We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disaster”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Devon's - MOVED

Devon's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: re-OPENING APRIL 29th, 2016 for weekend schedule until JUNE 13th when open 6 days (closed THURSDAY) Call for reservations or more information
Provincetown, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disaster”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This was the first time in my life I ever sent a meal back. I ordered the pork chop which was about 75% FAT. The chef refused to accommodate with another meal within a reasonable amount of time. My fellow diners were half way through their meal and she said it would take 20 minutes to prepare scallops (hint: they take 3 minutes a side max). The restaurant is open kitchen, and I watched her stand there doing nothing…it wasn't busy.

When I asked the hostess to talk to the manager, she informed me that he (Devon) was too busy waiting on tables to talk to me.

I spend quite a bit of money in Provincetown at restaurants.

Devon's = NEVER AGAIN

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hardy01985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    53
    16
    7
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We went to Devon's this morning for breakfast and were very happy with our meal and the service. I had a delicious omelet with baby spinach, roasted roma tomatoes and mozzarella while my husband enjoyed the special which was blueberry and peach pancakes. The 7 grain bread was fabulous with the homemade raspberry jam. While Devon's is small it is well worth stopping by and enjoying the really good food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel8653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
313 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Excellent service, creative menu, fabulous food.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Spending the summer in Provincetown is allowing us to enjoy and critique some of the numerous restaurants in this wonderful seaside town. Our recent experience at Devon's was exceptional. We made reservations for an outside table at this very small restaurant and were warmly greeted upon arrival and seated immediately. The rest of the evening equaled our first impressions. We shared an appetizer of cold shrimp which were fresh and absolutely delicious, the dipping sauce was out of this world. We then chose our entrees of baked hake and baked halibut. Both entrees were, for lack of a better word, 'outstanding'. The fish was fresh, flavorful and cooked perfectly. Portions were large, but not over the top, which was an added bonus. We chose a bottle of moderately priced wine from a small but interesting wine list. Probably the most impressive aspect of the evening was the exceptional service. Knives were replaced between courses without our even knowing it and our server was knowledgeable, professional and friendly. We must also compliment Devon, the owner, whose personal attention was exceptional. The restaurant is not inexpensive, but on par with other top restaurants in town. Highly recommended. We would suggest an outside table, assuming the weather cooperates, as the inside space can best be described as 'cozy', which is not a criticism of the inside ambiance. We will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irish_Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delightful breakfast”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Wonderful summer pancakes and crispy bacon to make the best of a rainy morning. Both the cornmeal and buttermilk pancakes were delicious, and we enjoyed dining outdoors on the covered patio, even though it was rainy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank L0vesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice little place for good dinner”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Devon's is a small place, somewhat overlooked in East End of Commercial Street, but it is really worth a visit, based upon our experiences again this year. Seating is tight in this little spot, but service is good and the food is better than good. We stuck with seafood, seared scallops and bouillabaisse, a very tasty salad with melon and smoked bluefish, quinoa cake, and some very well presented desserts. Wine list was okay, nothing special, and the mixed drink was average.

Nice place, and they care about the food. Decent value by Provincetown standards as well.

We will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devon's also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing