and very welcoming to all who come in. We always look forward to seeing them. However, at this point they are all the restaurant has going for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
As a frequent customer who has celebrated so many important milestones with us, reading your review was disheartening. While we’re glad that our dining options and longtime bar staff have continued to satisfy you, it’s unfortunate that other aspects of your recent visit have fallen short. The experience in our restaurant that you’re describing is not the kind of service we aim to provide and I will see to it personally that the instances you had explained will be taken care of immediately. We always appreciate the feedback we receive from our guests and we will definitely look into having the band play that you have suggested. It is our hope that your next experience will be much better than the last.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We attended a family wedding held here. The group rate was great. The food for the reception was THE BEST. Perhaps the best filet mignon I have ever had. The general manager, Michael, could not have been more accomodating. His staff is cheerful and well trained. Albie showed me how to run the TV. The Macedonian women and other staff were cheerful, fun loving, respectful and attentive. ALL THE ROOMS ARE NEWLY REFURBISHED. Nice microwave and refrigerator. A $3 bus ride takes you downtown, although we walked everytime. I am over 70 ... The exercise was great. Plenty of parking. The beach is across the street. There is a great large firepit for staying out until 4:00 am.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank drgoodwhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Reading your review this morning truly put a smile on our faces! A wedding is such a joyous occasion to come together for and we’re honored to have been such a wonderful part of your family’s celebration. We’re thrilled that our dining options and staff exceeded your expectations. Walking to the center of town is such a great way to take in the sights of the Cape Cod National Seashore and it’s great that you took time to explore our area. Your praise for your staff is greatly appreciated and we hope to have you back at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown again.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Harbor Hotel is definitely on the upswing. The food is better this year. The only issue I have with the place is how dirty the parking lot is around the hotel. There are tons of cigarette butts, broken glass, nip bottles, coffee cups, etc. Also, the landscaping is looking better. Still need to take care of the little strip over on Snail Road. Its an eyesore. The landscaping in the back looks good with the hammocks and games. Plant some hydrangeas, roses and put up a small white fence... otherwise definitely improved from last year to this year.

Room Tip: Choose a room up front looking out over the ocean. The back of the building is an eyesore. It really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoneyBear69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Your continued loyalty to the Harbor Hotel Provincetown is greatly appreciated. We’re glad that your most recent experience was better than the last. We’re continuously working to make improvements to our facility and your comments have opened up our eyes. They have been shared with our maintenance department so they can address the areas you’ve mentioned. We hope that every future stay with us gets better and better.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The owners have taken what was once a Holiday Inn and transformed it into the impossible: an affordable motel that's actually cool to stay at. The lobby and firepit-centered front sitting area, overlooking Cape Cod Bay, was authored by the Boston design firm Utile. It's all minimalist and inviting color palettes and and sleek furniture. The rooms are clean and comfortable Two dollar tacos and $5 margs on Tuesdays, delightful breakfast buffet. Wonderfully situated just south of Provincetown, easy access to National Seashore.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
At the Harbor Hotel Provincetown, we want to give our guests an experience unlike any other. We’re elated to learn how much you enjoyed our contemporary and sustainable makeover! Our Whaler Lounge is a great place to dine, have a few drinks, and enjoy yourself, and it sounds like you did just that. Your kind words for our hotel are greatly appreciated and we would love to have you back soon!

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.7 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#4 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
2.4 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
1.5 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#13 of 14 in Provincetown
3.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
1.7 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#7 of 14 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Hotel Provincetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Property: Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Address: 698 Commercial Street, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657 (Formerly The Cape Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor Hotel Provincetown 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel facing Provincetown Harbor is half a mile from the Cape Cod National Seashore and 1.5 miles from the Pilgrim Monument. Brightly decorated rooms and suites (some with water views) feature flat-screen TVs and free WiFi. Some connecting and pet-friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Harbor Hotel Provincetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Provincetown
The Cape Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing