We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Must do, at least once!

The whale watch has become synonymous with Provincetown and for good reason. We saw a collection of... read more

Reviewed December 15, 2019
KeithLampmanPerlman
,
Provincetown, Massachusetts
via mobile
Awesome

I was not expecting to do any whale watching on my trip to the east coast over Columbus weekend. It... read more

Reviewed November 7, 2019
E5112UTLawrence
,
Sandusky, Michigan
Read all 2,028 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Provincetown
from $965.13
More Info
from $61.00
More Info
Bike Rental
1 Review
from $41.03
More Info
Reviews (2,028)
Filter reviews
2,028 results
Traveler rating
1,665
268
55
13
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,665
268
55
13
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews humpback whales whale watch great whale free dramamine great trip feeding grounds the upper deck stellwagen bank bring a jacket hour trip cape cod three hours their natural habitat amazing experience marine biologist boat ride bucket list
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
496 - 501 of 2,028 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2016

We booked this trip on line for the 4pm departure and the cost was $47. Good job we booked, the boat was really full with a large party. If you want to get a seat on the boat, I would advise you arrive 30 minutes before departure. It get quite chilly on the way back to Provincetown when taking this last trip so be sure you have a jacket for the return journey.

The boat left on time and there is a good drink and food outlet on board. There are also toilets in board.

We saw a pod of dolphins in the bay - about 250 was the estimate and they swam around the boat. We headed out to sea and saw Minkes and other whales - it was great. The boat staff are really really good on their whale information - very professional.

It is almost a given that you will see whales on these trip but there is a guarantee that you have a free trip if you don't see any whales.

This is a great trip that you should not miss.

A huge down side is that the local car parks do rip off visitors to Provincetown with their astronomical charges to park your car - $15 to park your car at 3pm - it really is shameful.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank joy4124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2016

While holidaying in Cape Cod, it would be rude to not go whale watching. We chose to go with Dolphin Fleet and booked online. A lot of reviews said the parking was at least $3.50 a day, but we managed to find The Parking Place in Bedford Street for $5 all day, so we felt we had a bargain. The weather was unseasonably warm, but very misty, which gave quite an eerie atmosphere out on the very calm water. The whole boat went quiet when the engine slowed and all eyes were on the water, waiting for a sighting. It was certainly worth the wait when we saw those bubbles rise and a huge humpback appeared just about 20 feet from the boat. We literally saw them left, right and centre. It was certainly a sight we always wanted to see and it far exceeded our expectations.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Bridget C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2016

We went out on a beautiful day near the end of October. It was 70 degrees, unusual for fall weather! Our guide and whale expert, Carolyn was fantastic with all the facts about the area and what Whales we would hopefully spot. We saw 7 or 8 bluefin and quite a few minky whales but we also spotted a bluefin caught up in a buoy and waited with it until the shoreline rescue team came to help it out. The rescue team were in contact and updated us with the progress on the day and we could find out the outcome on the website later on. Amazing day, whales all over the area, left and right with beautiful scenery too. Friendly crew.

Date of experience: October 2016
2  Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2016

This is my third whale watching trip around the world and it was the best experience by far (even more so than Maui during mating season!)! To start with the basics, the trip is CHEAP relative to San Francisco or Hawaii tours, the dolphin fleet was beautiful and comfortable with a friendly staff and the guide was a true professional who was more than just a guide as hes studied whales for decades.. While every trip is different, as you cannot "plan" where these beautiful animals chose to hang out, we saw at least 25 humpbacks during our outing. The staff was excellent at searching for their water spouts and at maneuvering the boat into great position. I cannot recommend this tour in mid October enough!

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank TheCallieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2016

Really great experience. Went out on a dull day hoping to see a few whales. We certainly weren't disappointed as we saw dozens of them! Always wanted to see whales and this was better than expected.
Well organised trip, good commentary up to the site and during the time there - so many whales we really didnt know where to look or which side of the boat to go.
Certainly well worth the money.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Justalocal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews