We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bemewsed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mews Restaurant & Cafe

The Mews Restaurant & Cafe
Ranked #2 of 136 Restaurants in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bemewsed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

A very creative and diverse menu, something for almost everyone and very nicely prepared and seasoned. This was a big happy comfort food experience served with a warm and capable service staff. Nice sized portions, a view if the sun is still up and you are on the ocean side and a great bar with antique carved wooden panels lining the walls that were salvaged from an old Prudential building decades ago. I hope they know they are missing.

Stately ambiance and a place we would return to. There is often an inverse relationship between food quality and the popularity of a tourist destination as in, the town is so beautiful, the food only needs to be adequate. The Mews did not succumb to that easy out!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Palatedly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    830
    217
    72
    33
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Go eat here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I turned up unannounced on Saturday night and was immediately fitted in on a tall table. Service was slow for the US, but those of us from Europe do appreciate the allowance of time within the schedule. I had a really excellent evening. The food was fantastic and very well seasoned, which only the best establishments get right. Highlight of the evening was the main course of Lobster Risotto. Served with croutons and cubes of pumpkin it was perfectly balanced with effectively most of a shelled lobster on top of it. Quite outstanding. Not the cheapest, but good value. I shall come again as a first port of call on my next visit to Provincetown. Go eat here! One minor gripe - I tried to book earlier in the day only to be told that they were full - I then turned up unannounced and got a table. How lucky both I and the restaurant were that the administrator of the bookings was ignored. Go eat here!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BritishWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
216 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great salmon and martini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had a great dinner last night at Mews, which has the largest vodka bar in New England. I had the salmon off the specials menu, which was perfect. Started off the meal by sharing a calimari appetizer, also very tender and tasty. We sat on a high table two-top upstairs staring out at the sunset over Provincetown Harbor. Service was excellent. All in, a great experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could have been great, but missed the mark.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were there on a Tues night early in mid-September. The bartender, female, seemed surprised when I asked whether I could ask for a martini using one of the vodkas from their world wide list. I did have the best martinis ever ordered from the specials on the menu. It is worth the trip for the martinis and the vodkas. We were going to have cocktails and lite food at the bar, but since the restaurant was empty we asked if we could have a table. The hostess was neither inviting nor interested. She did give us the table, but we must have gotten one of the least trained servers. He was in a word rude. I do not like black pepper, and almost every entree and the bread had pepper in it. Yes, even the bread! The Watermelon salad and the lobster risotto werefun and perfect, and they are consistent with their food. So, we did not feel welcomed, and the server couldn't wait to give us our check as soon as we said no dessert. It could have been a memorable experience, but not tonight.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bkeepr46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were waiting for our husbands when a staff member came outside and directed us to the more accessible lower level (I have difficulty with steps). Service, atmosphere, drinks and food were top notch. I loved the key lime pie for dessert! Go...you will love it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jerseylady59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mews Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Mews Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing