We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite in P-town so far”
Review of Backstreet - CLOSED

Backstreet
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mansfield, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite in P-town so far”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Made a reservation for our group of 10 and our husbands were celebrating 50th bdays for the year. We were seated in the private room (no additional charge) which was beautiful with wine all around us, large wood table, rustic yet elegant with French doors that looked out onto the first floor of the restaurant. This is the 6th time this group of 10 has dinned in P-town. So far, Backstreet is our favorite! As others have posted- the food is elegant and fresh! We all ordered something different and everyone raved about their dish. The service was great and the host and waiters were friendly and down to earth. We will definitely be back to the Backstreet! The private room is a real gem!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent new restaurant”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Backstreet is in the space formerly occupied by 10 Tables. The food is exellent and the atmosphere welcoming. They have an outdoor seating area which is very nice in warm weather. The service is attentive but unfortunately the kitchen was very slow when we were there, despite it being only moderately busy. If you don't mind the possibility of a longish wait, the food definitely worth it, and anyway you are likely on vacation so relax. The duck confit spring roll was a good starter. The chef may be southern since several of the main courses come with grits, a rarity here. Located on Bradford rather than Commercial St., it is a bit off the main drag, but definitely worth seeking out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wbp657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Amazing Service”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had an amazing dinner here this evening. The food was very good and the service was amazing. We were a large party with 2 kids and a baby. We arrived and they did not have a highchair. The staff went across the street to borrow one which made the evening more enjoyable. They fired the kids meals quickly to get them eating, which i am sure was off cycle for the kitchen. They managed food allergies and special requests. The owner came to great us and offered the kids a special dessert tasting of all the gelato flavors. We eat out several times a week and it is rare that I have seen this level of service. I highly recommend Backstreet.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Went here for dinner while in provincetown. Its off Bradford street close to the center of town. We had a short delay getting seated due to a walk in that was given the table we reserved. But they were able to accomodate us pretty quickly. Cute little space with contemporary atmosphere. There is seating upstairs and downstairs. There is an outdoor seating area as well. Had wine instead of cocktails. Fairly standard wine menu. The food was very tasty though. There are a mix of cuisines so there is something to satisfy everyone's tastes. The dessert portions are gigantic. Waitstaff was very helpful and attentive. Would definitely come here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gks5m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, MA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Creative and Lovely”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My partner and I ate on the patio at Backstreet recently during a rare night off (for locals working in hospitality). We enjoyed ourselves very much. The menu was interesting, the food was wonderful, and the staff was very kind, especially our busser, Terry. I enjoyed a Rosemary martini, one of their specialty drinks, as well as a great Malbec by the glass. The duck spring rolls were very good, although a bit too well done for me - but my partner loved them that way. For our mains we had shrimp and grits, and a duck rague over homemade pasta. Both were excellent, but I like the shrimp dish more due to the wonderfully hot and spicy drizzle of oils that went with it. We ended with a banana betty for dessert - light, simple, delicious. This is a wonderful, new and creative restaurant which I look forward to visiting again in the fall.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PtownTMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backstreet also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing