We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great P-town sectet”
Review of Secret Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Secret Garden Inn
Ranked #12 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A great P-town sectet”
Reviewed September 21, 2010

This was our second stay at this inn...and there is a reason we returned.
1)The innkeepers (Abe and Tom) are the perfect hosts, friendly and helpful. You'll feel like a guest in their home. Great conversations over breakfasts.
2) Location, location, location! Set just steps off of busy Commercial St. the Secret Garden is a quiet oasis. We never heard any traffic noise and a glimpse of the bay from the upstairs porch.
3) Accommodations. The rooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable. Most of the rooms have full size (double) beds and shared baths. The two rooms downstairs share a full bath. Upstairs 1 room has a private bathe while the remaining four bedrooms share 1 1/2 baths. bathrobes and toiletries provided. There is also a small dorm style fridge in each room., big enough for a few cold drinks to have on hand.

We will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toby495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
96
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Found this B&B on Trip Advisor and am so very glad I gave it a try. This place is indeed a secret garden. Had a lovely 1st floor room with a comfy queen bed, and all the amenities I could want (including a small fridge for keeping things cold). Bath was just across the hall - nice and large and immaculate. Great porch with wonderful painted adirondack chairs which provided a place to read in peace and quiet. It is a bit difficult to find, but once ou do, it is definitely worth it! Will definitely return on my next visit to the Cape.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babygrandsue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

The Secret Garden has an outstanding location-the address is misleading as it is situated about 100 metres behind Commercial street up a small alley near to the Portuguese bakery. This means that you are in the center of Provincetown where the ferry docks and all the action happens, but you do not have the noise when trying to sleep at night. The garden is really beautiful and a great place to sit in the day or in the evening when it is all lit up with colored lights. The Inn is incredibly clean and the rooms are very comfortable. The rooms are fitted with an air conditioning unit which is useful as Provincetown can get very warm in July.THere is a free wifi system. Some rooms have shared bathroom but this seems to mean one bathroom shared between only 2 rooms, so it was never a problem. Abe and Tom are incredibly friendly people, and you feel like you are sharing their home rather than staying in a hotel, which of course you are. You will feel very comfortable here if you are gay or straight or anything else! The breakfast is really good with hot and cold food, and the room is a nice place to meet the other guests-it is full of interesting stuff and artworks that the owners have collected over the years. The price is also very reasonable compared with some of the other places I looked at in Provincetown. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BorisWestCountryUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

This is a B&B that I would denfinitly recommend. The hosts, Tom & Abe, of this B&B were so friendly, personable and accommodating. Usually it takes me a couple of nights to adjust before I can sleep soundly but the first night we were there I had a sound sleep. We were
very comfortable staying there, it was like your home. Everything was very clean,
breakfast was available every morning and was very good.

I plan to go back soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Champagne08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

My cousin and I totally enjoyed The Secret Garden Inn and its hosts. Although just off Commercial St. and within easy walking distance from the ferry, our back upstairs room was quiet. Although we did not have a private bathroom, it worked out well to go down the hall so we did not disturb each other when asleep. They graciously catered to my cousin's food preferences with a delicious breakfast. I liked eating in their kitchen and talking with them rather than being served in a separate dining area like some B&Bs. They were funny and friendly. We were busy biking and eating and shopping and otherwise exploring but there was a lovely balcony and of course the garden for relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilyandamigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhopal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2009

..in a nice and quiet alley this Inn is a nice little gem...due to the fantastic hospitaltity of the unique hosts. We spend a couple of days during the pre-season in one of the petite but affectionately decorated rooms and had the most wonderful time. We could use the parking lot nearby and you can choose a room with a shared bathroom tha was spotless clean, Definitely a come-back-soon-experience!

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MinaBhopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I found the Secret Garden Inn on Trip Advisor. I phoned the Inn Keepers, Tom and Abbe and found them to be very courteous and helpful so I booked a room for two nights. Upon my arrival they made me feel very much at home. This meant a lot to me as I am a female traveling by myself and this was my first overnight visit to Provincetown.

My room was perfect! I really appreciated the refrigerator in the room. I made use of both porches and enjoyed the serenity of the garden courtyard. The full breakfasts were wonderful and I especially enjoyed my conversations with Tom and Abbe.

It is hard to believe the Inn is behind Commercial Street because it was really quiet and the location (in the center of town) was perfect. I also appreciated the free parking which saved me $20 a night had I parked in a public lot.

I highly recommend the Secret Garden if you are traveling by yourself or a couple planning a romantic getaway. It really was a perfect vacation spot. After breakfast I would pick up prepared food at Far Land and spend the day at the beach, then relax back at the Inn before heading out for dinner (great recommendations from Tom and Abbe) and a stroll along Commercial Street to enjoy the shops and nightlife.

I now consider the Secret Garden to be my home away from home. I can't wait to return next year.

Beth

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BvBAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.1 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
1.4 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sage Inn & Lounge
Sage Inn & Lounge
#13 of 62 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.9 mi away
Masthead Resort
Masthead Resort
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Inn

Property: Secret Garden Inn
Address: 300A Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2204
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The picturesque 1830's sea captain's house, built for Commander David Hugo Hunter, sits in a tranquil garden that is the ideal getaway from your busy life. Yet whenever you're ready to re-engage, you are only 97 steps away from the epicenter of town offering unique shopping, superb dining and a bustling nightlife. We offer warm and inviting rooms with a continental breakfast to get you on your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Secret Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing