We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at this bed and breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Clarendon House
Ranked #24 of 64 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We had a great stay at this bed and breakfast. Dale is a sweetheart. I have a gluten allergy and he really took care to have gluten free pancakes and etc. The room was very clean and quiet. My partner and I would definitely stay here again.

Thanks Dale!

Room Tip: We made our reservation months in advance. It was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aixa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 45 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

Just got back from a P-Town trip and can't stop talking about Dale's place. He has a great B&B in a fabulous location! He is walking distance to everything you can need and is very accommodating. He has great size rooms for a great price. It is not a "fancy" place, but Dale makes up for anything you could miss. He offers FREE water, soda, coffee, tea, fresh fruit, and homemade cookies 24/7! He also makes a great fresh hot breakfast every morning. Roof deck, free movies, patio area, and hot tub just complete the package. I would recommend the Clarendon house to anyone who is looking to visit P-Town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loves2travelBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The Clarendon House is my Provincetown home. It is a charming old house right in the heart of Ptown (kitty corner from Town Hall on Bradford Street - right under the Pilgrim Monument). The decor is classic and comfortable. I will go on record as saying that this is not the fanciest place to stay in town, but the price reflects that. If you're looking for uber-fancy, there's plenty of places you can pay $300 a night for. The rates that The Clarendon House charges are reasonable and represent great value for what you get. But I don't want that to sound like a Holiday Inn review. The Clarendon House is special. The rooms are all individually decorated. There is a warmth that you would never find in the more "affordable" or even the more "stylish" lodging options around town.

Dale is the perfect host. He is friendly, accommodating, charming, gracious...the list goes on and on. He takes such great care of his guests.

The room rate includes a daily homemade breakfast which would easily cost you $20 or more per person at most restaurants in Provincetown. It also includes coffee 24/7; one of the biggest selections of teas I've ever seen; a fridge stocked with sodas, water, juice, yogurt, fruit, and breakfast leftovers; a selection of homemade cookies and scones available day and night; popcorn; sunscreen; beach towels; a fully outfitted picnic basket; wi-fi; TONS of cable channels; a DVD library. Between breakfast, Diet Coke, water, coffee and snacks, I saved $30 or more a day by staying here.

The house has a generous sized roof deck that gets sun all day, a hot tub (which I didn't have an opportunity to use on this visit), a relaxing garden in the back perfect for enjoying a cup of coffee and reading a book.

The combination of the charming accommodations, the extremely reasonable rates, the amenities, and the Dale - the perfect host, I would recommend The Clarendon House to everyone.

Room Tip: If you're a little more budget minded, get one of the "shared bathroom" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dansoleau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Clarendon House remains the best value in Provincetown. Dale is an exceptional host and looks after his guests. Where can you find the combination of price, parking, location and a full breakfast, not to mention the roof top deck for sunning and the hot tub to relax in after a day in town or the beach? Dale is always available to help and answer your questions. I can't think of a better B&B in town for the price. Pets are allowed in the cottage is another plus for those of you with pets !

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Dale has to be the nicest host of a B&B we've met. The rooms are spacious, clean, beautiful and very affordable (at least in the off-season), but the real perk is that you feel very, very welcome: We were picked up from the ferry, the breakfast was always delicious and plentiful, there's complimentary scones and tea all the time, and Dale is always around and happy to chat.
Also, you can't stay much closer to the centre of Provincetown.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Dale is an exceptional host! I've stayed at numerous places in P'town, and this has to be the best. The combination of price and location can't be beat. However it was all the small details that made the stay wonderful. Cookies fresh from the oven and lemon squares all day and night, soda, water, and coffee available all of the time. And don't forget the full breakfast every morning! I must say, imported jellys, greek yougurt, fresh fruit, bagels, toast, etc were nice, but the hot breakfast items were exceptional, the menu was posted for the week in the kitchen showing each days special, eggs and bacon, french toast, pancakes with blueberries, quiche to name a few. The hot tub was clean, and the outside areas (roof top deck and patio) even had bug spray to keep the bugs away. One guest needed an additional night lodging and as the Inn was booked, Dale found several other places for him to look into, he also checked the traffic conditions for us before we headed off the cape. You can spend more in P'town, but will not find a better value and a great Inn keeper to boot. Thanks Dale !

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

I recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone staying in Boston it is very well located, and the staff is the most friendly and courteous I have encountered.

Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank MarcusB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.3 mi away
Queen Vic Guest House
Queen Vic Guest House
#18 of 64 in Provincetown
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Admiral's Landing
Admiral's Landing
#4 of 64 in Provincetown
537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Charm
Charm
#19 of 64 in Provincetown
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Secret Garden Inn
Secret Garden Inn
#11 of 64 in Provincetown
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Porch Inn
White Porch Inn
#7 of 64 in Provincetown
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tucker Inn
Tucker Inn
#39 of 64 in Provincetown
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon House

Address: 118 Bradford St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1427
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range: $138 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Clarendon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing