We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penthouse suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brass Key Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Recently stayed in penthouse suite.

Wasn't cheap, but the view was stupendous. Worth the extra price. Literally a wall of windows overlooking unobstructed harbor views. Views from every single room, plus a private deck with the same views.

Half the weekend I just sat, drink in hand, watching the sunset or sunrise or activity on the water.

I will try to post a couple photos.

The suite itself was fine. Beautiful bath. The gas fireplace was a nice touch.

The only downside was the carpet. Old and worn out. For these rates I'd think new carpet would be more than justified.

Also there's a variety of heating and cooling sources in the room. Worth your while to make sure when they show you to your room that they explain this to you.

In particular, there are a ton of baseboard heaters that can act as backup to the wall-mounted heat systems. It took us forever to figure out that the one in the dining room was still on and that was causing us to get really hot.

I'd also suggest replacing the old dorm-style fridge. It ran constantly, which can be annoying if you are trying to nap or sleep on the couch. Otherwise the kitchen was about perfect for what you need for a short stay.

But overall, really, this one is about the view.

Service was terrific. Staff was friendly and professional. Kept running into one particularly friendly staff guy. Think his name was Ken. Very helpful.

The grounds really were terrific. Great pool, great hot tub. And the onsite bar is really a perfect spot to have a nice civilized drink. Seems to be a hangout for locals, which is always a good sign. And they aren't stingy with a drink pour...

Checkout was a breeze, which isn't always the case in places like this.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpartanJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t1999, Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2012

Thanks for the review and feedback! We have already made some of your suggestions come true!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 333 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

This is a perfect place to stay while in Provincetown. The hotel is beautiful, our room was immaculate, breakfast was fabulous. The location is perfect and within easy walking distance of all the action on Commercial street. Everyone we came in contact with at the hotel was great. We can't wait to return and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whomeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t1999, General Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

Thanks so much for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The Brass Key is a mixed bag.

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Brass Key this week. We had a Groupon. It took several tries to get through to someone to make a reservation. We also purchased a package for two massages and a dinner. When we arrived, we were given vouchers for $25 against a massage and $30 towards dinner. After getting a surprise charge for dinner (we got the $30 discount, not the full dinner we'd purchased), we brought this to the attention of the staff. Evidently they had not recorded our purchase of the package. However, they did get it set up after that, and we did get our massages and dinner.

The room was rather small, but the enormous deck made up for it. The king size bed was terrific, as was the big whirlpool tub. The heat/air conditioning system was somewhat non-straightforward, but we figured it out eventually.

Wallpaper was coming off the wall in one corner and there was a broken slat in the blinds in the bathroom that had been repaired with packing tape.

Service was... desultory. The staff were polite, but attention to detail and a customer-focused attitude were lacking.

In all, the experience was good, but not great. The great is distinguished by those sorts of details. Unfortunately, at the Brass Key, you pay for great, but you only get good. I think for what we paid for the Groupon, it was worth it, but if I'd been paying full price, it wouldn't have.

Room Tip: Look at their website and the pictures. Ask for a specific room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeMBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t1999, General Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

What this guest is upset about is that they purchased a Groupon package which is 225 and includes a $30 meal credit and a $25 Spa credit. She called and emailed in advance to have the two credits deducted from her room bill and not as credits in other areas of the business. Making her total for the two nights $170 - including breakfast and wine and cheese dails. The rooms are heavily discounted on the Groupon in the hopes that the guests might spend money in other areas. The credits cannot be applied agains room charges. That upset her before she even arrived and there was no recovery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

My husband and I recently spent two nights here. It was wonderful. Beautiful room, great staff, lovely outdoor area. We loved the wine and cheese hour and the roof top deck. We were just steps from all the great shops and restaurants. We come to Ptown once a year and unfortunately never knew this guest house was here. We will surely return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jala47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t1999, Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

Thanks so much for sharing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful long weekend at the Brass Key. Between the amazing accomodations, the wonderful staff and delicious breakfasts..we didn't want to leave. We cannot wait to visit them again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billsbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t1999, Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2012

Thanks so much please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I recently stayed with my boyfriend for one night at the Brass Key in Ptown. What a great home away from home! The staff were friendly and helpful without being overbearing, the room was charming and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The outdoor area alone is worth the price of the room. There is a pool, hot-tub and lots of comfy seating. Overall, a very relaxing atmosphere. The location is fantastic- tucked away on a quiet side just a stone's throw away from the action on Commercial Street.

The only thing I'd do differently next time in Ptown is stay longer!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puntacanaprincesita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t1999, General Manager at Brass Key Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

Thanks so much for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

This property is outstanding. Gated facility with a terrific room. Pool and hot tub. Happy hour with beer, wine and snack daily. Very good continental breakfast. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purdymbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.1 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
1.7 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
919 reviews
0.7 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
668 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Key Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Key Guesthouse

Address: 67 Bradford St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Price Range: $216 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brass Key Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a premier Provincetown inn, only a minute's walk to all the action on Commercial Street. Our B&B in Provincetown features extraordinary rooms and suites, a gracious staff, spa services, breakfast, wine social & so much more. 9 historically detailed buildings enclose the terraced courtyard, boasting a heated infinity pool, cabana and English garden, that rivals all other Provincetown hotels. Our Cape Cod bed and breakfast now features the new Shipwreck Lounge open for drinks daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Brass Key Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Key Guesthouse Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing