We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Virgins to P-town - Everything great!”
Review of White Porch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Porch Inn
Ranked #9 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Virgins to P-town - Everything great!”
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We spent 4 nights at the end of July at the White Porch Inn. It had been recommended by a friend whose first time there was on a P-town traditional house tour. Matt, the concierge knew we might be late so he was courteous enough to call us on the road to tell us, again, where the keys would be if we arrived late. Morning breakfasts were lovely and again everyone was extremely helpful. The only problem we had was with two overbearing guests who screamed and chased everyone away during the 4-6 pm, previously announced, inn tour.They embarrassed the rest of us sitting on the porch who had no problem with the women standing on the porch. Matt handled the embarrassing wituation with perfect aplomb. If these men did not like the noise, they should have left. Because the rest of us were having a great time.
We would definitely stay there again. Not only because the place was so well decorated, spotless and friendly but because Matt was the perfect host.
Debra and Frank

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 537743jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    31
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
31
395
56
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the White Porch Inn. I have to say this Inn has every detail thought out to the tee. I appreciated all of the touches... this includes delicious wine and cheese during happy hour... the Inn was gorgeous. The porch delightful. The location was walking distance to all of the action.
We would definatley come back and recommend to our friends.
Worth it and more!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susu1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the White Porch Inn, and it was wonderful for us. We do not enjoy cluttered Victoiran or stuffy decor, so this was ideal. Very upscale and sophisticated. Although our bedroom was small, it was very comfortable with a soothing decor. The bath was very nice with everything you could need. The entire house was available for guests to use, so you did not have to sit in your room if you wanted to relax; sitting room, dining room, and fantastic porch with rockers were always open. Breakfast was delicious and the location is perfect. You can walk to everything in town. My only regret was that they only had one night available. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This beautifully done B&B on a quite street just steps from the main attractions of Ptown has friendly and helpful staff and great breakfasts . We had a small but comfortable air conditioned room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnA555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

The property is beautiful, very nicely decorated and in a very convenient location for shopping and dining. No expense was spared during the rehab of what had apparently been a rather run-down property in an earlier life. The room was clean and appointed with quality towels and linens. The front porch is a real pleaser with wooden rockers and even a mini-view of the harbor. The room was able to handle extremely hot weather with a super powerful air conditioner. On cooler nights, we were also able to enjoy open windows and fresh air. It was surprisingly quiet for such a close-to-town location. Matt, the inn keeper, provided us with accurate and helpful recommendations for dining and activities. His recommendation that we swim in the salt flats down at the west end made the trip for us. What a wonderful experience! The breakfast service was simple, basic, healthy and timely. The evening wine and snacks was more on a flex schedule, but Matt let us know that ahead of time. We stayed during Splash week and this property was selected as a destination for a large group of women involved in a B&B social crawl. That made for one exciting evening as the group was on the property! It was nice to see people having so much fun enjoying the inn. If you are looking for a laid back experience with helpful yet non-smothering staff, this is a wonderful place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maestro88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2010

My Husband and I recently enjoyed a weekend stay at the White Porch Inn. After having done so, we highly recommend it to anyone in search of a seaside getaway! Perhaps the thing we enjoyed the most about the Inn was the attention to detail. From the picturesque décor to the thoughtfully prepared breakfasts, we enjoyed the perfect blend of luxury and Cape Cod casual. Another great thing about the Inn is that it is located only steps from the beach and shops. The fact that we didn’t have to drive to get to the beach or the action of downtown relieved us of any sense of responsibility and really allowed us to relax and enjoy all of the fun that P Town has to offer! We found our host Matt to be genuine and accommodating as well as hilarious! (I wanted to be his new best friend lol!) If you’re looking for an Inn that is clean and welcoming with a hospitable staff and great location- the White Porch Inn is it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie7153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

This inn is located right off Commercial Street, so you can't beat the location, except for the casual car revving an engine at 3:00 in the morning. That aside, the inn is newly refurbished, clean and quite attractive. The management and staff, however, leave a lot to be desired.

Inattentive at best, staff are unconcerned about guests' needs. Let me provide several examples: (1) When a drunken, rowdy group of women invaded the inn on a liquor sampling tour of several bed and breakfasts (sponsored by a liquor company), several of the inn guests were trying to have a nice conversation on the porch. When we asked Matt, the supposed "manager," to quiet the crowd, he stated he was going to do nothing, as "they have as much a right to be here as you do." (2) The inn advertised wine and cheese from 4:00 to 6:00. Wine rarely was served before 4:45, even though guests were waiting on the porch. When Matt finally decided to serve the wine on his timeframe, he served a half-empty bowl of nuts and cake leftover from the morning's breakfast, along with a bottle that was previously opened and only 1/4 full. (3) When off-duty, Matt and his helpers, who, collectively are the rudest and most insincere group of people we've ever met, took pleasure in deriding comments about the inn posted on a travel internet site. (4) When I asked for plain black tea, i was informed they did not have any. The second morning, I asked Matt for black tea again, and he said insolently, "how did you make it through yesterday without it?" Finally on the third, and last day, I got black tea. (5) Having stayed at several five-star inns, we judged the White Porch breakfasts unimaginative and sparse. Half of the last morning's blueberry muffins were burned and service was less than gracious.

It appears that many of the excellent reviews on this site were written when the owners, both named Tom, were in residence. Apparently, when the cat's away, the mice will play, for they certainly have the time because they do not care about client service. It's quite unfortunate, because with the right staff who really care about their guests, this could be a terrific place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank voyager81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
1.3 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,004 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
0.1 mi away
Benchmark Inn
Benchmark Inn
#5 of 62 in Provincetown
528 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa
Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa
#6 of 62 in Provincetown
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Porch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Porch Inn

Property: White Porch Inn
Address: 7 Johnson St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — White Porch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the porch at the White Porch Inn, the unique boutique Provincetown bed and breakfast and art hotel. The Boston Globe says about our unique Provincetown hotel: "Sand, sun, and the wide flat horizon where the bay meets the sky is what Provincetown is all about. The recently renovated WHITE PORCH INN captures this spirit by combining casual elegance with contemporary design in a style they call "beachy-chic." Our Provincetown hotel with integrated art gallery known as In(n) Art has 10 tastefully decorated rooms with clean lines, calming qualities and contemporary art to help you enjoy your Provincetown vacation. The rooms in both the main house and the carriage house of our Provincetown guest house have private baths, flat screen TVs with DVD players, audio systems with bluetooth connectivity, free wireless broadband, air conditioning, and original paintings by artists from around the world. Many rooms of our Provincetown hotel also include fireplaces, spa tubs, and provide either views of the Pilgrim Monument, the romantic roof tops of Provincetown, or water views of Ptown harbor. A mix of contemporary & traditional art works can be found throughout the White Porch Inn, Provincetown's first art hotel. The living room, the front room and the kitchen, provide areas to mix and mingle with friends, both old and new - and as the spot simultaneously to enjoy In(n) Art, the integrated art gallery at the White Porch Inn. The porch of our Provincetown guest house is a great place to relax, unwind while having a European continental breakfast or a glass of wine and taking in water views or the sites of Provincetown. This Provincetown hotel is a member of the Distinctive Inns of Provincetown, and is conveniently located in the center of Ptown, just steps away from the fun of Commercial Street with its restaurants, bars, shops, galleries, Johnson Street Beach, and more. For many travellers, this Provincetown hotel is the perfect Cape Cod get-away. We at the White Porch Inn Provincetown hotel will do everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We hope that while you are searching through the various Provincetown hotels, inns, and guesthouses, you chose the White Porch Inn for your Provincetown vacation. See you soon in P'town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your White Porch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Porch Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing