We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best one to go on!!!”

Dolphin Fleet Whale Watch
Ranked #1 of 25 Tours in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Whale watching originators of east coast whale watching since 1975. trips depart daily from Provincetown harbor. 3-4 hours in duration. booking available on-line, private chartering available. trip times vary, up to 10 trips daily during July and August Season April- October
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Best one to go on!!!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Tops in their field, educational, bathrooms, snack bar.
A data gathering vessel, not just a commercial venture.
Bring sunscreen, sunglasses, jackets with hoods, (hats can fly off!) cameras/videos, binoculars.
Try to be hands-free so that you can hold on, move around deck with ease.
Wear sensible stable walking shoes too! Boarding ramps and stairs.
Indoor coverage is available! Been 4 times- never seen anyone seasick.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,289
    221
    47
    9
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 6 Contributor
519 reviews
270 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We went on the whale watch on a picture-perfect day in early October. I wasn’t sure what to expect since we were nearing the end of whale watching season. I pretty much figured that we would cross our fingers and hope we saw a whale. Since it was past peak tourist season, there were probably only 40-50 people on the boat. The boat was nice, well equipped with food, beverages and clean restrooms. The staff offered us all Dramamine as we walked on because the water was choppy from storms earlier in the week. We weren’t too worried but accepted anyway; for the price, you don’t want to spend four hours being sick (and some people were!)! The on-board naturalist and the employees were all very knowledgeable. On the ride out she told us about the different whales we might see and passed around some baleen (teeth/bristles). The sound system worked very well, which was good, because it turned out that she had a lot to discuss: within minutes of getting out into open water, we saw our first whale. Then another breached completely right beside the boat. Holy. Cow. For all four hours, we watched a group of six humpbacks and one Minke whale fish together (something our naturalist said was highly unusual). It was absolutely non-stop, whales everywhere. The naturalist identified all the whales for us by their by markings/shark bites/fishing line injuries. She told us about their calves, how many they’ve had, and where they travel to. It was absolutely, freaking amazing and worth every single penny. I felt bad for the people who skipped the Dramamine and got sick, because they missed an incredible show. I know not every trip will be like this, but go prepared! I took 685 (yes, 685) pictures and I think I weeded it down to about 200.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Beentheredonethat777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A GREAT TIME”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

VERY worth every penny!! We went here today (4-17-2013) and we were pretty wary of not seeing any animals, considering how early in the season it is. BUT Mother Nature did NOT disappoint!! We saw a BUNCH of animals. I know this is not under the control of the place, but the guides were fantastic! VERY knowledgeable & VERY friendly! They got just as excited as the guests did to see the animals! The views were terrific and the captain knew just where to go to see the most wildlife! A MUST DO if you are on the CAPE!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jodi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“An experience of Life Time.”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

A trip to remember. It was just an awesome sunny day, best for the whale watching. The views of Provincetown were magnificent. There were whales everywhere right in the middle of the ocean, i took lot of pictures and loved it. If you are in Boston or MA, must make a day trip plan for the Provincetown, i am sure you are going to love it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MudsMuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

OMG if ever the opportunity presents you..DO THIS! It has to be one of the best moments of my life. Never do you expect for a sight to be so breathtaking but it truly was. We have been fortunate enough to do a day time and a sunset trip with the Dolphin feet and both times were beyond our expectations and some of the footage we were fortunate enough to capture of these magnificant animals were amazing.
You can book your trip on line or at the dock, its not particularly expensive for what you get to see, on average about $40 per person and the trip both times for us has been a success. However there is no guarantee that you will get to see anything although the people on the boat willl do their very best!
The commentator on the boat is very knowledgeable and provides you with lots of information on the whales that you are lucky enough to see.
Both times the boat trip out has been good and if you suffer from sea sickness usually a tablet will cure you from feeling queasy...my main advice would be to put on lots of sunblock as even when it was a little overcast we got burnt!
Amazing experience would do it again and again ....

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank natzcoomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Fleet Whale Watch also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Dolphin Fleet Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing