We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good price, nice people, not great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Bragg, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“good price, nice people, not great facilities”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is the old Howard Johnson's hotel on the bay side in Provincetown, now turned into a more upscale hotel. Their website works well; the front desk folks are helpful, beds are comfortable, but it is lacking in some regards. There is no cell service or wifi in the rooms; we were quite cold even after leaving the heat on for hours and needed a space heater (which the hotel provided); the plaster and tile was broken in parts of the bathroom; and the wind blew in between the glass sliders. It feels like the hotel would do much better sticking to the spring and summer months. It is, however, very reasonably priced (we paid $72 for the night) and it includes a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown with us. While it seems that there were several areas of your stay that were enjoyable, we regret that other aspects did not meet your expectations. It does get quite cold in the winter here in P-town and it was our pleasure to provide you with an additional space heater for your room. Thank you for alerting us to needed repairs in your bathroom. We’d love to welcome you back during the warmer months to experience the beauty and uniqueness of P-town and our hotel. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    297
    158
    51
    44
See reviews for
265
344
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

What a fantastic place!!!! I could have stayed here a week but unfortunately was only here 2 nights.

Arrived and was welcomed warmly. Our room was a typical motel which i imagined was built in the 60s but the standard of it was well up to date and comfortable.

That evening had opportunity of seeing a movie in their bar/cinema for free, but as we had a long drive decided just to eat in.

Had good meal and loved their illuminated menus which lit up when opened.

Outside were gas lit fire pits to sit around and to chat with other guests about what we had all been up to.

On the outskirts of Province town the walk in is possible but if you want to drive parking can be found near the harbour.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 2nd floor for great views of the sea. Get up early to have an oportunity of seein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirRogue58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown and for posting your lovely pictures! We’re thrilled that you enjoyed our renovated rooms and the welcoming atmosphere of our fire pit, and certainly appreciate your helpful suggestions for other guests. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another exceptional stay and we thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
215 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Checked into this hotel late...treated well by the front desk manager...large room with good heat...huge parking lot...internet access only in the lobby...small bar and restaurant with good food...open areas are cold in the winter...really what you want in a hotel is a clean warm room, good bed, and hot shower in the morning...they did all of the above very well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kurt5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. It does get quite cold in Ptown during the winter months and we’re thrilled that we were able to make your stay here warm and inviting. Thank you for your kind words for our staff and restaurant; we’ll be sure to share your comments with them. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again very soon and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS VEGAS
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

What a pleasant surprise. The last time I stayed at the Harbor Hotel was a couple of years ago while it was under renovation and my experience was not a good one. Not because it was under renovation but because the hotel guests didn't seem to be a priority. I am so glad I decided to give the place another chance. The renovated place is a bit funky now, cool, a sort of boutique look. My room was very clean, the bed comfortable, furniture didn't hog the room. And I had a refrigerator, always a plus for me. There's also a restaurant on the premises with light fare at great prices. Perfect for what I was looking for and much less expensive than what you will find in Provincetown for comparable fare.I also want to make mention of the staff. I was blown away by the EXCEPTIONAL customer service. Peter and David are the epitome of providing outstanding service as a matter of course. I called a few hours before my arrival time to see what time the restaurant closed. I was informed that the restaurant closed at 9:00pm and when I told Peter I wouldn't arrive until a little before 9:00 he immediately transferred me to David in the restaurant who suggested I place an order and assured me it would be ready, and hot, when I arrived. No sooner had I checked in when David appeared with my dinner. This tired, hungry traveler couldn't have been happier. The service the next day was just as stellar. Thank you, Peter and David. I wish every business was fortunate to have employees like you. I look forward to staying with you again.

Room Tip: Ask Peter, the desk clerk, for best rooms. He'll take excellent care of you. My room was located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We are truly honored that you chose the Harbor Hotel Provincetown for your stay in Ptown! Our guests are our highest priority and it certainly makes us smile to know that your entire experience exceeded your expectations. With feedback from our guests, we have been able to incorporate aspects of what they enjoyed most at our hotel and what may have needed improvement. The results of those efforts have been so wonderful! Thank you for taking the time to share your story and for the fantastic compliments for our staff and facilities. We are definitely looking forward to your next visit with us and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
197 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed last weekend at this hotel this past weekend. Upon check-in, everything was seamless, as if they had been awaiting our arrival. We were greeted warmly and we were in our room within five minutes. It was a nice sized room, king bed, nice white bed linens and pastel walls, a mountain of crisp white pillows and a dreamy comforter. The bathroom was very clean with sink in the room and toilet and tub/shower separate, refrigerator, microwave, hangers, iron and board, flat-screen TV, ample drawers, bedside tables and individual reading lights (great touch) plus easy chair and beautiful window overlooking Cape Cod Bay! I am usually an early riser, but with the black-out shade, we slept in very late Saturday morning, which was a real treat. The linens were so soft and cozy, we were utterly seduced by the comfort of the bed!

Our room had a Keurig machine, which was great (had we known, we would have brought our own favorite coffee pods, but this was not stated on the website; not sure if all rooms have them or not). The floor was concrete, which we thought might be cold, but surprisingly, it was totally not. The individual heat is very powerful and although our room was chilly upon arrival, it was toasty warm in a very few minutes. I would imagine the AC is equally as powerful in the summer. The unit is a little noisy, but it was not an issue for us; for light sleepers, you might want to get your room to your ideal temperature before settling down to sleep.

We went down to the lobby to use the WiFi (immediate and strong connection) and saw they have an all-day coffee bar, so we helped ourselves to the coffee; it was delicious, robust and very hot. Perfect. The high top tables in the lobby are great for computing, plus they have bookcases all around with take one/leave one books of every description; another nice touch. There are sofas and soft seating and the staff was decorating for the holidays, which was homey and fun. Nice music to take the edge off the hustle and bustle of the front desk, which was extremely busy. The front desk staff was very capable and we overheard Peter doing a terrific job of accommodating each guest's request and answering their questions.

There is a restaurant on-site which has a Friday fish-fry. We would have loved to eat there except we had already made advance dinner plans both nights elsewhere. Before we left, we looked in to the restaurant and, admittedly, the fish fry looked very tempting. In fact, we almost changed our plans, but we were unable to reach our friends. Before we left, we sat outside near the fire pit, which was really glorious. It was quite a chilly night but we were quite comfortable and it was really a nice experience sitting outside, overlooking the Bay with white caps, yet being toasty and comfortable by the fire pit. When we returned later that evening, there was a sizable group outside and they were having a great time out there.

We came back to the bar after dinner and had a nightcap. It was quiet this night, but the barkeep was affable and we sat right next to the cozy Scandinavian style fireplace (gas), which was directly in front of the big picture window. It was really enjoyable sitting there and the drinks were very good. They closed rather early, 11pm, so we figured it was time to call it a night, although we were up for a few hours of fun. No biggie.

The first morning, we awoke near 9am, a rarity. My husband went down and brought up a few cups of that delicious coffee which was great! On Sunday morning, I awoke rather early, 6am, only to learn that the lobby does not open until 8am. For early risers, check if your room will have a K-cup machine and bring your own pod, although they did supply some.

Overall, we had a terrific stay. The staff was great, our room was very clean and comfortable, free on-site parking, excellent complimentary coffee and easy check-in and -out. I cannot imagine what more anyone could want. This is a no-frills hotel, but it does offer a great location on the outskirts of the central town core with easy access to Commercial and Bradford Streets and Route 6. The Cape Cod Bay view from front-facing rooms is superb. In addition, they do have pet-friendly rooms (not sure if they permit guests to leave dogs unattended because, admittedly, we did hear one dog barking nonstop for about an hour one night) and it would appear to be a great property for families with children.

We would highly recommend this hotel for those people looking for a more institutional type building rather than a B & B. It is immaculate, very comfortable, provides great guest service and has all the amenities (except in-room WiFi, which would really be nice but the lobby WiFi was very good and, let's face it, if you're in Ptown, you should be out, not tied to a computer anyway).

Room Tip: The best rooms are definitely located on the front of the building with water views. The down-side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wpdesousa-mauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
It was truly a treat for us at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown to have been able to create such a positive experience for you. What an amazing description of exactly what we want our hotel to be each of our guests…a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle, a relaxing and enjoyable environment for any type of traveler and a convenient, welcoming location just right for exploring PTown. You’ve summed it all up perfectly! We are so pleased that our staff’s efforts were so generously acknowledged in your review and we truly look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Thank you for your wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Windsor, NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Location: The Harbor's location is by far its best attribute. If you're visiting P-town, you can't do much better, and it's nice to be right across from tidal flats on the bay. At low tide in season, you can wade out pretty far. The walk in to town isn't bad; I didn't use the available shuttle.

Amenities: To lend some perspective: I first stayed in this motel in the very early 90's...it was a Holiday Inn (before Holiday started trying to make itself more upmarket). Considering those humble roots, the current owners have worked miracles on the dated buildings; the lobby is absolutely beautiful and the rooms are well-decorated. I appreciate that the owners paid homage to the motel's mid-century roots rather than trying to turn it into a contemporary hotel. They have a nice looking pool and a fun firepit.

On the negative side; the continental breakfast was sad. If you're going to offer a breakfast, either go all out or don't try - it's not like it's required. There was no fresh fruit or waffle iron, and the selection of pastries was abysmal: frozen bagels (SACRILEGE TO THIS NEW YORKER), frozen english muffins, or plain ol' white toast. Perhaps the worst part of the breakfast is that it isn't available until 8:30am...that's practially brunch. When I'm on vacation, I like to get going early to pack more into my day - eating at 8:30 is way too late. Most hotels open their breakfast areas at 6:00 or 7:00 am...why is this one different? See below under "service" for more breakfast annoyances.

Service: Breakfast service was awkward...the first day I stayed, they didn't have any spoons (!) or milk for the cereal until 9:00am. There is no slop sink or bus bin for liquid waste (like milk from the cereal or the last few sips of coffee). Other than the breakfast stuff, service was friendly and helpful.

Overall: At off-season prices, this motel is a steal. In-season...I'd have to see what they charge. Make alternate breakfast plans to save yourself some aggravation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. We’re very happy to hear that you appreciated our efforts to not only improve but preserve the charm of our hotel’s former days. While it seems there were many areas of your stay that were enjoyable, we are disappointed to learn that your dining experience did not meet your expectations. We are continually seeking way to improve, so your suggestions are truly appreciated. Thank you again, for your attention to detail and for reaching out to us in this forum. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

had a great stay..stayed at the hotel nov 23-25 and found it very good,stayed in one of the back rooms which was all nice and new .flat screen tv kerige coffee maker..and carpet stay in one one the ocean view rooms last year and no carpet..the only problem we had this stay was no soap which the frount office quickly fixed .so thanks for the great stay

Room Tip: back rooms are much better than you would think and a great deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We love hearing from our return guests and are so pleased to hear that your second stay with us was even more enjoyable. Our staff is committed to taking care of our guests and we appreciate you letting us know when something was amiss with your room so we could quickly remedy the situation. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Harbor Hotel Provincetown very soon and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.7 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#4 of 15 in Provincetown
858 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
1.5 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
317 reviews
2.3 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Hotel Provincetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Property: Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Address: 698 Commercial St, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657-1761 (Formerly The Cape Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor Hotel Provincetown 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel facing Provincetown Harbor is half a mile from the Cape Cod National Seashore and 1.5 miles from the Pilgrim Monument. Brightly decorated rooms and suites (some with water views) feature flat-screen TVs and free WiFi. Some connecting and pet-friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor Hotel Provincetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Provincetown
The Cape Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing