We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idealey Located, Informal trendy Hotel with Trust Issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Idealey Located, Informal trendy Hotel with Trust Issues”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel is such a wonderful concept. Our room was spotless and minimalist in design and furniture - open the large patio door and let the outside smells and sounds be the decor. Very comfortable queen beds with down comforters, pillows and good sheets. Large well kept pool area. Loved the nightly bon-fire. Generous complimentary single breakfast items and very nice morning wait staff.
What more do you need at a Cape hotel? Answer: a bit more service. Asked for bottle opener for wine; said we needed to bring bottle down to front desk for opening. We honestly had no intention of stealing the opener and it feels a bit odd walking around hotel halls with an open bottle of wine. No towels at pool. Had to bring towels from room and then ask for new ones. The towels for after-pool showers never came. Luckily we saved our damp pool towels. It appears hotel management is concerned that the clientele may be groups of college-age students with the potential for trashing the place. Bring the service up a notch so you can keep attracting families, couples, and individuals who can afford your prices and have no need to keep your bottle openers and towels. Anyway, thanks for an overall good stay.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherman220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We are very happy to read that you received a restful night’s sleep and had the opportunity to relax at our popular fire-pit. However, we are disappointed that we did not meet your service expectations and will be sure to re-emphasize with our staff the importance of customer service. At the Harbor Hotel Provincetown, we strive to provide every guest with an enjoyable and consistent experience and do apologize for any frustrations that occurred. We are happy to see that you had an enjoyable stay, despite your experience and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    314
    166
    54
    44
See reviews for
283
362
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed two nights at the hotel. Overall property was clean, staff was friendly. We did not spend a huge amount of time at the hotel as we were busy in town and at the beach during the day.
Room was efficient enough for us. At first we didn't think the beds would be comfortable but they turned out to be great.

Fire Pit area seemed nice but by the time we got back it was turned off the first night, the second night it rained. Lobby area nice.
Had some quesadilla's at the cabana bar by the pool ~ they were pretty tasty. If I ever go back to the Cape I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fsevio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We are very pleased to learn that you will make staying at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown a sure thing when you are in the area. It is disappointing to learn that you missed out on a chance to enjoy the fire pit, but we are happy that you were able to sleep well and relax by the pool with a great meal. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at the Harbor Hotel. Although I live in Brewster on Cape Cod, Provincetown, 45 minutes away, is still one of my favorite vacation spots. This summer i brought along my 14 year old niece and her best friend - also 14. My previously preferred Inn was sold out at this busy time of the summer, so I took a chance online and reserved apparently the last available room in Provincetown. My expectations were not high although I didn't share my concerns with the girls. The Harbor Hotel was great from start to finish... such a friendly, helpful front desk. Gave us great advice on everything from dune tours, to Flex bus, to pizza delivery. We lounged by the pool where we were waited on with towels, food and beverages. A few feet away we swam in Cape Cod Bay. Crispy clean comfortable beds, our car was parked right outside our patio door - how very convenient! My girls noted on their facebook pages that they were in para-para-dise! AND most importantly, our room rate was about half of what I would have paid at any other in town destination...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pellis1715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
How lovely that the Harbor Hotel Provincetown can now be your favorite stay-cation spot in Cape Cod. Spending a girl’s weekend away with your niece can be priceless and we’re thrilled that our hotel was able to accommodate you and help to create lasting family memories. We love reading reviews like this and we will be sure to share your gracious comments with our staff. Thank you for your gracious comments and we look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

If I could, I would give it a 3.5. The Harbor Hotel was great for a quick getaway, but didn't go above and beyond.

The pros: Great location near a beach, near town, simple but clean rooms, breakfast included
The cons: Overpriced, felt like a motel, strange breakfast service (have fill out slips of paper and mostly get ignored. Plus, food was mostly the cheap, processed kind), staff seemed overwhelmed, double beds were really small.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara K, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. While it seems that there were many areas of your stay that were enjoyable, we are disappointed to learn that certain aspects of your experience did not meet your expectations. Along with our recent and ongoing renovations, we are continually seeking ways to improve our guest’s experiences, so your suggestions and helpful descriptions are truly appreciated. We will absolutely re-emphasize with our staff the necessity of utmost care and concern when it comes to food service. Thank you again, for your attention to detail and for reaching out to us after your stay. We would hope to be able to regain your confidence and welcome you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I did not have very high expectations here but was very pleasantly surprised. The photos show a typical motel probably built in the 50's or 60's. I don't usually stay at motels because of the lack of privacy with rooms whose windows and doors open onto a common outside walkway. But the Harbor Hotel has solved this problem with black mesh privacy screens that let light into the room but give you privacy from within. They also have room darkening shades as well on the windows. The room is small and spare with modern furnishings, flat screen TV, an updated sink and older shower area. But everything was very clean. The beds are new and comfortable. The pillows and comforters are clean and crisp and luxurious.

Our second floor room overlooked the edge of the pool and was very quiet. The doors to the rooms are new and heavy and I was surprised at how much sound they block out from outside. We were here last weekend on a busy summer weekend and there was very little noise from outside or from other rooms. The air conditioner is rather noisy, but fortunately the weather was cool enough that we did not need to use it.

A continental breakfast is included with the room rate. The breakfast includes choices from various categories, such as cereal, croissant or danish, yogurt or granola (for some weird reason, one cannot order yogurt AND granola!?). For an additional $5, you can order a hot breakfast of eggs, bacon or sausage. You give your order to the wait staff and they bring out your food to you, so there is no buffet of food sitting out for hours. This was the first week of this new system of ordering breakfast and there was a significant wait for breakfast on our first morning. Things ran a little smoother on our second morning. The quality of the food was good (except that my husband thought the coffee could be improved).

We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Although we did not use them, we liked that they offered complimentary bicycles for guests' use. I very much liked the pool which was very clean and large enough to swim laps. There were plenty of chaise lounge chairs and having wait staff at the pool was a plus. It would have been nice to have towels available at the pool. When I inquired about this, I was told that you were supposed to use the towels from the room (and there was an extra towel or two in our room). The fire pit was a nice place to sit and chill at night and it soon became a favorite spot for socializing with the other guests.

Overall, I was very pleased with the Harbor Hotel and would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor facing the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandrasmom817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to contribute such a great review of the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. We sincerely appreciate all the feedback you provided regarding how much you enjoyed your accommodations, our pool and fire-pit and our complimentary breakfast. Your suggestion to provide towels poolside will be considered and we are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We travel to Ptown at least three times a year and have stayed in many places. We stayed at the Harbor Hotel when it was the old Cape Inn, so because we could not stay in our favorite place, The Surfside, because there were no available rooms, I gave this place another try. Long story short, the rooms might be renovated, but you still feel like you are in a garage. The floor is cold and cement. Rugs on the cold floor would be nice. There is one chair in the room, and no place to really sit and relax. The breakfast situation is a joke. You get these slips you fill out and bring with you for breakfast, but we waited for over twenty minutes before anybody even came to the table, and that was after complaining to the manager. The food was cold and served on trays that were too big and clunky. Many people around me were making comments about cold food and how nobody was helping them at the tables. It was embarrassing to some degree. The coffee station was a mess. It seemed like nobody knew who was in charge of what. When we left today, there were others at the desk complaining about their stay. When we left, we stopped by the Surfside to book our next stay in October, and while we were there for a short time, another couple walked in complaining about the Harbor Hotel for the same reasons. For the price you pay, you should expect to be able to at least get a hot bagel. We could not bring a bottle opener to the room. We had to bring the bottle to them!!! Control issues seem evident, and they do not try to accomodate the customer. As helpful as Chris tried to be, there is not excuse for such a poorly run operation. I am going to complain to the inn keepers association down there, considering their is a tax for that on top of the room fee!!! They are not inn keepers at the Harbor Hotel. They are more like peace keepers, for they have to figure out ways to keep people happy. The only plus, the pool side bartender and wait staff knew what they were doing, but that's not enough to give this place a good reputation.

Room Tip: Don't go, simple as that. The Surfside knows what they are doing. They have a gorgeous pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our hotel. While we are always disappointed to hear about a challenging stay, we will use your feedback to create opportunities for improvement and bring awareness to the need of delivering a wonderful experience for our guests. We are concerned to hear about any inconveniences you experienced and rest assured we will be working diligently to make the experience for all of our guests more enjoyable in the future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmony ny
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I could not sleep with the pool noise peiple walking around until the wee hours room very unconfortable small and without any charm floors slippery and sweat with the heat watch you do not fall terrible 5 days left early lost money but it was better than stayimg
Barbara Hans Glenmont ny 12077

Room Tip: do not go there!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We never like to hear that a guest left early; it is certainly disheartening. If there are any issues that arise during our guest’s stays, we encourage them to let us know immediately so that we may address them immediately. It is our goal to create a comfortable and pleasant stay for all our guests. Please accept our apologies that your experience was not as you had anticipated nor what we aim to provide our guests. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.7 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
879 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
2.4 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
634 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
1.7 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Hotel Provincetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Property: Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Address: 698 Commercial St, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657-1761 (Formerly The Cape Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor Hotel Provincetown 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel facing Provincetown Harbor is half a mile from the Cape Cod National Seashore and 1.5 miles from the Pilgrim Monument. Brightly decorated rooms and suites (some with water views) feature flat-screen TVs and free WiFi. Some connecting and pet-friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor Hotel Provincetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Provincetown
The Cape Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing