We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Slice Of Heaven”
Review of White Porch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Porch Inn
Ranked #7 of 64 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2010

My Husband and I recently enjoyed a weekend stay at the White Porch Inn. After having done so, we highly recommend it to anyone in search of a seaside getaway! Perhaps the thing we enjoyed the most about the Inn was the attention to detail. From the picturesque décor to the thoughtfully prepared breakfasts, we enjoyed the perfect blend of luxury and Cape Cod casual. Another great thing about the Inn is that it is located only steps from the beach and shops. The fact that we didn’t have to drive to get to the beach or the action of downtown relieved us of any sense of responsibility and really allowed us to relax and enjoy all of the fun that P Town has to offer! We found our host Matt to be genuine and accommodating as well as hilarious! (I wanted to be his new best friend lol!) If you’re looking for an Inn that is clean and welcoming with a hospitable staff and great location- the White Porch Inn is it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie7153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 641 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2010

This inn is located right off Commercial Street, so you can't beat the location, except for the casual car revving an engine at 3:00 in the morning. That aside, the inn is newly refurbished, clean and quite attractive. The management and staff, however, leave a lot to be desired.

Inattentive at best, staff are unconcerned about guests' needs. Let me provide several examples: (1) When a drunken, rowdy group of women invaded the inn on a liquor sampling tour of several bed and breakfasts (sponsored by a liquor company), several of the inn guests were trying to have a nice conversation on the porch. When we asked Matt, the supposed "manager," to quiet the crowd, he stated he was going to do nothing, as "they have as much a right to be here as you do." (2) The inn advertised wine and cheese from 4:00 to 6:00. Wine rarely was served before 4:45, even though guests were waiting on the porch. When Matt finally decided to serve the wine on his timeframe, he served a half-empty bowl of nuts and cake leftover from the morning's breakfast, along with a bottle that was previously opened and only 1/4 full. (3) When off-duty, Matt and his helpers, who, collectively are the rudest and most insincere group of people we've ever met, took pleasure in deriding comments about the inn posted on a travel internet site. (4) When I asked for plain black tea, i was informed they did not have any. The second morning, I asked Matt for black tea again, and he said insolently, "how did you make it through yesterday without it?" Finally on the third, and last day, I got black tea. (5) Having stayed at several five-star inns, we judged the White Porch breakfasts unimaginative and sparse. Half of the last morning's blueberry muffins were burned and service was less than gracious.

It appears that many of the excellent reviews on this site were written when the owners, both named Tom, were in residence. Apparently, when the cat's away, the mice will play, for they certainly have the time because they do not care about client service. It's quite unfortunate, because with the right staff who really care about their guests, this could be a terrific place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank voyager81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

What a fantastic spot - we loved everything about the White Porch Inn. Gorgeous building, perfect town location, lovely breakfast, loved our room (highly recommend Nobska Light!), and Matt was the greatest. We just got home a couple hours ago and already booked again for October!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed at the White Porch Inn over the 4th of July and could not have been happier. My partner and I have been to Provincetown on multiple occasions and this is one of the best Inn's that there is. Tom and Matt made everything so wonderful. Everyday, there was wine on the porch for guests and their friends and breakfast was always just perfect. One very nice thing is that it was also quite quiet. You never heard your neighbor in the next room or even footsteps in the hall. The rooms were quite soundproof. We would highly recommend it to anyone looking in Provincetown.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

I was very happy with the White Porch Inn. Everything was clean, and the staff was very helpful. As soon as we arrived a sense of relaxation surrounded us. I would definately stay there again. The location was excellent. Very close to everything. Breakfast was delicious, plenty of choices for everyone. The best part was the wrap-around porch with the rocking chairs. We would have breakfast out there, and afternoon wine. It was very pleasant. We had a great time and will stay there again if we come back to Provincetown.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dl042312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

My partner and I recently stayed at the White Porch Inn in Provincetown for a week. We loved the place! The house is BEAUTIFUL, VERY tastefully done, all new and fresh, and in a perfect “walk to everything” location. We loved sitting and chatting with other guests on the front porch. Our room (Nausett) was bright and airy, beautifully decorated with a corner fireplace, nice bathroom with deep tub and rain shower, and great air conditioning. House keeping was responsive and did a nice job. Our host Matt was friendly, pleasant, cooks and serves a great breakfast (in a beautiful designer kitchen), and is great to look at to boot! Woof! It was a wonderful week, in a great town, staying at a great place, and we plan to return!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank res1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Wto only had a couple of days to get away and took the fast ferry from Boston to Provincetown. The White Porch Inn was perfect in every respect. The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was delicious and they were very accomodating of my husband's dietary limitations, the room was immaculate and beautifully appointed. The restaurants that the staff recommended were superb. Truly a magical experience!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi30342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
1.3 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Benchmark Inn
Benchmark Inn
#5 of 64 in Provincetown
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
8 Dyer Hotel
8 Dyer Hotel
#1 of 64 in Provincetown
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Porch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Porch Inn

Address: 7 Johnson St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range: $134 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Porch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the porch at the White Porch Inn, the unique boutique Provincetown bed and breakfast and art hotel. The Boston Globe says about our unique Provincetown hotel: "Sand, sun, and the wide flat horizon where the bay meets the sky is what Provincetown is all about. The recently renovated WHITE PORCH INN captures this spirit by combining casual elegance with contemporary design in a style they call "beachy-chic." Our Provincetown hotel with integrated art gallery known as In(n) Art has 10 tastefully decorated rooms with clean lines, calming qualities and contemporary art to help you enjoy your Provincetown vacation. The rooms in both the main house and the carriage house of our Provincetown guest house have private baths, flat screen TVs with DVD players, audio systems with bluetooth connectivity, free wireless broadband, air conditioning, and original paintings by artists from around the world. Many rooms of our Provincetown hotel also include fireplaces, spa tubs, and provide either views of the Pilgrim Monument, the romantic roof tops of Provincetown, or water views of Ptown harbor. A mix of contemporary & traditional art works can be found throughout the White Porch Inn, Provincetown's first art hotel. The living room, the front room and the kitchen, provide areas to mix and mingle with friends, both old and new - and as the spot simultaneously to enjoy In(n) Art, the integrated art gallery at the White Porch Inn. The porch of our Provincetown guest house is a great place to relax, unwind while having a European continental breakfast or a glass of wine and taking in water views or the sites of Provincetown. This Provincetown hotel is a member of the Distinctive Inns of Provincetown, and is conveniently located in the center of Ptown, just steps away from the fun of Commercial Street with its restaurants, bars, shops, galleries, Johnson Street Beach, and more. For many travellers, this Provincetown hotel is the perfect Cape Cod get-away. We at the White Porch Inn Provincetown hotel will do everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We hope that while you are searching through the various Provincetown hotels, inns, and guesthouses, you chose the White Porch Inn for your Provincetown vacation. See you soon in P'town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your White Porch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Porch Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing