We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicest Beach in Mass” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Race Point Beach

Race Point Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.99*
and up
Go Boston Card
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nicest Beach in Mass”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

As the title says, this is the nicest beach I've been to in MA (and I was born and raised in this state). My husband and I were staying in PTown for a few days and decided to check out Race Point. It ended up being our favorite thing that we did. We paid around $50 for a 7 day Oversand Permit. We had to watch a 15 min. video and then we could drive the truck through the dunes right onto the beach... it was so cool! We were there on a weekday, it was perfect weather and it was not crowded at all. It was like being on a private beach. The water was clear and great for swimming. We saw seals too! We were allowed to bring our dog (as long as she stayed on a 6 ft. leash). It was really a beautiful place to spend the day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    748
    237
    39
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Race Point-Huge Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is a huge beach with room for all of P-Town. However, if you have trouble walking this is not the beach for you. Although it is beautiful, it is quite a walk from your car down to the ocean. The dune angles downward toward the water. It's even a harder walk back "up" the dune to your car. It only a small incline, but walking a distance in loose sand isn't easy for anyone. Still, it is my favorite beach for beach combing, and watching the ocean.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KSchm26136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seals!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great beach....you can totally see seals! Clean and delightful! With families and couples alike. Parking was $15, but very good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Hollyg06902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Take a bike - and don't miss a walk in the dunes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

In a twon where most attractions are on the street, no trip to Provincetown is complete without spending some time at Race Point. The best way to get there is by bike and there are plenty of spots to explore - or just relax.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler_D-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Long walk to ocean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Decent amount of parking but it is a long walk from the parking lot to the actual beach. They do have walking mats installed - kind of like plastic carpet runner to help walk over the dunes to get to the actual beach area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BD4218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Race Point Beach also viewed

 

Been to Race Point Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing