We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service & food un-inspiring” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mews Restaurant & Cafe

The Mews Restaurant & Cafe
Ranked #2 of 135 Restaurants in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Service & food un-inspiring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I really wanted to give a 3.5 but alas I cant so I gave Mews a 4....had dinner at Mews this past week with two close friends who had just gotten married. Yeah! Surprised them with a dinner at Mews. The service was kind of spotty and impersonal for the price of the food. Our table was looking at our empty glasses quite often. Maybe we were boring but for those prices....
Three of us had the filet which we were told "was the best on the island". The cut of meat was excellent and cooked perfectly but just was lacking in any "oomph". I know I will get some scowls here but Carabba's filet has more taste and seasoning. I guess I expected to be overwhelmed but was just left with....meh.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gromit23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    780
    210
    66
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Looking forward to going again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Haven't been since 2007. We were seated upstairs for dinner with friends. It was our first time there, didn't know about the downstairs seating area until later. Looking forward to trying out the diningroom this October. The dinner was memorable enough that we would like to repeat it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
196 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Lobster Risotto To Die For :-). Yum Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

The food is worth the trip. We sat upstairs at the bar last night to eat since we could not get a table for 3, and we all had a great time. We shared the Lobster Risotto with Roasted Butternut Squash, and let me say "it was simply organismic tasting!" My friend had the Pasta with Fresh Pesto that was cooked to perfection. The Bartender was very busy, but she took really good care of us and everyone seemed very friendly.
The only thing I could the about the Restruant is that it a tight space upstairs lots of tables and high tops close together.
This is a MUST GO TO DESTINATION.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
198 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Wonderful, but pricey restaurant in Provincetown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had a very nice meal here, but it was expensive, probably close to $100 per person including wine and drinks and tip. The food was delicious. We had a great female server who has been at the restaurant on and off for the past 20 years. She was very knowledgable and personal without being too formal. She made a very good wine recommendation without just trying to sell us the most expensive bottle. All her recommendations at the table were very successful and loved by whom ordered it. I am a vodka drinker and loved the fact you can choose from about 200 vodkas from all over the world. Views from restaurant are nice also. This is for a special occasion or for people who are not on a budget (though they do have a bistro menu with burgers that can be ordered for dinner as well).

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank danielswiss64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rego Park, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Solid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Food was all good but nothing really made me stop and think I wanted to come back for more. Prices are a bit high but, setting is nice. Staff/service was fine.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mews Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Mews Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing