We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Acceptable”
Review of Inn at the Moors

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at the Moors
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

While I think this place is misnamed as an "Inn", we found it to be fine for our brief stay in this nice town. Really a motel from a number of years ago, the Moors has done a decent job of keeping up with the times by modernizing the bathrooms (still very small), and providing a very nice bed with excellent sheets. The veranda looks out to a vast and beautiful wetland with herons and all that. The walk to town is not short (a mile?) but provides a lot of interest along the way.
A decent but basic breakfast is provided in the lobby. The gal who seems to run the place is friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Upper level has slightly better views.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylnsam56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse H, Manager at Inn at the Moors, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor, and taking the time to review our property. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We try to keep up with modernization, without losing the quaint atmosphere, and traditional Cape Cod style. Thank you for mentioning. As for the walk, it is about a mile (give or take), depending on where in town you are walking. It is safe and leads to the quietness we enjoy out here on the West End. I am trying to figure out which gal you are mentioning, but from all the gals here, we appreciate you noticing that we run the place nicely and efficiently. All the girls here thank you for the mention. Have a great Winter and maybe (hopefully) we will see you again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Inn at the Moors
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 140 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was women-owned. We stayed three nights here. The service was disappointing (luke warm welcome, ambivalent goodbye upon departure and minimal assistance provided), hotel room clean but sparten, but the view was beautiful (make sure you stay upstairs as all rooms on ground level open on to a car park).
Be warned it is a long walk from the pier (longer than suggested when I sent an email of enquiry), but there are bikes around the corner (you need to get there before 5 to hire one). Once we had bikes it was much easier to be located so far out of town and we really enjoyed being close to the bike paths in the dunes and were able to ride easily into town.
The breakfast is awful - cakes, old fruit and luke warm water for tea and coffee.
It was pleasant because there were few people staying there, but we will look for something else next time.

Room Tip: Make sure you pay extra and stay upstairs.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse H, Manager at Inn at the Moors, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

First of all I want to thank you for taking the time to review our property and giving us your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed our unique location. Being on the West side of town, a little outside of the downtown area, leads to the quietness and serenity we are known for and enjoy. I am sorry you didn't feel properly welcomed nor sufficiently assisted. We pride ourselves in our customer service, therefore I apologize if you felt it lacking. We hope you asked for the assistance you needed, because, we always have someone on staff to provide all the help one could need; but if we do not know you are in need of anything, we cannot remedy it. And just to clear up the comment about our Continental Breakfast (we are sorry you felt it wasn't quite up to your standards); we serve much more than just fruit and coffee cake. We provide juice, coffee, yogurt, croissant, coffee cake, fruit, assorted tea (which we offer hot water to steep with; which can always be reheated AT ANY TIME for any guests who finds it too warm, provided they let us know that it isn't hot enough for their liking) and always a friendly face every morning. We are happy you chose to stay with us, and again appreciate your taking the time to comment. Wishing you a wonderful upcoming Holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Friends recommended this motel so we decided to try it although we usually prefer to stay in small inns/B&Bs. We were glad we took their advice because the location is amazing. We had a king-size room on the upper level which looked out on to the salt marsh and beyond to the sea. In the perfect fall weather, it was simply beautiful and we loved sitting on the balcony, watching great blue herons, greater yellowlegs and other birdlife. We even took our continental breakfast upstairs so we could eat it looking out at this view. The room was simple but comfortable (especially the bed) and it was very quiet indeed at night. The staff were friendly. We'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank FrequentTraveller149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse H, Manager at Inn at the Moors, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

I cannot thank you enough for the wonderful, honest review of your stay. We appreciate people taking the advice of their friends, and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself. Thank you again for taking the time to right something for our future guest to read. I am very thankful that you had a great time, and will look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Enjoy the Fall and Winter seasons! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Inn at the Moors is the best motel in Provincetown. We have been staying there for years and love it. It is what Provincetown was originally know for...the beaches. Clean, comfortable and away from town. The rooms are nicely decorated but simple including the bathrooms. Stay upstairs and be treated to the salty ocean breeze everytime you open the door to the balcony that over looks the MOORS! The staff is friendly and accomodating. Loretta and Diane could not have done it better but for their nephew Jesse. Jesse has not only carried the tradition of a very friendly motel but he does it genuinely. Can't wait until next year!

Room Tip: Stay in the upper level rooms for the best ocean view and breeze!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse H, Manager at Inn at the Moors, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you very much for the kindly worded review of the property. We are so glad to hear you had a wonderful time. I really appreciate your compliments. My staff and I work very hard to make sure all of our guests are welcomed then taken care of, and I will pass the compliments on to them. Have a great Winter and we will look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Halfway up the cape, we get a call from Jesse, telling us we had forgotten a rather expensive painting we had purchased in town. He mailed it to us, arrived in great shape. This was typical of the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff at Inn on the Moors. We enjoyed our visit immensely, and with the right set of expectations (see other reviews), you will have a pleasant stay. Pros: easy parking, simple but substantial continental breakfast, CLEAN. Cons: A long walk into the action on Commercial Street - park at a public lot closer into town. Tip: Get a member card to the National Seashore to avoid $15 per day parking at Herring Cove or Race Point beach. Book a room on the second floor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse H, Manager at Inn at the Moors, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you very much for the kind words, and especially I appreciate you taking the time to leave your thoughts on your stay, for our future guests. I really appreciate the sincerity and thoughtfulness of your review. I am happy you received your painting, and will look forward to seeing you again soon. Wishing you a wonderful Fall and Winter season; thank you again for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I was there for Carnival week in room 11. Manager Jessie, Loretta, Diane & staff where awesome & very accommodating to us at all times. They had a great BBQ for the guests & added a new picnic table. Already booked for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alcobaca2460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse H, Manager at Inn at the Moors, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you very much for the kind compliments. We enjoy Carnival for many reasons, although the best part is the return guests we get to enjoy the celebration with. I really appreciate you taking the time to leave a comment on your stay. We are looking forward to next year. Have a great offseason!
Thank you again for always staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Some pluses and minuses.

First... the website and name are a little bit misleading. This is a motel, or "motor inn" or "motor lodge." To call it an Inn is simply wrong.

The photos on the site emphasize the surrounding area -- not the actual property that is the Inn at the Moors.

We were on the ground floor - our door a few feet from our car and the parking lot.

If we return we'll definitely pay more to be on the upper level -- where you park around back right at your door... but then have a porch/deck overlooking the marshes and the water (and parking lot). Kinda hard to explain. Sorta like the first floor rooms are a walk-out basement.

Carefully go through the website and virtual tour to understand what you're getting. Ignore the spectacular photos of surfers and such. Really look at the photos of the property and rooms.


The staff is very nice and accommodating. The place has a nice laid-back vibe to it.

It's clean. Not exactly super-modern and renovated... but definitely not down-at-the-heel either. Like staying in a decent 1970s motor lodge.

The a/c was new and very good.

The sheets and towels were clean. The bedding is the typical spongy pillow and foamy blankets. Though the bedspread was nicer so we used that. The bed was fine.

Yes you're away from the madness of Commercial St. Is The Moors quiet, though? not exactly. Your neighbor returns from a night of reverie or starts their car at 7am and it's literally 15 feet from your bed.

We could hear our upstairs neighbor walk across the room. Ours was particularly noisy. (Not The Moors fault.)

The coffee is pretty good! The rest of the breakfast is nothing special - supermarket pastries, muffins and fruit.

Cell service is spotty. Wifi is reliable but a little slow. Nether was a disappointment, as i'm there to get away.

The broader location is nice... out on the tip of the Cape. But the way it's set on the road with no sidewalks, etc... is simply charmless. Again, it's a motel in a nice spot on the cape.

We liked the long walk into town. We try not to drive when we're in Ptown. But at night with no sidewalks, it could make some people uncomfortable. Traffic is light and it was fine for us. If you like to drive everywhere then that wouldn't be an issue for you.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the upper level.
Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank olddrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse H, Manager at Inn at the Moors, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion and remark on your stay with us. I am happy your enjoyed the majority of your stay. We cannot improve without getting feedback from our guests, so it is much appreciated. Things like the cell phone service and lack of sidewalks (on the National Seashore that we are abutted against), are out of our control. We also need to have a parking lot for our guests, and therefore cannot do anything about guests noticing cars in their view. I personally look beyond the parking lot, barely noticing anything except the ever-changing Moors and the beautiful Dunes; the protected National Seashore that is simply across the street, with a view from ALL of our rooms. And we provide the pool area and BBQ deck, on the opposite side of the parking lot, with ample chairs and plenty of room, to enjoy high-tide, low-tide, sunsets, thunder storms, and uncountable stars at night, and occasionally, as in this weekend, meteor showers.
We do not mean to advertise that we are anything that we are not. It was named the Moors Inn since it was built in the 1950s, and was changed to the Inn at the Moors when it was purchased over 20 years ago, to pay respect to the original name. It is been upgraded year after year, including the air conditioning you had commented on, as well as MANY other renovations, to make it the beautiful property it has become today. I think to call it a "motor inn" is also misleading.
As for continental breakfast; muffins, fruit, pastries, and coffee (as well as assorted tea, yogurt, iced tea, hard boiled eggs, etc.) are exactly what we advertise as a continental breakfast. We have tried and switched to different things over the years. I sit in the office every morning and serve breakfast, where I hear our guest's feedback daily, and therefore, our choices of pastries are due to what I have learned that our guests prefer. I am truly happy you at least enjoyed our coffee; we get a lot of comments on that, as well.

With that said, I really do appreciate your thoughtful review and comments about our staff and our cleanliness. We work hard to be as welcoming and helpful as we can. I compliment my staff daily for all of the comments I get on their friendliness and professionalism. And we take pride in keeping the rooms as spotless as humanly possible. I really do thank you for noticing and sharing it with our future guests.

So in closing, I want to thank you again for your honest and thoughtful opinions. I am truly sorry you felt mislead by our name. Hopefully you will come join us again someday, and maybe try upstairs. Otherwise, we hope you will find a place that fits your needs and expectations. I enjoyed meeting you and wish you a great rest of the Summer and wonderful rest of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
2.5 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,060 reviews
1.9 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
3.0 mi away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#14 of 15 in Provincetown
240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Moors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Moors

Address: 59 Province Lands Rd, Provincetown, MA 02657-1537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Price Range: $143 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Moors 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Inn at the Moors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Moors Hotel Provincetown
Hotel At The Moors
Motel At The Moors

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing