We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Pleasant Season ... We're Fans”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Provincetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ampersand Guesthouse
Ranked #51 of 64 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Year three and we have become more than fans & repeat guests of the Ampersand. We stayed at the property two more times this season. One time, however, we couldn't get the roomy studio apartment that we usually book. It really didn't matter: the different room, although smaller, was just as nice, clean and cozy.

During our stay, we had a rainstorm and wind caused a lamp to break a glass cover on a bedside table. Our hosts promptly cleaned up the mess and made the room – all while we were having morning coffee … they apologized for the inconvenience (even though it was no one’s fault). Later in the stay, the bathroom light fixture shorted out. Within an hour of our reporting what I would consider a minor issue, the electrician was called and a new fixture was promptly installed.

On the second visit, our hosts left out two beach towels that we purchased and left behind last year (we didn’t feel like carrying them home). A small detail, yes, but not something most hoteliers would even remember to do.

The innkeepers clearly care about their property and their guests – who like us – are usually repeaters. The fellow guests seem to share the same sentiment. The inn – as previously reviewed by me – is consistently welcoming, comfy and unobtrusive. I can’t imagine staying anywhere else in P-town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micknyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 69 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have stayed at the Ampersand in the past so our expectations were set appropriately. We like the convenient West End location and the reasonable rates. It’s a comfortable walk from the restaurants and bars on Commercial Street and it’s walkable to the beach. The house itself is about 200 years old with quirky charm. The upper deck has a good view of the water. The rooms have not been renovated since the 90’s and the furniture is old, but functional. Bathrooms can be very tight, depending on the room, but are generally clean if not a bit rusty here and there. There are no toiletries so bring your own. Wi-fi is spotty and weak - more annoying than convenient. The owners/innkeepers aren’t as friendly and helpful as you would expect in a typical B&B. Don’t expect offers to help with reservations, directions, etc. like you might find at most B&B’s. Smiles and friendly greetings are rare. There are many times when you feel like an unwanted guest in their space. Breakfast is dismal: coffee (usually hazelnut flavored), a couple of juices, muffins and bread. One of our friends began calling it a “B&M” for bed and muffin. Luckily there is a great little to-go restaurant (Relish) only a few paces away. Get a good breakfast there and don’t bother with the free “breakfast” at the B&B. Lastly, the owners have put the house on the market; a good thing considering they seem to be ready to retire. Not sure how a sale would impact future reservations, but it might be a good thing to ask about so you’re not surprised.

Room Tip: Try and avoid being in the house since the hosts will make you feel awkward and uncomfortable. Stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommorrow111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I had stayed next door at the Oxford House for years and were devastated when they closed. We decided to try the Ampersand when we were in town one weekend during the off-season a couple of years ago. We stayed in the studio, and it was fine, nothing fancy at all, had the feel of an older beach cottage, whereas the Oxford was first class. One of the "armchairs" was actually made of foam, like something you might find in a dorm room. Very small, old-school tv. Definitely needed some updating. But it was an efficiency that was set apart from the rest of the house, with a fridge and stove and an eating area, that seemed perfect if we ever came back with a kid. I submitted an email inquiry earlier this week asking about availability in October for my husband and I and our 2 year-old son. No response. So I called today and was told, "We have no facilities for children." In other words, we don't want kids. That's fine, private businesses are allowed to discriminate however they want to, I suppose (*irony*).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hicountryho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was our first time at the Ampersand, and the experience was everything we could have hoped for. The hosts were professional, gracious and extremely helpful and always respected our privacy. Our main goal on this vacation was to relax, so we didn't mind when it rained or when that fog rolled in. The house is in a delightfully quiet part of Provincetown, which suited us just fine; the commercial heart of the town was just a short stroll away. Our room was comfortable, spacious and beautifully furnished. Many of the other guests were regulars who had been coming back for years and we plan to do the same.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have been coming to Ampersand for several years and it never fails to delight. I have never had the same muffins twice! The hosts/owners are delightful and what I love the most is the different group of people each time we are there. The conversations vary from the ridiculous to the profound...the grounds are beautiful, the house comfortable and I think its the best place in Provincetown.

Room Tip: The upstairs bedroom on the right can be entered from the hall or from the upper deck where the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comfortnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Ampersand while attending a wedding this past week-end. Owners were great-very friendly and helped us with directions to town and the event so no stress. The room was in a small building adjacent to main house with beautiful gardens all around so we had a lot of privacy and seemed like having our own apartment. Loved reading on the deck and enjoying the water views. Easy stroll to town and also appreciated being able to park the car in their lot. Nice place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Ampersand is in a perfect location to experience Provincetown's West End. It's a quite street, but easy access to all the shops and restaurants on Commercial St. It's not a very bad walk to the beach either. Maybe a 15 minutes walk to the trail to the beach. The porch and the room I stayed in had great views. Above all, the hosts are great people - so helpful and kind. I plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Ampersand Room" which is the one room with the pitched ceilings with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
2 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
1,119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
0.3 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
1.4 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
926 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cape Colony Inn
Cape Colony Inn
#4 of 15 in Provincetown
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ampersand Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ampersand Guesthouse

Address: 6 Cottage St, P.O. Box 832, Provincetown, MA 02657-1925
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range: $85 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing