We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It worked.........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It worked.........”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just a one night stay. Great view of the ocean in a 50's style redone motel. A little over priced for what you get but that's probably the deal in that area. Pool area ok but could use some cleaning up.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor away from office area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
While we’re glad that your stay with us was satisfactory, we wish that it was more than just that. Our guests’ opinions are very important to us and we’ll be sure to take yours into consideration regarding our pool area. We hope that we will be able to provide you with a stay in the future that is more than just ordinary.


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager

Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    297
    158
    51
    44
See reviews for
265
344
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Harbor Hotel. We found the staff pleasant and the room attractive and clean, although the toilet was a bit unsteady. Pillows were way too soft and firmer ones were not available. Free wi-fi was available throughout the property. We enjoyed the free cold breakfast our first morning, but the fresh fruit salad was sour our second morning. Our waterfront room had a wonderful view of the bay just across the road from the hotel. We did not use the large pool. The hotel is a mile or so from the bustle of downtown Provincetown, but there is a shuttle bus that runs every half hour until midnight to and from the center of downtown (fare is $2/$1 for seniors).

Room Tip: If you like a firm pillow, bring your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
The shuttle is such a great way to head to the center of town and we’re glad you were able to take advantage of it! Thank you for sharing your experience at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown with us. Although we’re happy that you had a pleasurable stay, we do apologize that you experienced some minor issues with your room and for the fruit salad. We would love to have you back again soon.


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Harbor Hotel made us feel welcome from the moment we got to the front desk. Peter McHenry, Customer Service Manager welcomed us with a smile and handshake. We had a courtyard suite which was very clean, a king size bed and all the bells and whistles including a flat screen TV. Other than customer service, which was outstanding and is one of my top priorities in a hotel, the Harbor Hotel also has a cozy firepit to sit around at night and watch the stars over the water. The shuttle to P-Town stops right in front of the hotel for easy and cheap travel into P-Town. If you are visiting P-Town for the first time, this hotel is far enough from town to get away from the crowds that can be a bit overwhelming this time of year but is definitely close enough to be part of the excitement of P-Town. I'd go back right now if I could.

Room Tip: Bay rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msscr1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We wish that we could have you back at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown now as well! Hopefully you’ll have an opportunity to return again soon. It’s wonderful that your overall experience was so incredible and that you really enjoyed your time with us. Your compliments are greatly appreciated by us and we will share them with the staff member you specifically mentioned; he will definitely be happy to hear that he was such a positive part of your stay!


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and it will be the last time. Very disappointed in how STARK our room was. It had a medicinal odor to it, there was rust in the shower, behind the toilet and the mirror on the bathroom door was pitted, showing its age. The floors are not carpeted, I analyzed the floor before & after housekeeping and no surprise - they DID NOT mop! We had a quick dinner downstairs in their restaurant and the service was terrible. The restrooms in the lobby were not kept and there was a half eaten container of yogurt sitting outside our window sill for 2 nights -housekeeping walked by it and never disposed of it. Highly disappointed, dirty and not updated - I would not recommend this hotel to family or friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newportgir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We’re upset to hear that your stay was not what you hoped for. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff works diligently to ensure that our accommodations are exceptional and clearly we missed the mark with you. We sincerely apologize for the condition of your room. Your feedback is very important to us, so we will share your comments with our staff in order to improve. Please consider staying with us again so we can show you how fantastic our hotel really is.


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This past weekend I had the pleasure of staying at the Harbor Hotel in Provincetown. Initially we were only planning on staying one night and had booked a courtyard suite. The staff at the front desk was pleasant and Peter McHenry, the Guest Service Manager, could not had been friendlier and made us feel right at home. When we got to our room it was exactly as shown on their website. The room was immaculately clean, bright and welcoming. The fire pit was a great place to relax next to and reflect on the day with my wife.

We enjoyed the hotel so much we extend our time there and switched to a Bay View room. This was a standard room with two double beds, but as with the suite, the room was clean and well appointed. There was a blues band playing at the bar that evening that rounded off our stay in Provincetown. Although this was our first time staying at this hotel, you can be certain it will not be our last.
Thank you Harbor Hotel staff for your warmth and friendliness, see you soon….

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
The fact that you extended your stay at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown is an incredible thing for us to hear! Our staff is always happy to assist our guests and it’s great to hear that interacting with them was a highlight on your stay. We’ll be sure to share your comments with the staff member you specifically mentioned; I’m sure your kind words will make his day! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It would be wonderful to have you as a guest again!


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager

Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I cannot tell you how pleasant my experience was at the harbor hotel. My friend and I had the most wonderful time. Everyone was just lovely. Keith, the bartender at the pool, was just incredible. We loved getting to know him. We also met this darling girl named Lexi who worked at the bar inside the hotel. She saw to our every need and was an absolute professional. We also loved getting to know her as her wonderful personality was exposed in everything she did. That is my favorite part about the Harbor Hotel in general- it's personality. Everything from the whimsical decor to the incredible staff was perfect from beginning to end. Do not even consider staying anywhere else while visiting Provincetown- Harbor Hotel is the perfect fit for everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahevert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Your kind words for our hotel are incredible for us to hear! Thank you for sharing your experience at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown with us. We’re thrilled that everything about your stay was exceptional. Our staff is dedicated to providing our guests the best service around and it’s great to know that we’re hitting the mark! We’ll be sure to share your comments with the staff members you specifically mentioned - they’ll definitely be happy to hear them! It would be wonderful to have you as a guest again on your next trip.


Sincerely,

Michael Dougherty

Acting General Manager
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed at the Harbor Hotel during a recent visit to Provincetown. We were in town for a wedding and this was the hotel the couple had chosen to block off rooms for out of town guests.

We arrived in town Friday, and after a morning of strolling up and down Commercial Street, decided to call and see if our room was ready (around 1:30-2pm). Much to our excitement, we were told it was, in fact, available. When we got to the hotel and told the girl behind the counter we wished to check in, we were greeted with an attitude as she told us "well check-in isn't until 3 but I guess I can look and see if it's ready". She became slightly more friendly after we told her we called already and were informed that the room was ready... We checked-in, got our keys and headed over to our room. When we opened the door we found the room in a state of disarray.. The sheets were ripped off the beds, the trash can was full, and the toilet had been left "unflushed". It appeared there was no communication between housekeeping and the front desk, as the room had clearly not been turned over yet. I could chalk this up to a simple mistake, but the SAME THING, happened to family members who checked in earlier that day... they were told their room was ready, were given their keys, and found their room in the same state. We called the front desk and were told we could come back to the lobby and wait until the room was ready. To me, this was unacceptable. We were told the room was available and had already left the center of town to go to our room based off this information. Housekeeping happened to be working on a room nearby and when they saw us in the room (and after explaining the situation), the housekeeper graciously offered to turn the room over right away while we waited there. She was the only friendly and helpful staff member I encountered during the stay. *I should also note, that while the front desk people appear almost offended when you try to check in before 3pm, they apparently have no problems making you wait.. My two brothers who checked in the previous night both couldn't get into their rooms until after 5pm (two separate rooms).*

I don't know if maybe we were placed in a room that had not been renovated yet, but the state of the room was below average. The wall was crumbling in the bathroom, along with ring stains on the counter, and a toilet seat that felt like it was going to break if you sat on it. We attempted to open the sliding door to the "patio" and the screen door fell completely off the track and we needed maintenance to come in an fix it. The sliding door itself was nearly impossible to open. For what we paid per night, I can't help but feel completely ripped off.

- When we went to the front desk to ask about any restaurants nearby that would deliver, they were rude and basically just pointed to the stack of flyers on the book shelf to the left of the desk.

- I don't understand why a hotel restaurant take-out menu is left in the room, but when calling to order lunch, are told we have to order at the pool bar.

This hotel is just NOT worth the money you fork out to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Harbor Hotel Guest,


I read your Trip Advisor review with considerable surprise and dismay. Typically our General Manager responds to all reviews, but in this instance I am compelled to respond on behalf of staff and my partners. We are sincerely sorry for your unhappiness, and I will offer no excuses. I can say that your experience is a true aberration for the Harbor Hotel, where literally thousands of guests a week are very happy and satisfied, and have a great time at our hotel and in Provincetown. The administrative process between our Housekeeping Department and our Reception Desk broke down, and I can only apologize profusely. I am also troubled by the fact that our staff was not its typical friendly self. I have personally talked to everyone of our associates whom you encountered. Our General Manager is going to reach out to you privately and directly with an appropriate expression of our apology.


Sincerely,

Gary L Avigne

Managing Partner
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.7 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#4 of 15 in Provincetown
857 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
1.5 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
317 reviews
2.3 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Hotel Provincetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Property: Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Address: 698 Commercial St, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657-1761 (Formerly The Cape Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor Hotel Provincetown 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel facing Provincetown Harbor is half a mile from the Cape Cod National Seashore and 1.5 miles from the Pilgrim Monument. Brightly decorated rooms and suites (some with water views) feature flat-screen TVs and free WiFi. Some connecting and pet-friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor Hotel Provincetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Provincetown
The Cape Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing