We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just red sauce”
Review of Sal's Place

Sal's Place
Ranked #68 of 142 Restaurants in Provincetown
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sal's Place is authentic Italian dinning right on the water. We have been open for 50 years and have won may awards including best Italian on the cape and islands from WBZ.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not just red sauce”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Even though in the mood for traditional Italian, we were tempted by the roasted veal chop special and fish of the day. Both were spectacular with not a tomato in sight. Dessert was the huge chocolate covered spumoni bomb. And the view of the water is pretty nice too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank itchyfeetVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    37
    21
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
681 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Always Enjoyable!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

On this perfect summer evening with a craving for Italian food, Sal's was the logical answer. As always, we sat by the railing on the deck. The food as always was excellent rivaled only by view of the harbor with the boats and the changing light of sunset.
Always have a great meal and always treated like family, this landmark will be sorely missed! Still time to get your fill of Sal's.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CATTSAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, Massachusetts, United States
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Dinner with a view”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Perfect location right on the bay, overlooking all the boats.
We sat outside on the pier, love the view. This was a fun simple appetizer nigh with friends. All the appetizers we ordered were fantastic. Small cheese plate, shrimp cocktail, mixed seafood, assortment of olives. All very tasty with many dipping sauces and plenty of bread to dip in. The 3 wine samplers was a big hit as well, you can get 3 wines white or red to sample instead of just 1 kind of wine. Our waiter from Lithuania was funny, funny and very attentive, we even joked a little with him.
Great Italian restaurant on the water, Fabulous location and food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillermo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Just drinks”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Sorry, can't write about food, we just stopped for drinks. The berry mohito was super fantastic. A little pricy, $12, but look where you are. Great service, olives on the bar instead of nuts, make more sense to me.

Helpful?
Thank GormandizerAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the West End”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Had been a few years since we had been here. Food has improved significantly from a few years ago, excellent specials. If you want a quiet location, on the water, Italian food, this is the place to be.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JPC_TP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal's Place also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Sal's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing