We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carp Diem ... worth traveling the distance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa
Ranked #7 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Carp Diem ... worth traveling the distance”
Reviewed August 3, 2005

Indeed it was worth traveling from Texas and to be greeted with excellent service! The staff was always attentive to individual guest needs (making prior reservations at restaurants--thanks Herbie you are the best!), the breakfast spread (homemade breads, and muffins, fruits, etc.) a fabulous treat, the location of guesthouse is close in proximity to downtown, and the accommodations were superb (clean towels everyday, and more). Bravo to Rainer, Hans, and Jurgen, Herbie and the rest of the staff for making our 5-day stay a most enjoyable, relaxing, and fun time.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank IsabellaMercedes2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    52
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
48
672
71
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 2, 2005

We looked at a lot of B+B's before deciding on this one - and we lucked out! We were greeted quickly at the door and given a wonderful tour of the house and all of its ammenities - lovely patio/garden, great hot tub, wine and cheese daily, beach towels, delicious homemade breakfast, friendly staff willing to go out of their way for you, 2 friendly dogs, and friendly guests, can't say anything bad about the place except our stay was too short! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2005

Dear Carpe Diem Family,

THANK YOU SO MUCH for such a WONDERFUL TIME!!!! Everyone there is AWESOME and we LOVED our time there!!! There is NO BETTER Guesthouse is ALL of Provincetown!!!!

See you soon I hope in the Fall!!!!

Gary and Rodnei

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryandRodnei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 1, 2005

I have been staying at Carpe Diem for 6 summers in a row and from my 1st visit I wouldn't consider looking elsewhere.
The owners/managers Riener, Jurgen, and Hans immediately made me welcome with thier gracious brand of warmth and ever-present humor. There's always a great sense of humor to be found at Carpe Diem!
If you're looking for great attention to detail, kind and prompt service, delicious breakfast(yeah, that would be you Jurgen!) all served with inconspicous ease...look no further.
The guests are varied and always interesting...and the staff effortlessly makes introductions and draws each person into the fold as if they were new to the family.
The accommedations are the finest you'll find in P'town...the rooms beautifully appointed, the zen garden(with roomy hot tub) provides a great place to meet and chat, or sit quitely and read to your hearts content!
Another aspect I greatly appreciate about Carpe Diem is the diversity of its clients. This is no "strictly gay party barn" so available in P'town(...if you want that its readily available for you elsewhere and I hope you enjoy what you're seeking!) but at Carpe Diem you'll find gay, lesbian, straight,or a group of friends comprising all together...as well as an international blend of people from around the world...as well as people from all over the United States. It is an incredible mix of people and cultures that I always enjoy in this friendly setting!
I look forward to my visit each year, and each year it only gets better!!! It is a joy to be in an enviorment where the owners take such pride in thier life's work and invest thier all in creating such an oasis...it seems to me more than "work" and more like thier avocation...but always done with joy and great humor and spirit!!!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 31, 2005

We highly recomend it, we enjoy the company, the conversations with the staff and also THE BREAKFAST!!!!... we definaly will come back to Carpe diem... nice, clean comfortable, very homey.
Thank you Rainer, Jürgen and Hans

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2005

We have traveled to Provincetown for a few years not. First time at the Carpe Diem Guesthouse and we had a fantastic time! The hosts and staff pampered us to our every need during our stay. The breakfast was by far the best I've had at any B&B in P-Town. Comfortable rooms that were prepared and cleaned thouroughly during our stay. I would recommend Carpe Diem to anyone. Well worth the money!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BostoTravelerWithPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 31, 2005

My partner and I are rather "discriminating" travelers - only flying first class, staying in suites, blah, blah, blah. We just returned from one of many stays at Carpe Diem over the past six years, and I am amazed they still maintain the one thing we always search for - consistency.

I think I am understating this, but the rooms are always clean and nicely decorated. The house is kept very nice and very tasteful. The breakfast is always on time and delicious. (If you like a European breakfast, this is *definitely* the place for you!!) Whatever is asked for, the staff responds immediately with absolutely no hesitation. None!

Arriving at Carpe Diem is like arriving at a relative's house. Not only are we picked up at the airport, but whoever picks us up always remembers us. With all the guests, I don't know how they do it, but it is a real pleasure to be asked about *me* when arriving at a place I only visit once or twice a year. How do they remember?!

We've stayed in six different room types over the years, and we prefer the Carriage House and Cottage. (Cottage is always the first choice!) The rooms in the main house are absolutely lovely, but we like the added privacy of a small private outside sitting area as well as more living space in the lower-level Carriage House suites and the Cottage.

Even the smallest room in the house is wonderful and full of personality, though! And, the best thing is, the service is the same *regardless* of your room type!

The house is wonderful. The staff and their service are even better. And everything is the same whether we're there in-season or off-season. (Off-season is so romantic ... gas fireplaces in some of the rooms, even.) If all hotels had service like this, I think I'd travel even more!

You won't be disappointed with Carpe Diem. I promise; just stay once and you'll keep going back. Nothing else compares to Carpe Diem in Provincetown, and if we can't reserve a room there, we won't go. Period. That's how much Carpe Diem now means Provincetown to us!

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
1.3 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
954 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
1.1 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
877 reviews
0.1 mi away
8 Dyer Hotel
8 Dyer Hotel
#1 of 62 in Provincetown
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Cook Street
The Inn at Cook Street
#2 of 62 in Provincetown
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa

Property: Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa
Address: 12 Johnson St # 14, Provincetown, MA 02657-2312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly situated in the center of town this wonderful second empire style Guesthouse & Spa complex offers a new dimension in gracious and luxurious accommodations. Wake up to the smell and taste of fresh coffee, homemade breads and cakes, unwind in our spa with Steamroom, Sauna and Hot Tub, treat yourself to a massage or relax on one of our serene decks and patios. Carpe Diem, your escape beyond the ordinary! A magical place on the edge of the continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carpe Diem Guesthouse And Spa
Carpe Diem Guesthouse Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing