We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sunset..”
Review of Race Point Beach

Race Point Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Go Boston Card
More Info
$54.00*
and up
Cape Cod Fast Ferry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunset..”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The best beach in cape cod, highly recommended if you want to spend some quality time in with the peace of nature.

Helpful?
Thank Vikramjit27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    826
    252
    44
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mequon, Wi
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bike there”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Rent a bike and ride along the dunes!! Visit and enjoy the beaches and city.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank CynthiazMequon_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Idyllic beach”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Have been to Cape Cod innumerable times since childhood, and always return to Race Point. It was our first stop in P-Town, even before going to our B&B. As my wife and I topped the dune overlooking the strand, we spotted humpback whales spouting and sounding just a little ways off from the beach (the water gets deep quickly). Pleasant beach to walk along, clean, and we picked up a couple of starfishes on the way. Took a quick, refreshing dip; water is clear and bracing, but quite swimmable. A quiet, uncrowded, non-commercial beach with good facilities, but bring your own food and drink!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank laidbackBuffalo_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, MA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a Sunset Spot!”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

At Race Point for sunset.....dunes, gorgeous ocean, seals and we even saw a whale!!! Always a great spot!!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Susie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great to look at...”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The reviews for this beach were obviously written by people who don't like to swim. The water on this part of the ocean is FREEZING - like Polar Bear Swim freezing. The beach is covered in coarse rocks near the water which can bruise tender feet and are otherwise uncomfortable for those with thick skin.

Straddling each end of the public beach area (which is fairly large) are lines of RVs which are permitted to park directly on the beach. Not a particularly pastoral sight, and not what I want to gaze at while i'm on the Cape.

There are lifeguards, which was at first comforting but my appreciation for them waned somewhat when one of them told us to stop digging in the sand for fear that a child might "disappear into the sand". Really?

Speaking of the sand, it is coarse like the rocks and not ideal for sand castles and the like. A disappointment for my kids, particularly when we were asked to stop digging.

This is a bad beach that is beautiful so long as you're looking straight ahead.

Helpful?
1 Thank cantripper3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Race Point Beach also viewed

 

Been to Race Point Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing