We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to recommend” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria House
Ranked #48 of 63 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Uzes, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hard to recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was a last minute booking, following a wedding in Rhode Island, and came at the suggestion of our innkeeper in Bristol, R.I., whose own property, the William Grant's was a delight.
Ours was a queen size bedroom, but fronting onto a noise Provincetown street, with late night revellers passing right outside our ground floor window until the early hours, and then the municipal street sweeping vehicle seemingly coming into the room at 5am.
For the price we paid we were disappointed with the lack of amenities; no tea/coffee maker in the room, no hair dryer, the breakfast element only applies in July and August, and the "bathroom" little more than a small toilet with a minute shower and the basin in the bedroom. We will certainly give Victoria House a miss next time.

Room Tip: We didn't see the other rooms, but avoid the street level room fronting the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Airportroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaHouseInn, Manager at Victoria House, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Sir and Madame, In response to your low rating on of your stay. I would like to point out a few things. One: we are a mid range affordable guest house, we are not a luxury bed and breakfast with a lot of luxury amenities. Two: You called at 6:50am to book this room, which quite honestly is inconsiderate. I gave you a discounted rate on a very attractive room, and even explained to you this had a WC European type bathroom and you were quite aware of that before you even finished booking. You came during off season when we do not have a full time staff due to lower occupancy except during weekends. Three: I was the sole person on duty handling every function of the inn. I had postponed a medical appointment for 2 days in order to be here and take care of some internal business. I left you a welcome letter, instructions about parking and breakfast, and keys to your room. 4: This is an antique house standing 170 years old and Provincetown is known for a big of raciness after hours, but it lasts briefly. Most people comment on how surprisingly quiet the rooms are. For the amenities we offer, we are a most generous and attractive inn in PTown. I suspect you would have been happier in a 5 star B&B and not a budget minded guest house. I also suspect any level of effort on our part would not have pleased you. I was here the entire time you were registered and not once did I hear anything from you during your stay. Your review is biased and frankly inaccurate and if you should ever return to Provincetown, I suggest a little research before booking same day last minute on a lark. We do our best but not everyone is pleased. I could not help but notice your wife had posted a similar review of us only a couple of hours after your (late departure). Our reviews are 99% positive and your review contradicts almost all of them. That says something about expectations and accuracy of the review. I even bid you farewell upon departure and reiterated I regretted not being able to be here at checkin after office hours. You smiled and said to me "Not an problem. Farewell." I am truly sorry you disliked the inn so much as to write such an negative (unfair) assessment. Mildred and I go out of our way non stop for over 250 days with no break to assure guests satisfaction. We have never been publicly dismissed as inept and offering terrible service...it simply is not true, If ever in PTown again I would be happy to either upgrade your room to our largest room, or if you wish, a luxiry deluxe property you may feel more comfortable with. Sincerely, James Twiss, Manager Victoria House Provincetown, Cape Cod, Massachusetts 02657
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    10
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
27
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed for four nights in July. The room was comfortable and beyond clean. The location is amazing and surprisingly quiet for the center of town. The manager and other staff were friendly and helpful. I loved the breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
137 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at Victoria House for 2 nights. Great location, right in the centre of Provincetown, very clean and quiet, generous breakfast and an extremely kind, helpful manager, very knowledgeable about the area (plus, he has good taste: he likes Annie Lennox :-).

Besides all the parties going on, Provincetown is a poetic place with a soul (like the house), do take the time to rent a bike (30 seconds on foot from Victoria House) and explore the surroundings, get lost in the dunes and listen to the wind and the sea.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are small, if this is a problem for you check when booking what kind of room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed two nights, on the last week of August. We had booked a double room with shared bathroom, but when we arrived, we were upgraded to a double with private bathroom, with no additional charges. The room was very nice and comfortable, and the bathroom impeccable. Delicious breakfast too, with fresh bread, yoghurts and fruits. And the staff was considerate and helpful! The location is perfect, just 2 min away from the harbour.

Room Tip: Lovely double room on the ground floor, but maybe the upper floor is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ariana82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here recently during Carnival week and what a great place. For the price the location couldn't have been beat. I was looking for a place that was near everything but not way off the beaten path, and this is right off the corner of Commercial St. and Standish St. maybe a 10 minute walk to the fast ferry. We stayed in room 2, which had its own private bath. The room was decent in size, CLEAN, had an air conditioner, mini fridge, tv, and closet space. The bathroom was small but efficient and again clean. Jim the property manager is just a sweetheart and really takes pride in his work. In the morning he puts out a little spread on the common patio (where it is perfect to sip wine, have some nibbles and enjoy the ocean air) which consists of some yogurt, juices, local baked goods, cereal and really good coffee. I can't speak for the shared bathroom rooms, but I would surprised if it's anything less than what I described. Looking forward to coming back!

Room Tip: Room 2 is great, only thing it's on the street side which gets sunny early. Rooms 3 and 4 have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I have stayed here for two years in a row and completely enjoy my stays. The manager, Jim Twist, is very friendly, informative and personable. The housekeeper, Mildred, is excellent and does a great job at daily housekeeping service. The rates are reasonable for the rooms you get. Unlike other Inn's they don't overcharge visitors or put minimum stays/restrictions on visitors, which is the reason I keep coming back. I typically get a room with a private bath and they are very nice. However, the rooms upstairs with shared baths are equally nice but slightly smaller. Victoria House is dead center in town making it very convenient to walk anywhere in P-Town. They don't offer parking so you will need to park in a lot on either end of Standish Street. There are parking meters across the street if your lucky enough to get one. The light breakfast in July and August is just enough to get going in the morning and GREAT coffee! The courtyard is small but pleasant and has new patio furniture with tables and chairs. I would not hesitate in recommending this Inn to anyone visiting P-Town who wants a clean and reasonable affordable place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 3 is on the side of the house and has a private entrance and small private patio on the back si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My partner and I stayed in room 1 with private bath and it was perfect for our visit over Independence Week. It's a quiet location on Standish street yet centrally located. As mentioned in previous reviews you are literally in the very heart of Ptown, with Commercial street just a few feet away. The large queen bed provided for great sleeping after nights out on the town. Some very nice bonuses were the large mini fridge, the large shower and the air conditioner worked great! We really needed this during our stay as temps climbed into the 90's on many days. In addition the room was immaculately clean and tastefully decorated. There is also a very nice continental type breakfast spread on the back terrace every morning which consisted of croissants, fresh fruit, different pastries every day, juice, cereal, greek yogurt and coffee. You will not find a better value in all of Ptown and will definitely have a very comfortable stay. Victoria House is one of a kind for this central location and felt like staying in a friend or family's guest room, rather than a guest house.

Also, kudos to Jim for being such an accommodating host! From the time I booked the visit way back in February he went above and beyond providing very useful information via email and over the phone. Jim made great suggestions to ensure our visit went seamlessly. This was quite useful as first time visitors to Provincetown. Jim also went out of his way to suggest a great restaurant the last night of our stay, Fanizzi's by the Sea, which looked delightful. Unfortunately we didn't get in... We'lll have to go there next time. Victoria House would definitely be my first choice next time in Provincetown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IACityTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.3 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
20.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.8 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#3 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#13 of 14 in Provincetown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
17.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Eastham Cape Cod
24.8 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Property: Victoria House
Address: 5 Standish St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1419
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This antique 1850 home in Provincetown's center has an outdoor garden patio, lots of 19th century charm, along with modern amenities like free Wi-Fi access in every room. Guests can relax on the terrace and enjoy the harbor's breezes at this gay-friendly guesthouse.Part of the appeal of the Victoria House is the quirky antiquity of unusually shaped rooms, each spotless and well kept. The rooms' decor is tasteful, and each has a flat-screen cable TV, air conditioning (in season), mini refigerators, individally framed unique photography of Provincetown's views. The six European-style rooms sharing two large common baths are located on the 2nd floor, and 4 rooms offering private bathrooms on the first floor.In July and August a continental breakfast is served daily outdoors on the patio. As well, there are many restaurants, including The Lobster Pot and The Mews are a 5 minute walk from Victoria House. The ferry to and from Boston is at the far end of the road, about a 4 minute walk.The Pilgrim Monument & Museum is 2 blocks away and Art’s Dune Tours is directly across the street. Herring Cove Beach is a 10 minute bike ride away. Many art galleries are just a few blcvks away towards the quieter east end of town. We are ideally situated to do and see everything Provincetown has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing