We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We consider ourselves "discerning travellers" and had high expectations of this hotel from reading their website and looking at the reviews on here. All hotels get a few bad reviews so we tend to ignor them if, like this case, they are a small minority. Oh how we wished we'd taken more notice of the poor reviews, we agree with everything they say.

We love the friendly welcome and attentive service that you seem to get in almost all hotels in the USA, even the corporate and economy chains have gone out of their way to make us feel welcome, so we were expecting great things from this small, boutique hotel.

Our arrival was the most unwelcoming we have ever had in a USA hotel. The staff seemed more concerned with getting our credit card details than asking how we were, how our journey had been, was this our first time in Ptown or any of the other things one would expect a friendly receptionist to ask at check-in.

When they asked if we needed help with our bags they looked horrified when we said "yes" and reluctantly carried our bags to our room in silence. This aloof attitude continued for the length of our stay. When my partner realised he needed a prescription drug, the young guy on reception looked at us and told us "there's a hospital on the mainland"! Fortunately his older colleague corrected him and helped us get to the local health centre to see a doctor.

If you don't like the aloof attitude of most of the reception staff, take heart that reception closes in the evening and there’s no one around to deal with guest problems until the morning.

Although the front of house staff seemed lacking in customer care skills, the cleaning staff were great, always a friendly word and a smile, the management ought to swap job roles around a bit.

The hotel was renovated in 1999, it doesn't look as if they've done much to the place since. The decor may have been "modern and cosy" last century, but it's decidedly dated now.
We had a ‘pamper me twice’ room. The web site describes the rooms as "benefiting from all the amenities that discerning travellers have come to expect," well, if you expect a tiny, old fashioned, slightly tatty around the edges room with peeling paint, stained ceilings, a broken bureau with a small TV set stuck on top of it, then that description is correct. The whirlpool bath was a joke... You couldn't relax in it as the motor made more noise than the airplane engines did on the flight over from the UK.

In terms of amenities, we were never given a tour of the place so never saw the spa so can't comment on this part of the place. The outdoor dipping pool is great if you're a poor swimmer as you can do a length in two strokes. The fact that the manufacturer is the jacuzzi pool company should give you some idea of its size.

On our second night we found four centipedes crawling over our bed. Unfortunately as reception was closed there was nothing we could do until morning. When we brought this to their attention they offered to have someone come round to the room to look at it. I also said the bureau was broken and asked if we could have a new room. The lady on reception was very good, apologised and upgraded us to a ‘pamper me three times’ room.

Although this was a bigger room, more comfortable and had its own private porch, it had the same issues of tired decoration and furnishings, including the insanely loud whirlpool bath and a toilet that kept refusing to flush. I think today's "discerning traveller" expects flat screen TVs in the room now not old sets from 1999 and if you have a TV in the bathroom we expect it to be built in, waterproof and working, not a broken, small, old set stuck in the corner on a rusty arm!

This place is resting on its laurels, basking in the light of former days. It needs a refurb and staff training to make it a place that "discerning travellers" would expect from its Ptown location, the description and the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RobstersDads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t1999, Manager at Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, with regards to some of our team members, I apologize for the less than warm reception you felt upon arrival. This is highly uncharacteristic of our guest services team whom generally rank amongst the highest internally for service and friendliness. All of our rooms have been newly renovated with new carpets, beds and bed side tables. With regards to our pool we have clearly indicated on the website that it is a dipping pool and not lap pool.

Please come back and see us again, we always strive to make all of our guests as happy as possible we would love to do the same for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    119
    43
    33
    20
See reviews for
28
405
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Pointe Inn last week and it was very nice. The inn is very clean and well kept and the staff is friendly and accommodating. Our room was very nice except for the fact that we are both less than 5 feet tall and the bed was so high we had to ask for a step stool in order to get into it. The room had a balcony with two chairs, but the balcony was so narrow that it was uncomfortable to sit there. Our room had a gas fireplace, but it was so hot and humid in Provincetown we did not get a chance to use it. The full breakfast is really a very nice touch as well as the wine, beer, cheese and crackers around the pool at 5-6. The spa is very nice, but quite expensive compared to Boston prices.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bathtubs and others have walk-in showers. If it matters to you, ask which your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t1999, Manager at Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnabow, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My partner and I went there to get married. What a great place!!!! All of the staff was so friendly and our wedding cordinator went above and beyond her duties. We will be back for our anniversary. The courthyard is so beautiful with all the flowers and water fountains. The spa is one of the best we have been to.

Room Tip: Pamper me three times and the pent house are great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t1999, Manager at Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing we can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We made a reservation at this hotel because it looked nice - My wife and I plus my 2 children were going to our house in Orleans for 2 weeks and I thought the wife and I could get away for 2 days and let Grandma watch them. Well - we got to the Cape and my son got really ill (gastroenteritis - vomiting & diarrhea ) and he had to be admitted to the hospital - this was a day before our scheduled departure to Crowne Pointe. I called Crowne Pointe and said we would need to cancel the reservation. Michelle, the manager, said that I could not do this and I could only cancel 21 days in advance. Like I knew 21 days in advance that my son would be deathly ill and need IV fluids!!

Michelle gave me no wiggle room, no partial refund, nothing. It did not matter that we could not eat the included breakfast or use any of the services – full charge – sorry to hear your son is in the hospital but we will still collect all our money! I was charged the full amount for 2 nights (The reservation was for 2 nights - the "Pamper me Twice" package.)

So my word of caution - don't expect the hotel staff to be accommodating or understanding - even if you or your family is in the hospital - this hotel is still going to charge you for the full stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t1999, Manager at Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
All of our cancellation policies are stated at the time of reservation as well as in all confirmation letters. We have a very short season and these policies do need to apply. We always suggest trip insurance to cover you in case of an emergency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Seamless from start to finish. Great service, great location, great rooms what more an you ask for? Free wine and cheese? Done. This place has it all and the spa was also fantastic. I highly recommend this as a place to stay. I will be back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoopsToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t1999, Manager at Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks so much we can't wait to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Went there for our first anniversary in April and were truley delighted. The rooms are large and clean, many with in room Jacuzzi, fireplace and two TVs. The dining room is amll and quirky in a neat kind of way and the food is prepared to perfection. No need to leave the property if you don't want to. At checkout I booked again for next year!

Room Tip: Go with the in room Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandhopah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband recently visited Provincetown for the first time. We stayed at the Crowne Pointe Historic inn and spa for 5 nights. What a treat!!! I absolutely loved the complimentary breakfast. Having a hot entree to pick from
every morning saved my husband time and money. We each had something different morning and it was delicious! Another nice perk was the wine cheese hour. We had great weather and having a glass of wine and a few snacks outside by the pool was a great way to start our evening. Also, another favorite perk was the bath robes provided. It reminded me of a high end spa robe, it was so soft! I didn't get a chance to use the mineral spa or sauna which also comes with the stay...def will visit these next time. Overall, all these added touches made it an excellent stay!!! We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie27mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t1999, Manager at Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
20.4 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.1 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
1.0 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#3 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#4 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.9 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#7 of 14 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa

Property: Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Address: 82 Bradford Street, Provincetown, MA 02657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our historic 4 Diamond inn in Provincetown, steps to shops, restaurants, galleries, and the beach. A couple of blocks away from world famous whale watching. Our inspired Provincetown lodging includes 40 rooms in 6 historic buildings enveloping a beautiful pool courtyard. Enjoy unforgettable massages and treatments at our award-winning spa or enjoy amazing cuisine at our romantic Pointe Restaurant at our Provincetown hotel. Experience luxurious rooms and suites with fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, private decks, and wonderful views that rival all other hotels in Provincetown, MA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn And Spa
Crowne Pointe Historic Hotel Provincetown
Crowne Pointe Historic Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing