We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Very relaxing stay!”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had a room on the pool side of the Hotel and we really enjoyed our stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We completely loved the dinner we had there on our last night and the movie! We have been going to Ptown for over 13 years and this will be the first time that we want to go back to the same place!! Because I'm a coffee fiend, my only disappointment was the coffee bar. If it was called a coffee station then that would be fine but, a "Coffee Bar" usually has 3 or 4 different roasts of coffee, a "coffee flavor" of the day as well as an espresso machine. Also there was only milk...ugh. half and half is exceptable, cream is the best :) I did find that the coffee was burnt. I think going to a Keurig k-cup system would be your best bet. I use to sell them for Green Mountain and they are a perfect cup every time and no burnt issues!!!
Overall a wonderful experience and a great 3 day stay on our Anniversary!!
Thanks guys!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your stay at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown and please accept our heartfelt Happy Anniversary wishes! We love receiving suggestions from our guests as it helps us to determine in what areas we are succeeding as well as those that need improvement. We're looking forward to your next visit with us and absolutely appreciate your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    326
    178
    58
    47
See reviews for
301
379
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We are a family of four who really enjoyed the direct access to the beach across the road from the hotel, but we found the very active pool area to be loud. Even with closed windows, the shrieks could be heard. But nice if smallish rooms, friendly staff and nice pool too. Longer walk into the town center than we had thought but love the setting anyway. Very basic breakfast but enough choice to satisfy all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
We truly appreciate you entrusting the care of your family to the Harbor Hotel Provincetown. It’s wonderful to learn that you enjoyed our pool, even with a busy group playing in the water. For future reference, we do have complimentary bikes available for our guests on a first-come, first-serve basis that make it easy and enjoyable to trek into town. We hope to welcome you and your family back for another great stay in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The bed was comfortable and the decor was nice, but everything was so dirty! We had a suite with a fold out couch, under which I found pieces of dog food and popcorn. There was something red splashed on the side of the dresser (Cough syrup? Fruit punch?) That had obviously been there for a while and was completely dry. Outside our door was a nice sandy area, but it must have had over 100 cigarette butts in it. There were no chairs to sit on outside, so you couldn't really enjoy being there anyway. Also outside our door there was a dog poop bag dispenser (which was empty) next to a garbage can which was spilling over. We asked them to empty it, but nobody did in the 4 days we were there.

We were there over April vacation, and I was a little disappointed that the pool was drained, especially because it was really hot out. Also the outside bar was closed. Other than all that, it was okay. The lobby was very nice, with books and games, and breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JackieQ58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
This April has been unseasonably warm, but because the spring weather can be unpredictable, we schedule for the pool to open on Memorial Day Weekend, ensuring warmer temperatures for all. Although it seems you enjoyed a comfortable sleep while here, we do regret that you encountered inconveniences, and appreciate you making us aware of these issues. We will be sure to re-emphasize our strict quality standards to our housekeeping and grounds staff in order to create the exceptional experience we expect for all our guests. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Just outside Provincetown, about 20 min walk into town. Hotel was adequate, staff were friendly enough on check in. The bathrooms are older with new sinks installed. Overall it's okay I'd you don't mind staying outside of the centre if town and you aren't expecting luxury. Breakfast is basic but adequate. The room I stayed in had two beds which was great as when I checked in one of the beds had sheets with what looked liked an old blood stain on it. I slept in the clean bed and was happy to depart after my one night stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sosuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
We are truly disappointed to learn that your experience did not match the quality and comfort that we hope for all our guests. It would have been no problem at all for us to find you suitable accommodations and wish that you had let us know of any problems. Please accept our thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and letting us know that for the most part, your stay was enjoyable. We would hope that you would reconsider staying with us again in the future and look forward to providing you with the exceptional stay that you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My fiancé and I came to Cape Cod this past weekend for a couples trip. We had our dog with us, and came across The Harbor Hotel based on their dog friendly nature and the price. We came in with no expectations, but we're pleasantly surprised by the amazing service, great proximity to the beach, the cute bar/lounge/restaurant, and the modern rooms. The hotel was very clean, and the rooms were nicely appointed with beautiful white linens and satellite TV. I would have given it an excellent rating, but the bathroom could use some updating, and the pillows were very uncomfortable. It would have been great it it were closer to town, but overall, it was a very enjoyable experience, and we would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Request a room with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nytraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
We’re absolutely thrilled that your decision to stay at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown left you feeling relaxed and inspired to return. As part of our extensive renovations, the bathrooms in our guestrooms are being upgraded throughout the winter, in anticipation of a great upcoming season. Please don’t hesitate to let us know during your next stay if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable. Thank you for your review and we can’t wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Maybe we went at a bad time; but it was far from a 4/5 star during our visit. Of course being January, we figured no pool.. but we expected at least a nice get away. First, as we was checking in, we got a serious dirty look from an older gentleman behind the counter, for a good 5 mins of staring us down. We go to our first floor room, and it was like walking threw a dorm. We open the curtains and had a beautiful view of a fence.. we headed back up front to ask for another room with a better view, figuring we might be lucky and get a room facing the water.. yeah.. no.. that building is closed during the winter so "the pipes won't freeze".. also mentioning we was guaranteed a balcony the response we got was "cement patio.. balcony.. same thing". We then proceeded to our "new" room at the back of the second building on the second floor.. while unpacking our things, I happen to place my hand in a brown sticky substance, stains all over the carpets, the bathroom was very small, the bathmat disgusting. I turned over the blankets and there was hair on the sheets, we slept on top of the blankets. We ate at a local restaurant thinking, if this is how clean the rooms were.. we could only imagine the kitchen. The atmosphere felt dirty, dark, vacant, creepy and ghetto, off-season or not, there's no excuse for poor cleanliness. The location was very convenient though. Other than that I would not suggest this hotel to anyone, might be a better atmosphere and view in the summer, but i'm sure their cleaning habits are the same year round.

Room Tip: I bet the rooms in the front have a nice sunset view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
We couldn’t have been more disappointed than learning of your impression of our hotel and accommodations. Understandably, switching rooms can be inconvenient, but we never expect our guests to stay in a room that does not meet their expectations. We would have been more than happy at the time of your stay to assist you in finding the perfect room to suit your needs ensuring that your getaway was enjoyable. Your comments will be shared with all departments to re-emphasize the high standards we have in place in regards to customer service and attention to detail. This is certainly not the experience we hope to offer our guests, regardless of what time of year it is. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We pre-purchased the room through Expedia, and thought the rooms looked great judging by the pictures. Turns out those rooms are in the lake-view building which is closed during low-season. We were put in a room in the back building on the ground floor, which made it convenient for parking. Room itself had new beds and furnishings but the bathroom was the furthest thing from *renovated*! Besides an ant infestation around the toilet, the taps were scratched and worn out, the walls were peeling in the corners and the floors and bathtub were dirty with short curly stray hairs lying around.
Breakfast was sad..a couple of small boxes of cereal and some toast. No pastries, no fruit, and only styrofoam cups for the coffee/tea. Front desk staff were always friendly and available.

Room Tip: If you want a room facing the water, come here during the summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvy-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborHotel, General Manager at Harbor Hotel Provincetown, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
While we’re glad to see our staff provided the personalized service we strive to give to every guest, it is disappointing to learn that your accommodations and our continental breakfast did not live up to your expectations. Even with it being a slower time of year, we try to make sure that what seasonal fruit is available is shared with our guests at our continental breakfast. Some of our guests have mentioned the bathrooms at the Harbor Hotel Provincetown and we heard you! Throughout this winter, the bathrooms in all guestrooms will undergo renovations. Should you experience any issues during your stay, we encourage you to share it with us so we can address the situation immediately. Please come and stay with us again, where we can have another opportunity to fully impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.7 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
895 reviews
2.4 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#14 of 15 in Provincetown
237 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
2.3 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Hotel Provincetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Hotel Provincetown

Property: Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Address: 698 Commercial St, Route 6A & Snail Road, Provincetown, MA 02657-1761 (Formerly The Cape Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor Hotel Provincetown 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel facing Provincetown Harbor is half a mile from the Cape Cod National Seashore and 1.5 miles from the Pilgrim Monument. Brightly decorated rooms and suites (some with water views) feature flat-screen TVs and free WiFi. Some connecting and pet-friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor Hotel Provincetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hotel Provincetown
The Cape Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing