We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Sunset Inn”
Review of The Sunset Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Provincetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sunset Inn
Ranked #49 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Buffalo, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Sunset Inn”
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Andy and Lenny were very accomodating, Beautiful room very spacious, the room was spotless great 3rd floor deck to watch the sunset and see right to the water, great rocking chairs to view Bradford Street and people watch. Great Continental Breakfast every morning and tons of brochures and flyers right at the house for suggestions on sightseeing and resturants. The location is perfect you can walk to the shops and resturants and just a short 5 minute walk to famous Commerical Street. We found our new home away from home, and loolking forward to our return

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmtrunfio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NYC Suburbs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Sunset Inn. It's a cute b&b in a convenient central location on Bradford St. We parked our car in their lot for the week and walked around Ptown. The owners were friendly to us and served a basic breakfast each day. Rooms were cozy but clean and we slept soundly each night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pantalones_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this bed and breakfast for 1 night during a trip to Cape Cod. The rate was great, especially given the location.....close to all of the shopping and restaurants. The rooms were nice....older, but more on a "quaint" side of nice. They were furnished pretty well......the bed was comfortable, but needed to be changed out for a new one. Instead of a DVD player, they had a VCR in the room.....breakfast was a warm muffin, cold cereal, oatmeal, a few banana's and coffee. We had traveled the better part of the day and checked out a number of hotels / cottages along the way, and were happy to find a vacancy this close to the downtown part of Provincetown.
One word of caution - After spending the evening shopping, havng dinner, watching the "sights", enjoying dessert, we went back to the hotel to head in for the night. We were in bed watching TV, just about to sleep, when the door opened! I had locked the door, but either they gave our room (and key) to another guest, or one of the staff need to crash for the night, and due to a mixup in the office, they thought our room was empty. It was a bit unsettleing.....When the door opened, i yelled "Hello - we're in here"....at which point the woman said "sorry", closed the door, and left. I got up and put our suitcases in front of the door......probably should have used a chair, but it was late.....
Would we stay there again? maybe......however the worst part was when i checked out, there was a woman in the office, who just took my key.....didn't say anything about what had happened the night before.......maybe she didn't know.......maybe it was her who came in our room.......

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank knkv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

We stayed in Room 203 with two full beds - one for me and my boy and the other for our friend.

The Good:
Overall the Inn is located in a great spot - in the center of town and on Bradford. It's a little more quiet than being right on Commercial but still within walking distance to everyplace. The sun decks were wonderful and we got to meet many people as we relaxed on the decks during the day. The views from each deck were excellent. The rooms were cleaned daily. For the three of us, the total stay for 5 nights was about $1000 which is a decent value. There was plenty of parking.

The Bad:
Upon arrival our room had 3 towels. We asked for additional towels as we had just spent most to the day in the car and wanted to shower. We would be showering again that evening before we went out and wanted another dry set. At first the hosts explained they try to conserve and the B&B septic system can't handle excessive laundry and requested we reuse our towels. It was uncomfortable to me personally. About 15 mins later we got a knock at our door and they brought fresh towels. Yes they did accommodate but a small issue was made of it. I call it an issue because I just gave a approx $1000 to now have to negotiate over towels and explain we were all sweating from the car ride?? They had made me feel like a bother. The shower itself sprayed out in a mist and took about 3 times amount of time to wash off soap. There was no adjusting it. There were P-Touch labels all over the walls in the bathroom reminding us that there is a fragile septic system at the B&B and certain restrictions on single ply toilet paper. The beds themselves were not very comfortable and had a very "old" feeling to them. Pillows were flat and when we asked for additional pillows, we were now uncomfortable due to the towel incident. On the sun decks there were two garbage cans - one for recycling and one regular. No joking -all over each was about 15 P-Touch labels with rules for throwing out specific types of trash. On the wall on our room was a framed memo of house rules. There were P-Touch labels all over the B&B. During the continental breakfast in the covered danish tray - there were about 10 P-Touch labels with rules on how to take out a danish with tongs (No Hands!) The AC in the room has P-Touch labels instructing the guest never to leave it on when they are not in the room due to electricity use??? There is also no WI-FI in the building and I felt that some renovations needed to take place as paint was peeling both in the room and outside. The place is charmgin but needs updating. My feeling is they had had some untidy guest that did a number on the place at one time. But someone needs to relax with the P-Touch Labels. If you are concerned about the quality of quest - raise your prices. I travel a bit and want to be accommodated and made to feel at home. You know - I am on vacation I do not want to be concerned about toilets, septic systems and laundry.

I am certainly not one to go out of my way to complain, just stating what had happened. I probably would not go back just because of the tackiness of the entire thing.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elementzzofstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

This was a great find on Cape Cod, the hosts were excellent very helpful and friendly, recommending lots of local bars / restaurants.
Very comfortable room with lots of period features. Lovely homely feel breakfast was included in price.

Although we went "out of season" being April we still found the town and hotel had a good atmosphere - book well in advance for the season

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chessykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

Back again and well worth the 22 hours of travel.
Andy and Lenny at the Inn are truly welcoming, the Inn is so clean and snug, you just chill as soon as your head hits the pillow on the first night.
I do enjoy the breakfasts sitting on the deck in the rockers looking over Bradford street its just a perfest start to the day.
The Sunset Inn is so well located for town only one block from Commercial street and just along from Farlands who do such delicious sandwiches for picnics at the beach.
End the day watching the sun go down from the top deck at the Sunset Inn with a glass of wine in hand.......what a perfect vacation yet again.
Don't miss the Sunset Inn on your next trip to P'town.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and good hospitality
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Macham47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

I stayed at the Sunset Inn between 14th and 31st August 2008 which means I can vouch for the consistency of what I experienced.
The Sunset Inn is very comfortable, very clean and very friendly. Andy and Lenny are on hand to make sure standards are maintained.
Breakfast can be taken either in your room, on one of the decks, on a balcony overlooking Bradford Street or in the peaceful garden.
Commercial Street is a mere stroll away, and although the Inn is located on Bradford Street the double glazing and air conditioning ensures a very quiet environment.
I will definitely return.

  • Liked — Friendliness, cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
1.0 mi away
West End Inn
West End Inn
#40 of 62 in Provincetown
48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayberry Accommodations
Bayberry Accommodations
#30 of 62 in Provincetown
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bradford - Carver House
Bradford - Carver House
#33 of 62 in Provincetown
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Christopher's by the Bay
Christopher's by the Bay
#29 of 62 in Provincetown
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gifford House Inn
Gifford House Inn
#44 of 62 in Provincetown
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa
Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa
#6 of 62 in Provincetown
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Inn

Property: The Sunset Inn
Address: 142 Bradford St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1450
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Inn in Provincetown, MA on Cape Cod has been a guest house since the 1940's. This guest house has many features including twenty guest rooms, three sundecks, a back patio, backyard and also includes continental breakfast and free parking. Situated one block from Commercial Street, it is centrally located and an easy walk to restaurants, shopping, bars, dance clubs, cabarets, comedy shows and art galleries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing