We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Amazing!”

Dolphin Fleet Whale Watch
Ranked #1 of 25 Tours in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whale-watching off the coast of Cape Cod led by expert naturalists.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Was a part of this tour on our second day in the Cape Cod area. A family of five - three kids aged 6-13. Was a little concerned going in as we had been on a previous whale watching journey last year in Nova Scotia - no whales spotted. Had read earlier reviews that complained about time at sea, bad / rough water / not enough to do for the little ones, etc. We had a fantastic time. The ship was large and clean and the staff were excellent. Plenty of room for us to have a table - and we brought our own lunch. We were running about 18 kts the whole time and the sea was cooperating and was smooth for us the whole trip. I can only imagine that on a rough / windy day the water wouldn't be that much fun - but with a water tour this is part of the territory. We brought Dramamine for the kids - but didn't need it. At hour two - the crew spotted a fin whale - which was awesome. Kids were loving it. The next two hours we spent going back and forth and I believe we saw 2- 3 fin whales - which surfaced (for all to see) about 12-15 times. Plenty of whale action and all aboard got lots of pictures. After lots of great close encounters - we headed back. I would do this activity again - and would recommend it to other families. I would recommend this for ages 4/5 - adult. The wee kids may not enjoy it as much - but my 6 y old was thrilled. The teenagers also had a great time - and both thought it was a great part of the trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Shawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,216
    204
    43
    8
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitman, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fun Adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The boat was nice and the crew was great. We only saw 2 whales but that is not the company's fault. We could have stayed out a bit longer (the brochure says 3 to 4 hrs) we docked right at the 3 hr mark while only seeing 2 whales for a very short time. The concession stand was good and reasonably priced. The naturalist on board was very knowledgeable but they really need to do something to improve the PA system as she was very hard to understand. Overall it was a good trip and worth the investment.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank eventgallb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good trip- one whale”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our trip on the Dolphin VII was very good. We departed on time, The staff was friendly and professional and the boat was clean and well equipped. We traveled about an hour North and found one whale. Other whale watch companies also were in the areal watching this whale. This seemed to be the norm. We stayed on this whale for about 15 minutes then turned and went back to the dock.
It was great to see the whale but we had hoped for more. But since the whales could be anywhere and it's tough to find them we were happy to find one.
I would recommend Dolphin Fleet to friends. The price was fine and the company seemed to run the ships very well. The naturalist on our trip was informative and ready to answer all questions.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Whales Ahoy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of whale watching with the Dolphin Fleet. We have not been on any of the other boats offering tours, but can vouch that this is a good one. The outing lasts about 3.5 hours and is narrated by an onboard, knowledgeable marine biologist, which is helpful ... when the sound system works. Or only complaint would be that we could only hear what she said about half of the time. We left port at about 5pm and found four whales: two humpbacks and two finbacks, plus one seal. A family that was next to us while boarding had been on the same boat at the same time the previous day and saw over 20 whales, that is the chance you take with wildlife. This is not a zoo, so do not expect there to be any control over how many whales you see or what they are doing when you find them. Our whales were mostly swimming along, with the exception of Pinball, one of the humpbacks we saw. She, for some reason, rolled and wiggled as she floated on the surface, making for an entertaining first impression of her. She raised her tail and swished it around while bringing her pectoral fins out of the water as well. Honestly, just seeing a fluke rise out of the water before a whale dives is amazing.The boat was comfortable and we stayed on the bow the entire time. The seas were calm, so the ride was not very choppy. A BIG BONUS to the 4:30pm whale watch is that it doubles as a sunset cruise, which was beautiful. One big tip if you choose a tour at this time: make 9:15pm dining reservations a few days in advance at a Provincetown restaurant you want to try, they book up fast! We would highly recommend going on a whale watch, it is an amazing experience to simply see whales in the wild and is money and time well spent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1asp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Poor communication.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Not clear in materials that this is a long, rough and tumble trip not good for little ones under 4 or seniors. Outside of senior staff, crew seems ill equipped for ill passengers. Ride is way too choppy and long for little whale viewing. Inside cabin is too hot. AED's should be on board, they arent. Smoking should not be allowed in any section of boat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank mongoNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Fleet Whale Watch also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Dolphin Fleet Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing