We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing cocktails and wine selection... can't wait to get dinner next time!”
Review of Joon Bar + Kitchen

Joon Bar + Kitchen
Ranked #14 of 139 Restaurants in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
MA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing cocktails and wine selection... can't wait to get dinner next time!”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Joon is known for being a great spot in town for their extensive wine selection... but their cocktails are fabulous, too! The bartenders are friendly and the prices are reasonable for Provincetown.

We have been multiple times after dinner at the bar - but their dining room looks great for a meal. The menu looks delicious! We are excited to try it for dinner soon.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CleanFreak416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    25
    5
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“At last a good steak”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Been coming to Ptown for over 40 years and never found a good steak until last nite at this new addition to the restsurant scene
Steak frites was great
Duck was fantastic
Strawberry blackberry blueberry desert equally good
And free parking in flyers lot
This is my new favorite

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jeevers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
175 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A New Jewel of Provincetown!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Only open since July 2014 this fabulous spot brings something much needed to Provincetown. A hip yet comfortable space with innovative delicious food pairings and erring on the side of smaller plates ideal for sharing. The Halibut with an avocado salsa was the undeniable winner for our group of four. But there were smiles of satisfaction all around at our table and very satisfied diners at neighboring tables. It also has a very attractive long bar ideal for solo dining or couples who may not choose a table. This has become one of our new "must go to" spots in P'Town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worth the walk - go to this place!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

This place is definitely worth the walk from the town center. Our server was great. Had the duck sliders which were outstanding, and the halibut was great too. We went with our young boys as i would not recommend the place for kids (no kids menu). But, if you do want to bring them my oldest scarfed down a duck slider (he thought it was a regular hamburger, and there are fries as a side and a cheese plate that they ate. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank almost406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great bar, strange food, tiny portions”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Joon is on Commercial Street but SO far down the street from what most would consider the main section that we thought we had memorised the wrong street number with very few shops or eating establishments down that end. It is lined with dark wood, with striking, suspended Edison element bulbs (you'll know the look if you're into interior design).
It was also ultra-noisy too perhaps thanks to the wooden floorboards, loud enough that the female maitre d' couldn't even hear my husband giving his surname over the phone to make a booking so I think something has to be fixed there.
We had a glass or two of wine at the long bar, waiting for our table and then finally sat down to order.
I don't think we'd realised that Joon is really a bar, with some tapas plates, and only three main dishes (Bigs). I love foie gras and have a naughty habit of eating it quite regularly as one of my two courses so I was unsure what to expect with theirs being "pan-seared" like a steak. I didn't like the taste of the cooked layer at all and tried to scrape it off as it created an unpleasant burnt taste. Why reinvent a perfectly formed wheel?
My husband ordered the Wagyu Burger from the Bigs menu and we were both shocked it was the same size as the mini-burgers you see at cocktail parties but it had the price of a main course.
Great atmosphere, but it's really just a place for a nightcap. I've given it three stars because the service from our waiter was really very good. If the food was better, four.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank visitrequisites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joon Bar + Kitchen also viewed

 
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Joon Bar + Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing