We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa
Ranked #8 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a lovely respite at Carpe Diem in early September. Our room was lovely (Marcel Proust), the breakfasts delicious, the afternoon wine and cheese a treat, and the spa a wonderfully restful treat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank red028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
There are newer reviews for Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

I know they call it a guesthouse but they really treat you like family.

My mother (72) and I (50) live in different parts of the country and we decided to take our annual vacation at Carpe Diem. My family used to take vacations to Provincetown some 40 years ago and we longed for the nostalgic feeling that we assumed this guesthouse would provide. This inn definitely delivered everything it had promised. The weather was unpredictable and it allowed us to utilize many of the features that are available at this cozy B&B.
The first afternoon we arrived it was unusually cool so we asked if we could use the fireplace. Yes! The next day it reached near record highs. We asked for assistance with air-conditioning. After returning a couple hours later the room still seemed to be quite warm. Someone immediately came to the room to adjust the temperature and assured us if it wasn't an acceptable level in an hour they would move our belongings and us to another suite. How remarkably accommodating!
The staff was perfectly friendly and outgoing. It was refreshing to see such a great balance of special attention without the feeling of being crowded. Breakfast every morning was fabulous. We always sat at the large table in the dining room to interact our fellow guests. Anthony, the chef, was exceptional. Each of our four mornings he offered us a special delicacy such as apple pancakes or vegetable strata. And of course farm fresh eggs made to order were available every day.
But, our favorite part about the inn was the wine and cheese hour in the evening. It gave us an opportunity to meet some very interesting people from all over the world. One of the evenings it was so much fun it was really a wine and cheese two hour!
There was never any pressure from any of the staff for us to wrap things up.

Carpe Diem recently hired a new team member, Eddie. I am not sure of his title but I want to say that he is the person to go to for absolutely any of your requests. The first night upon our arrival my mother and I were extremely tired from our travels. Eddie recommended that we go to the little store across the street and get some prepared foods. Far Land is a specialty shop that has really delicious entrées and sides. I brought back the goods and Eddie heated everything and arranged beautiful place settings for us so we could relax for the evening before we retired to our room.

I am confident to refer to this delightful B&B as the “familyhouse”. I want to thank everyone there for making my time with my mother memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank verdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from a lovely four day stay at Carpe Diem and we can not say enough about this wonderful place. We are a straight couple who wanted a fun place on the cape where we could go to the beach during the day and go out to restaurants/bars at night. The location is perfect -- a block from commercial and the hotel grounds are beautiful and there is parking! You walk through the office to a zen like courtyard filled with plants, water fountains, and the entrance to the spa. Almost every room seemingly has a deck/patio (check the website) but the main patio area is a lunge/spa unto itself. (more on spa later)

Firstly, the accommodations: AMAZING. We stayed in the Thoreau Cottage which was a separate building on the property. Beautiful leather couch, table, fireplace, ceiling fan, antique four poster bed, jacuzzi and patio. My only downside is that the patio is not 100% private -- it opens onto a lovely courtyard but it is still pretty cool.

Next: the people: AMAZING!!!! Eddie was our go-to guy for our stay and was so awesome! He helped us out every night with recommendations where to go and he was spot-on with everything. He was also our host during the nightly happy hour-- 5-630 where they served wine/cheese in the patio. Eddie and the wine hour were so nice! He would introduce us to other guests and really worked to help to keep the atmosphere alive. Nothing was ever pretentious or "bad cruise" awkward - just perfect.

This one is combined breakfast and people: Anthony and Robert were our hosts in the morning. Anthony is the breakfast chef and is such a doll! As an early riser we were probably the first two awake in morning in the breakfast area and he was great to chat with about coffee and life at Carpe Diem. And OMG his breakfast. No idea how he gets the scrambled eggs so fluffy. And all the specials he cooked from Portuguese bread french toast with fresh blueberries, an egg/ham panini, and amazing veggie strata. I can't say enough. The boyfriend wanted the strata recipe. sigh...I guess i will have to make it at home. And oh there are fresh muffins (all different types -- as in homemade there that morning) and fresh bread/fruit/cheese every morning. And then there is coffee like 6 different ways and about 25 different types of tea....
Did I mention this place is amazing??????? Robert is such a good southern gentleman (he is from Texas originally) and he is there in the morning to help with breakfast and to also provide recommendations on what to do during the day. So don't be surprised if you hear a y'all at breakfast!

And the spa: or shall I say the spahhhh..... ok. I didn't know what to expect and was a little leery as it is clothing optional but it was so awesome. There are I think six great lounge chairs, relaxing music when you enter the spa area then a large jazuzzi in the rear of the area. Inside the spa area, there is a HUGE steam room, shower, and Finnish Sauna. Upstairs is massage and yoga (unfortunately I didn't get upstairs to experience -- that is for the next trip!!!) We would go and take a steam and then lounge in the chairs for hours. The bf would be more clothing optional than I (ie pretty much nude but sometimes covered by a towel) and we never felt uncomfortable even with others in the area (who normally were wearing robes)

All in all WE (straight Bruins fan boyfriend and I) can not recommend this place more highly. It is totally ok if you are gay/lesbian or straight as it is a PERFECT getaway. And a super big thanks to Eddie, Anthony and Robert for making our stay a wonderful relaxing holiday. See you all soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in September . Room was very clean , great tea/coffee making facilities , fridge and a super balcony for sitting in the sun !! Breakfast was great with Juergen and Anthony . Daily wine and cheese is a very nice touch too. Service was first class ( happy to book table reservations etc - which you need to do !!) . Real star for us was Eddie on reception - in his first week there but a real character and could not do enough for us - he is a brilliant addition to the team. Super location - within 1 minute walk of Commercial St. Car Parking was great too which is a t a premium in P-Town !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovethesun002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Carpe Diem is an extremely well designed and well run B&B. Everything is first class, within the constraints of P-town. The location is very central, but along with that comes some street noise from Bradford St that affects some rooms if one is a light sleeper. Our room was well appointed, with an excellent king bed. The space is good for a night or two, but a bit small for an extended stay or if the weather doesn't co-operate- of course, the reception areas have good reading chairs if necessary. Wine and cheese daily is excellent quality and choice and believe us when we say that the breakfasts are also excellent with both a nice continental table with home-baked breads and cooked-to-order eggs and daily specials. The 3 owners are omnipresent and also their front desk staff are super- helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ejmtlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Was booked into Carpe Diem by friends who are now very good friends . The rooms are immaculate although quite small . The breakfasts was a chance to meet people get ideas about what to do and hear about all the many shows . Juergen does some amazing specials to start you off on your day .

Definitely try use the Spa facility it is a very worthwhile experience .

Wine and Cheese evenings helped with meeting people and set up the start of the evening

Definitely visit again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olympian1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was our first stay with Carpe Diem but it will not be our last. Everything was superb down to the last detail – staff was very friendly & accommodating, rooms were immaculate, made-to-order breakfast was delicious, location is great, and so much more. We didn’t get a chance to use the spa facilities this time, but definitely will next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
1.3 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,060 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
0.5 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
0.6 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
913 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Porch Inn
White Porch Inn
#7 of 62 in Provincetown
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa

Address: 12 Johnson St # 14, Provincetown, MA 02657-2312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range: $168 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly situated in the center of town this wonderful second empire style Guesthouse & Spa complex offers a new dimension in gracious and luxurious accommodations. Wake up to the smell and taste of fresh coffee, homemade breads and cakes, unwind in our spa with Steamroom, Sauna and Hot Tub, treat yourself to a massage or relax on one of our serene decks and patios. Carpe Diem, your escape beyond the ordinary! A magical place on the edge of the continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carpe Diem Guesthouse And Spa
Carpe Diem Guesthouse Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing