We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy & cozy!”
Review of John Randall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
John Randall House
Ranked #22 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
“Comfy & cozy!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The John Randall House offers a sense of home away from home. From the comy wrap around porch, where you can people watch, while having your morning cup of coffee, to curlying up in front of a fire, feeling cozy, after a long evening on the town, it is a wonderful place, where you can feel like you are in the middle of it all, or be away from it all in a beautiful room with a view.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor, are quiet & sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    32
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
68
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a one night stay the JRH and we had a lovely visit. The rooms are small as advertised but spotless and nicely decorated. We had a private bath,again small but very adequate. It was close to downtown which was very convenient. The best part of our trip was our dashingly handsome(as he would like to be remembered:)host Bob. We had just gotten off the first fast ferry from Boston after a particularly rough crossing and it was such a relief to be able to check in early and put our heads on a pillow for an hour before we headed out for the day. When Bob learned we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary, he made some great suggestions for dinner and made a reservation for us too. We took his suggestion and meandered down the West End and out to the breakwater. Continental breakfast fare that was adequate. Hot entree was breakfast pizza which was terrific.
The other great thing was we were only able to get away for one night and many establishments require 2 night minimums even after Labor day. Thankfully the JRH is amenable to one night weekend stays after Labor day. I would definitely return and recommend the JRH!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lisac1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The location is great, right next to the heart of the town. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. And the price couldn't be beat! We certainly enjoyed the charm associated with this little bed and breakfast type arrangement.

The morning breakfast was great too!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spent one week at the John Randall House. The hosts make you feel more than welcome and immediately embrace you with a warm familiar atmosphere. As the house is not huge and the guests are free to hang out whereever they chose, it really does feel like home from home. We were invited to a complementary barbecue & drinks upon our first night, which simply brought the guests together. A great way to break the ice and get to know everyone. If you want time to yourself and just chill, that's also possible.
Although a bit on the small side, the rooms are very tastefully furnished, beautiful polished floors throughout and spotlessly clean. The shared bathrooms proved no problem. Always available when needed and clean. Plenty of fresh towels. In fact, although not a fan of shared bathrooms when away, these did add to the family house type nature of the John Randall House.
At first the breakfast room set up in the porch may seem a bit unusual, especially for Europeans. And can be a bit awkward eating off side-tables or your lap. But once you overcome the first experience it really isnt all that bad. However, the weather was fantastic and there are plenty of seated garden tables outside where you can enjoy. Coffee, Tea & water available all day long. Regular breakfast choice of various fresh bagels, cereals, creamed cheese and jams with fresh fruit and fruit juices served every day. Additionally each day a special extra was provided, giving that little extra variation. Always fresh and always tasty.
Location is very central. Minutes from commercial street & port. But away from the razzmatazz to provide a good nights sleep.
Thanks for making our stay a pleasant and memorable one!
Until the next time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardM42Munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

It was a last minute decision to spend one night in Provincetown and after a long drive we were very happy to be able to get a room in the John Randall house. The room was small but very clean and charmingly furnished. We were supplied with everything we needed. We were most impressed that although the manager was not there when we checked in, he refunded us$100 the following day as the charge was then the autumn tariff. We don't often meet with such integrity. There was a very good continental self service breakfast included also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomimaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I highly recommend staying at the John Randall House. It's a stones throw from Commercial street; the room I stayed in was clean and bright; the staff is friendly, helpful, and accommodating-they bought me flowers for my birthday!! The bed was pretty uncomfortable, and it was not a cheap stay, but no worse than any Provincetown hotel in the summer season. Definitely worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taliax65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the John Randall Inn for 3 nights in August. Bob, our host was very friendly, helpful and above standard. Suggested room for improvement: The Breakfast amenities:We had to take breakfast in a kind of an entry/porch. If there are more than 3 people (which there were) at the same time, one has problems to find a place for the plate - you actually have to balance it on your knees... I would suggest to rearrange and create room for a long table + bench, so that one can enjoy properly everything provided of what is there (which was ok - although there could have been a larger selection of fresh fruit)
The rooms were nicely decorated and clean. The fact that we had to share the bathroom was announced to us previously. The place is centrally located and a 5 Minutes walk from the center of Provincetown....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flowere494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 62 in Provincetown
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secret Garden Inn
Secret Garden Inn
#12 of 62 in Provincetown
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Light Inn
Atlantic Light Inn
#9 of 62 in Provincetown
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lotus Guest House
Lotus Guest House
#25 of 62 in Provincetown
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince Albert Guest House
Prince Albert Guest House
#13 of 62 in Provincetown
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tucker Inn
Tucker Inn
#36 of 62 in Provincetown
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Randall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Randall House

Property: John Randall House
Address: 140 Bradford St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — John Randall House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the thick of downtown Provincetown, just one block off Commercial Street, The John Randall House delivers a boutique experience in the heart of Cape Cod. Part art gallery, part bed and breakfast, this Victorian-style inn features contemporary paintings by local and national artists alongside stylish furnishings. What really sets this hilltop inn apart is its newly installed outdoor deck with views of the tallest all-granite structure in the United States, the Provincetown Monument, which commemorates the history of the Mayflower Pilgrims. Each of the ten rooms is equipped with a queen bed, cable TV, a refrigerator, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Stroll down to the veranda in the morning for a continental breakfast of homemade baked goods, fresh seasonal fruit, hot and cold cereals, milk, and juices. ( Once you've eaten your fill, head out to see Provincetown's finest features-what Lonely Planet describes as "untamed coastline and vast beaches" begging to be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your John Randall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing