We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great watch”

Dolphin Fleet Whale Watch
Ranked #1 of 25 Tours in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whale-watching off the coast of Cape Cod led by expert naturalists.
2travelbug2go
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“great watch”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were very lucky. We went on one of the last whale watching trips of the season. Beautiful day and we had to go out pretty far, but we got two see two whales,The captain chose to follow the young Humpback whale. Along the way we spotted a lone grey seal. Wondered if any sharks were near by, but lucky for the seal there weren't.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2travelbug2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,216
    204
    43
    8
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Crossing this off my bucket list”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

As others have said, this is a once in a lifetime experience, there is no guarantee that you will see any whales (although they do give you a free ticket to another watch if you don't). Luckily for us we did see several whales of several different types. The staff were very courteous and safe, some of the other customers on the boat were a little rude (cough cough foreigners) with little regard for obeying the rules. After being told by one of the staff members to stay away from the front of the boat this one group kept acting obnoxious and taking pictures in the off limits area while their little brat kids ran around unchecked as they did the entire trip . But hey after all they don't speak the language right? Wasn't enough to ruin the experience at all though.

Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lots of Whales!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We saw Humpbacks, Fin whales and Minke whales. Nice stable boat. We'll worth the $44 price. The cafe even made a good bagel ham & egg sandwhich.

Helpful?
Thank KenTennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A chance of a lifetime”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

With the chance you may not see anything setting sail on the Dolphin VIII was a great adventure. Mike the whale specialist was full of knowledge and very entertaining. When you are faced with an empty ocean ahead of you, you are convinced that you will see nothing but we did! A pod do harbour porpoises, several Minke whales, a very cheeky harbour seal and a great long tail whale! Spectacular trip

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“"AWESOME"”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

It was my first time whale watching and it was an awesome experience! They provided a lot of background information and opportunities to ask questions. And once we started seeing whales, it was just amazing! They found the perfect spot and we saw so many whales...it's definitively worth it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 31esg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Fleet Whale Watch also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Dolphin Fleet Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing