We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but...”

The Mews Restaurant & Cafe
Ranked #2 of 139 Restaurants in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Nice
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good but...”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I've been there with some friends. the place was completely packed. You have two rooms, we were at the one downstairs. Nice, simple decoration, a little bit noisy. The food was good but nothing special or exceptional. But the price was high. I think it is a little bit overpriced even if the restaurant is good. I've been to another one in Ptown which was better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GillesDemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    862
    223
    73
    33
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cape cod
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

I have heard for years, that the Mews restaurant in Provincetown , MA was superb. It did not disappoint. Six of us went to celebrate our three wives' birthdays. We intentionally arrived early so we could enjoy a drink at the bar before dinner. The drinks were excellent and the bartender attentive and experienced.
Staff has a very relaxed manner, and we took our seats downstairs at our reserved table when we were ready.
The setting provided a beautiful view of Cape Cod bay.
We shared two very pleasant bottles of wine with dinner, following delicious appetizers and bread. My wife and I shared the garlic shrimp appetizer. It was delicious, and the best part was dipping their wonderful breads in the remaining sauce.
For dinner I had the lobster vindaloo. WOWEE! My wife had the swordfish, and she loved it. All six dishes were first rate. I'll try to load photos. We also shared four desserts and coffee.
Our server was relaxed, friendly, and appeared at our table just the right amount of time. She was extremely knowledgeable about every dish on the menu.
The bill, including a 23% tip came to $73 per person. I've paid that much for far inferior meals. All in all, the six of us had a marvelous, fun time. The evening was exactly as we hoped it would be. We all plan to return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good News !”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

There IS a great place to eat in P-Town. Mews is the best place I've eaten in all the years I've been going to P-Town. So glad I fell into the place. Friendly cozy atmosphere with the most delicious food in town.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weeatout92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Christmas dinner”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Having visited this place before we knew what to expect. Amazing food and the mews did not disappoint. The meal was superb the staff attentive. This place has a reputation as one of the higher end establishments an it is deserved.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
136 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food, first-rate service, beautiful water views - ideal for a special night out”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Mews met all of our criteria for a great restaurant: seating was comfortable and roomy, the room was busy but not noisy, our table by the window overlooked the sand and sea, the food was superb, and our waiter, Stephen, was outstanding. Both of our entrees (scallops and duck) were terrific; the Thai crab soup was good, and the mixed green salad was delicious (lightly dressed, just right). We were delighted with the very good and reasonablly priced wine by the glass (a Cabernet and a Malbec). A wonderful evening out (not cheap at $110 for two, but well worth it). Highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mews Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Mews Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing