We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

The Mews Restaurant & Cafe
Ranked #2 of 136 Restaurants in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
east longmeadow, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

Excellent service, from maître de , hostess, wait staff & waiter were superb ! Food was hot tasty and coked to perfection. Appetizers were out of this world. Drinks were served in a very professional manner. We've been here several times as a couple and with our friends!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    838
    218
    73
    33
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

I have been going to Ptown for many years and never went to The Mews. I showed up solo with no reservation(I have been told people make reservations months in advance) and was fortunate to be seated at the bar with in 10 minutes. My table was actually adjacent to the bar and with a view of the ocean due to its elevation. Perfect! The food was amazing, I am vegan and I had the "polenta tower"it was absolutely delicious. The service couldn't have been better and this place is busy! My other observation is that the staff all seem to be genuinely happy doing their jobs and that makes for a very nice experience!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
295 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, Great food, Nice Service... Deserves to be top 5 in PTown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

It is a great spot. The decor is authentic and old, the wood work and the bar are great.
The atmosphere is nice and eclectic. Being on the East End of Commercial street makes this place less likely it seems to be bombed by tourists. The crow is elegant and upscale..

The food is great. We had the amazing Cucumber and Avocado Gazpacho, the fish of the day was the Halibut and it was just delicious. The risotto took forever to arrive, but it was super tasty and they waived it! (great gesture).

The bartenders are cute and well traveled. The drinks were super.

We were tempted to go back but we ended trying something else.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naim00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb as always…the Highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

The Mews has had the same excellent chef for 26 years and this visit we once again remembered why. We had such a great dinner on our arrival in Ptown that we had to come back for our last night. Both dinners and every thing we ate both nights was so delicious and fresh. One of us is a vegan and there was no problem at all getting a fabulous vegan dinner for him. The basil pesto pasta was possibly even better than my own, which I don't think I've ever said in a review before. I had it with seared scallops both nights, once as add to the Caesar salad and once on fried green tomatoes. WOW is all I can think - out of this world. So many places serve old pesto or are afraid to put in the garlic or the good cheese. NOT The Mews! And the service both nights was vey quick and very friendly. The place was booked solid on a Sunday night but they got us in without a reservation within like 15 minutes upstairs in the cafe which was buzzing as usual. I would venture to say that The Mews is so good - so unforgettable that its worth a vacation to Ptown JUST to go eat there!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kvetchmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
82 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Fantastic atmosphere and service. Went to Mew's with several friends in August of 2014 and was not disappointed. Was quite surprised at how well the vindaloo was prepared; I was hesitant to order anything with the word "vindaloo" without being in an Indian restaurant! All the apps and entrees were delicious and the service was attentive without being obtrusive. A lovely night.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mews Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Mews Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing