We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some very nice things, some not so much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2013

My six year old son and I stayed there for a night over the Thanksgiving weekend.

First, the bad-
i) I booked through Expedia and after booking was told they had overbooked and could not honor our room request. After calling Expedia they sorted it out and gave us an upgrade, which was good, but the process was a little stressful and aggravating. Don't know if it was the fault of Expedia or the hotel.
ii) we went to check-in around 1pm and was told it was too early, come back later. We had plans with friends at a neighboring town, around 15 miles away and so didn't come back until around 11pm. The front door was locked and no one was at the desk. There was a sign with a number to call for late arrivals. I called and it rang about 15 times before I gave up and went back to our friends' who were happily able to have us crash on their floor.

iii) Upon returning the next day they sorted out the situation, but first I had to endure the receptionist taking 10 minutes just to find our name, and then tell us the room was not ready even though it was 6pm. She got the manager when I explained the situation but that took around 15 minutes. The manager tried to explain their policy of late arrivals and how the Expedia website explains this, etc etc. and it felt like I was being blamed for them not doing their job. They seemed very disorganized, chaotic and confused, and not eager to please.
It was an extremely aggravating experience.

iv) Though it has been refurbished, it still is a motel on the outside, with that motel parking lot look and feel and kinda seedy.

The good news-
i) The location is fantastic, right by a beautiful bay on the edge of town. If you can get a room with a view of the bay it is well worth it.
ii) They have a very nice fire pit where it is a pleasure to sit at and watch the water and the sunset, night sky, just about anything.
iii) The rooms were re-done in a very nice Miami Beach kind of contemporary pastel vibe.
iv) They upgraded us to a two room suite which was very nice.

Soo- if you make sure not to arrive late and don't need anything special from the staff and understand it still is really at heart a motel, you should have a nice stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Gilhoop S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

There’s no better way to stay in Provincetown than with a beautiful view of Cape Cod’s waters. Although we’re happy that you enjoyed our beachfront location, it’s unfortunate that other aspects of your stay weren’t as satisfying. Check-in begins at 3 PM and while we do our best to accommodate early arrivals, we cannot guarantee them. We sincerely apologize for the situation you encountered upon your return and we will look into what happened regarding your call. For future stays, you can always request a late check-in to ensure assistance at your convenience. It sounds like we were able to make things right and we’re glad that you enjoyed your suite. We take the concerns of our guests very seriously and we appreciate you sharing them with us. It is our hope that you’ll return again in the future for a much-improved stay.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

Provincetown is GREAT in November. Good eating, NO CROWDS, free parking everywhere, good shopping, had much to do, weather was what I expected it to be. This surprises everyone who has never been there in November and no one who has. The HARBOR HOTEL was a very important part of my stay. I arrived when they were having a special and paid a lot less than I expected and a lot less than in the summer. I stayed in the back and it was quiet and the room was great. Every staff member was top of the line. I had seven excellent nights of sleep. I plan to stay there again when I visit the Lower Cape in November 2014.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back, closest to Rt 6, have least traffic and most private balconies/patios. The patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Autumn is indeed a wonderful time to visit Downtown Provincetown! We’re thrilled that your time with us was positive in every way. When you’re traveling, it’s always nice to catch up on some sleep and it sounds like you enjoyed a week of quality rest and relaxation! We’re grateful for your kind review and we’re looking forward to seeing you again at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

we stay at the harbor hotel at least once a year,and its always nice to see the changes they have made over the year,this year none that i could see,but i guess all of the back buildings are going to be re-done,which is great seeiing they were alittle worn since our last visit but still clean and comfortable..will be great to stay again next year

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are hard to beat and worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for your continued loyalty to the Harbor Hotel Provincetown! It’s great to hear that we have provided you another pleasant experience. The comfort of our guests is a top priority and it sounds like we succeeded in providing you that. We can’t wait to have you back next year.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

we were upgraded to a waterfront room, beautiful view of Provincetown Harbor. clean, quite, comfortable beds, friendly staff - would recommend and would stay again. continental breakfast in the lobby, free Wi-Fi, which as fast and easy to connect to, in-room frig and microwave, Keurig coffee maker

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Our oceanfront views give you a front row seat to watch boats, beautiful sunsets, and tides rolling in! We’re delighted to discover that the Harbor Hotel Provincetown provided you a peaceful getaway. Thank you for your warm review of our location and we would love to have you back soon!

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were unable to stay in our usual rental, as the property was freezing and dark, due to a power outage caused by a wind storm. I called Harbor Hotel, as it was close by. I was told they were closing the front desk in 10 minutes, but they would wait for us to get there. We were given a very nice clean, warm, attractive room. We were very pleased to stay here. There even is a breakfast included in the reasonable price. We recommend Harbor Hotel to anyone looking for a decent and affordable place to stay in Provincetown.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

At the Harbor Hotel Provincetown, we’re always willing to do what we can to provide our guests with an exemplary experience. Every person who walks through our doors is important to us and it’s wonderful that we were able to make up for an unfortunate situation that occurred at another hotel. We’re thrilled that we were able to keep you cozy during your time with us. Thank you very much for sharing your experience! Come visit us again the next time you’re in Provincetown.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

On our first night at P'town Thanksgiving week, the resort we were booked at lost power. The Harbor was closest nearby and we were glad to get a room. Very pleased with the accommodations! Spacious well maintained room, comfortable beds, nicely set up bathroom with an excellent shower. We're happy to have discovered the Harbor and will definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Breakfast included - a nice added bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theDavidWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

We’re glad that the Harbor Hotel Provincetown was able to save the day! It’s great that our accommodations and complimentary deluxe continental breakfast exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your kind recommendation of our hotel! We hope that you’ll come see us again.

Sincerely,
Michael Dougherty
Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel was nice, nothing fancy, but the rooms were good size and they have very comfy beds. You can walk into town in about 20 minutes. We walked along the beach. Very fun. They have a nice bar and outside a fire pit. Nice place to hang out with friends. We were there the first part of Nov. and got such a great deal on our rooms. The rooms were the price of whatever the temp was at 2:00 that day. We got our room for $59. What a deal. You have to ask for this deal when you book the room. So overall a nice stay for a great price. They do have rooms that look out over the water but we did not get one of those rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get one with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Sitting by a fire on the beach is the perfect way to spend an autumn evening. Thank you for sharing your experience at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown! We’re glad that you experienced rest and relaxation on your fall getaway with us. It would be a pleasure to have you back soon!


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.7 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
925 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
1.5 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#14 of 15 in Provincetown
244 reviews
2.3 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
688 reviews
2.4 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Hotel Provincetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Address: 698 Commercial St, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657-1761 (Formerly The Cape Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range: $117 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor Hotel Provincetown 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel facing Provincetown Harbor is half a mile from the Cape Cod National Seashore and 1.5 miles from the Pilgrim Monument. Brightly decorated rooms and suites (some with water views) feature flat-screen TVs and free WiFi. Some connecting and pet-friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harbor Hotel Provincetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Provincetown
The Cape Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing